Mother of Thousands

21 42
Avatar for rodriguezpct
1 year ago

Today I am going to tell you about one of my favorite plants to make my arrangements. It is the versatile succulent called mother of thousands, or bad mother. Its scientific name is Kalanchoe Laetivirens. It is native to southern Madagascar. When I saw it for the first time five years ago it was in Barcelona, Anzoátegui state, Venezuela, in the nursery that my sister gertu13 has there at home. besides being sisters, we also have in common the passion for plants, we both inherited it from our mother. My sister at that time when I went to visit her gave me several seedlings from her mother of thousands already grown up.

That's how I met this succulent, since then I have them in thousands, literally, since they reproduce in a million, I have them in the yard in different places and they are of different sizes. This beautiful succulent has not stopped reproducing in my garden in Barinas.

The mother of thousands adult grows and develops very fast. The most unique and beautiful thing about the plant are the small seedlings that grow all along the adult leaves. These thousands of seedlings are the ones that give the adult plant its popular name of mother of thousands, or bad mother, since a simple breeze is enough to shake the adult plant and its small children are detached from the leaves, in this way they reproduce.

Hence its popular name of mother of thousands or bad mother. Many gardeners do not like this rapid reproduction of the plant because they consider it a pest to their garden. I love the way they grow and thrive. I have even seen them growing on the cement blocks of my patio walls.

The mother of thousands that I have planted in the patio, are the ones that receive direct sun and are the ones I prefer to make the arrangements with the mud pots, since their leaves have a beautiful red outline. The ones that receive direct sun take on a reddish hue that makes them look like flowers. They are the same mother of thousands, succulent plants with beautiful reddish tones, it is not a flower. I love it when they are mistaken for a flower, as my friend Kristofferquincy did when he kindly commented on my article Decorating with Cacti and Succulents, Another Way of Landscaping.. I agree with him in saying that the photo I took of that arrangement, with a small reddish mother of thousands, does not look like a photo but like a painting. Thank you my friend for such a beautiful comment.

When they are in the shade they are a deep green, and when they get sun they will have a beautiful red outline. The ones I place indoors I leave near a window but only for a few days, because if they do not receive much light they grow very tall and their leaves leave a lot of space between them, giving an aspect that detracts from their beauty.

For the arrangements with the mother of thousands she used small clay pots, so the plant does not grow too much and give a beautiful appearance to the arrangement for longer. Remember that an arrangement with plants is delicate because they are living plants in constant growth that need to be cared for. Although these succulents need little watering we always have to remove the leaves that are withering. And always change their location if they are in the shade for a long time so that they do not lose the shape of a flower and their reddish color.

Thank you for joining me in my garden with the mother of thousands or bad mother. Soon I will be telling you about my favorite cactus that I have in my garden, which are the most used for my decorative arrangements with landscaping in mud pots.

Grateful to my followers and sponsors for always coming all the way here in your reading. You guys are the best.

Sponsors of rodriguezpct
empty
empty
empty

PS: all the published photos are my authorship.

10
$ 7.34
$ 7.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jnavedan
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
+ 8
Avatar for rodriguezpct
1 year ago

Comments

You know, the first time I saw your display picture, I had thought it was ma'am Gertu. Only Just found out you two are siblings, there is the resemblance. How can a mother of thousands be a good mother when she has so many children

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, we inherited our passion for plants from our mother... remember that this plant can also be called a bad mother... it must be because of so many children that she leaves behind... hehe... thanks for commenting

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We call that "Mother Of Millions", amiga hehe

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahaha... literally... thanks for stopping by and commenting

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I like its name. I actually, its very familiar. I have something similar like yours. Although it has no color on its top. It grows fast and produce a lot of baby plants as well.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

If it does not have a reddish color, it is because it is not located in direct sunlight. Most likely you have it between sun and shade and so its color is bright green. Thanks for stopping by and commenting

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Bad Mother, Mother of Thousands - that's a name of a plant I don't hear everyday. Quite fascinating. I kept wondering what it was all about as I read through. Now I know something about plants.

Maybe in the near future when I have my own garden I'll be sure to plant different species of them. : )

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I'm glad you learned something about these plants that are so unique by name.... thanks for reading and commenting... I will try in the next content to talk about a plant also very beautiful with another unique name: mother-in-law's tongue. I hope to see you again here.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It looks very pretty. Am not sure my mother has it in her collection. I will check.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

They are easily identified by the seedling buds on the edge of their leaves.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's interesting that it's called Mother of Thousands and at the same time Bad Mother :D

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, it is true. Mother of thousands because the edges of its leaves are filled with many small shoots... and at the same time it is called a bad mother because those shoots are separated very small from their mother.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have it near my window too. My aunt gave it to me. 3 young plant in a pot . I brought home the two plants because my boss asked for the other one. I agree with your article that they have different color when they are under the sun than in the shaded part. They are taller and greenish when placed inside than outside because mine was near the window which the sun doesn't usually shine. My boss was shorter and the leaves are more larger in size with reddish color since her's was place outside direct to the sun.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

How nice. I'm sure that in a short time you will see the seedlings sprouting on the edges and you will realize that they are reproducing by the millions. Keep them some days in the shade and some days in the sun so that they always have the shape of a flower. Too much time in shade causes them to grow with long stems and widely spaced leaves

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, I will do that. Thank you. 😊 And by the way, I just knew you are @Gertu13's sister.That explains why you have the same passion 😊.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes. She is my beloved younger sister. Thank you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh I see, she is younger than you.🤗

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We are both young... hahahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well ok. No comment to that. Feel young at heart. ❣️😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're a kind of plantita who can appreciate the beauty behind the negativity that others see.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you. What beautiful words...so kind of you to stop by and leave such a lovely comment

$ 0.00
1 year ago