Slightly Shameful Bad Habits.

8 39
Avatar for rebeysa85
2 years ago

Habits. We all have them, some unpurpose, some just came unnoticed, but we have them.

Habits are a common occurrence in the life of every creature on the planet, everyone and everything has them, for all creatures are creatures of habit, it's that simple. But when it comes to thinking of oneself, or at least in my case, I can't think of them separately, I mean, they are part of me so I don't think about them too much.

That's why when I saw Promptly Jonica Writing Prompt #24 which is about Bad Habits, a tough one, but only because as I said, I don't think about them too much so they are hard to find. Then again, I decided to start thinking about things I do in daily life that might be considered bad habits, like for instance picking your nose in public, or leaving the toilet seat up every single time you go to the bathroom (that's not only restricted to man, some women do it to, trust me), and I came up with some bad habits I have, they are not that bad but they aren't good ones either.

Same socks for days.

I live in a country where we have shortages of everything-From internet connection to water shortages, we've had to get used to living like that, making one have to create routines to make it throughout the day and the supplies last a little longer. So, since the days when we couldn't afford to buy laundry detergent too often, and the water supply was scarce, I got used to using the same socks for days, even a whole week, and now I don't need to, I mean, we can buy it, and I do our laundry every week, but still, I can use the same pair of socks until they lose all clean scent. A little embarrassing to share this over here, gladly I don't suffer from bad odor or anything, so I can get away with it most of the time.

I bite my nails and lips.

Well, the nails, I bit my cuticles. I can't stand to have loose skin around my nails, so you can often see me bitting them or pulling them with my free fingers. I can be doing it at home as well as in a meeting, is unconscious and is a little bit distasteful, to find myself with my finger in my mouth bitting while someone is talking about serious business, and on top of that, I hurt myself from pulling to much and before I know it, I'm bleeding. Someone once said to me that it was a sign of anxiety, which I've had for a long time, but still, even if it is an anxiety marker, I consider it a bad habit especially when I'm at work.

The mouth thing, also an unconscious one, has been troublesome for me as many confuse it as a mock or something, for I'm well aware I do it and haven't been able to stop, I learned how to be more discrete about it, but still, people who see me and don't know what I'm doing, think I'm making faces at them, which has brought up some misunderstandings.

Not combing my hair.

The Almighty blessed me with good hair, but that doesn't mean that I shouldn't comb it. Well, I don't, I can go out to run errands and even to work without taking a brush through my hair. Well, since my hair is straight it goes unnoticed most of the time, and I'm almost always with my hair in a ponytail, but, sometimes I have to go to meetings or have a concert with the orchestra and I go out without brushing my hair! Then you can see me looking for a brush or comb amongst my peers because my hair looks like the wildest jungle you can imagine. And of course, I leave my hair strands everywhere because due to my illness, my hair falls off easily and abundantly, and I'm unable to catch it all, so I often leave a trail of hair.

My potty mouth.

Since I was a little cute girl, mom, and dad were always really careful with the words they choose to say in front of me and my siblings because a kid can easily pick them up and repeat them elsewhere. But I've been exposed to many environments and to people not as careful as my parents, so by the time I reached my teenage years I was already saying things like shit, f***, and many others. Of course, that brought me some troubles with my parents, who often said things like: You are a lady and ladies don't talk like that.

As an adult, that lesson went to the pooper, and when I started to live alone I could pretty much say whatever I wanted to say, disregarding anybody who might be listening to me at one point to the other, but then I had to come back home and that's when I learned to restrain m tongue a little bit, however, whenever I'm in a foul mood, or I gain confidence to speak freely, or I'm with my friends at a party or something, I unleash it and it's not very ladylike at all.

I over apologize.

My tooth hurts-Me: Sorry.

I have poor signal-Me: Sorry.

It's raining and I don't like it-Me: Sorry.

I over ate-Me: Sorry.

Whatever you say to me, my instant reply is the word Sorry. If something happened to you and I witness it, I apologize for it even if it's not my fault. If I didn't witness it I apologize anyways. Always, and I mean always, I say it because somehow I feel that since I can't do anything about it, I'm at fault, so I apologize, and if it is actually my fault I don't let it go soon enough and every time you speak to me I'll apologize over and over again. I don't know why I do that, it is constant, and a real pain in my butt, but I don't know how to stop.

I have several more bad habits, like overthinking, self-shaming, lack of willpower to stop smoking altogether, the list goes on, but this would become a very long and tedious article, right? So this is it for now my dearest.

If you want to share your own bad habits, please follow our lovely @JonicaBradley and her community #promptlyjonica where she shares fun and insightful prompts.

For this one, just follow these simple rules and you're good to go!.

  1. Join the Promptly Jonica community here

  2. Write anything about bad habits

  3. Write 100% original content

  4. Submit your article to PromptlyJonica

  5. Tag me, @JonicaBradley

  6. Have fun!



Check out my wonderful sponsors and their awesome content!

Sponsors of rebeysa85
empty
empty
empty


Like this? check out my latest articles 👇👇👇

It feels like before...

Bigger by the second.

Without seeing I still see you.

In my old San Juan...

I'm Late!

Home Vacation Ramblings.



This is 100% Original Content.

The images are from Unsplash and provided by this site.



See you next time.

✨✨Blessings✨✨

@rebeysa85

March 13th, 2022.

6
$ 1.91
$ 1.86 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Amjad_Ali_Waince
$ 0.02 from @Jijisaur
Sponsors of rebeysa85
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for rebeysa85
2 years ago

Comments

I also had that bad habit of overthinking things that will create some uneasiness. I don't like that but I can't help not to think about things especially if it's about me.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I do that too, that's a sure cause for insomnia. Over here we say He who does not owe it does not fear it, but those of us who over think everything don't really go with that flow haha it's wrong, I know.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also bite my nails and distrub their shape I think I do it when I am in depression but it became my worst habit

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I trimmed mine today, I like to keep them short so I don't have anything to bite haha but it's a little distasteful especially if you do it in public 🤦🏻‍♀️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My sister used to bite her nails, but not it is lessened. She bought this ring fidget so she can play with it whenever she feels like biting her nails. It worked for her. :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I had a rubber band on my wrist 😁 it helped until it left a mark, so I don't use that anymore.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Habits develop in human by the environment they live . Good or bad it starts from a little step. Bad habits also like nail biting , uncombing the hair gets growth in stress and fear .

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, that's right. Today I remembered brushing my hair before leaving the house haha it was a good exercise writing this article.

$ 0.00
2 years ago