Home Vacation Ramblings.

12 48
Avatar for rebeysa85
2 years ago

Sup guys? Greetings from the very hot town I call home!

It's only 30º Celcius outside, but it's a humid heat, maybe from all the water people are throwing at each other due to the festivities. It's Carnival season, which means 4 days of vacation on overcrowded beaches, or the city, or in the country with pools and lots of beers and rum and loud music, or throwing buckets of water and ballons to all of those who walk by.

For me and my girls, means staying home resting or getting a few things done, and this year, we are preparing for my brother who is arriving from Peru to spend a few days with us, so we've done a lot of cleaning and cooking to receive him well.

Back to the carnival thing, a few hours ago, mom read an article about a child who died because a water balloon was thrown to the head, the child was twelve years old and the authorities are managing the possibility that the water balloon was frozen, causing irreversible head trauma.

I wonder since when hurting others is fun?

I remember my childhood years, I played with water balloons, toy water guns and buckets of water, and even water hoses, but we never got hurt. Our parents always were involved making sure we didn't get hurt and never allowed us to fill up the balloons with anything more than water, and they were overzealous about us playing with the neighbor's kids who liked to steal their parent's flour and eggs to make a bigger mess to those who walked by their corner.

We knew how to cause that kind of havoc but, our parent's taught us well, so we knew that it wasn't a good thing to do either between ourselves, let alone to others. As the years went by we lost the gist of it, we started to understand less and less the point of those kinds of games, especially if we are aware that people might get hurt, like one time when I was living in Caracas and a guy threw at me a frozen water balloon and it hit me in my back, just were my right kidney is, I got a bruise black as the night and big as the balloon that hit me and had I've been weaker, that could have caused serious damage. I just don't get it, how is that fun? That's why we choose to be at home during those days, it's safer.

I had plans for these days, I wanted to cook several things, a guava marmalade or jam for instance-Guava it's in season and vendors are selling them a little bit overpriced, half a kilo for 1 dollar, which I think it's a bit too much, but two days later at the same place they had lowered the price to 50 cents. I got a bag, and I was planning to do a marmalade but the fruit was rotten on the inside, I still did it, but I got too little, maybe next week I buy more not rotten fruit, and share it in my Food Journal.

The other thing I was going to make was a CousCous, I found it in the supermarket last month but I haven't had the time to take the time to make it right.

I did my research because I've never cooked it before, all I know is that it cooks similar to bulgur wheat and I've done that, so, easy peasy! Umm, no!

I was doing a Chickpea Couscous Salad, with a Garlic-Oregano Vinaigrette, so yummy!. So very early I cooked my chickpeas until soft, and by eleven o clock in the morning I got ready to hydrate my couscous. I followed the instructions I found on the web, in a bowl of boiling water you pour your couscous and let it sit for 3 minutes.

Since I wasn't making a lot, just half a cup, I used a pyrex and just waited-After three minutes the couscous was still hard and tasted like pasta, PASTA!. It was pasta, not wheat, so I had to put it in a pot and cook it like pasta!. Horrible!

Nevertheless, I moved forward with the plan and still made the salad, only it wasn't chickpea and couscous, it was chickpeas and pasta. It was yummy but it wasn't what I wanted.

Later Gigi and I had a discussion with mom because her shoulder is bothering her badly again after eight days of improvement. Do you want to know what happened? We left her alone for thirty minutes and she took that time to do the heavy lifting and hurt herself. We had to scold her and she got sad, she said that she does that because she doesn't want to be a burden for us, she doesn't want to feel useless, which we totally understand, so we had to reassure her first, that she is not a burden at all, and second, that she can still do stuff, but just not like she did when she was younger. It's a life adjustment, a tough one, but one we all have to go through at one point in our lives, so, a new process it's beginning for her, and we do not intend to leave her to walk through it alone.

Check out my wonderful sponsors and their awesome content!

Sponsors of rebeysa85
empty
empty
empty



This is 100% Original Content.

The images are both my property and taken with a Redmi 6Go and from Unsplash and provided by this site.



See you next time.

✨✨Blessings✨✨

@rebeysa85

February 28th, 2022.

11
$ 2.79
$ 2.56 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @Jher0122
+ 4
Sponsors of rebeysa85
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for rebeysa85
2 years ago

Comments

What we think is funny like these pranks that we online will often hurt others more. I haven't tried couscous.

I can relate your mom's feeling to what my dad is feeling. Since his accident, he has not been 100% healed and his movements are restricted. He doesn't like that. I can tell he really wants to do something rather than sit around all day so if we reprimand him to not strain himself, he will get mad.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

My dad was like that and he got really depressed, which eventually made his illness even worse until he passed away. I understood him, and understand my mom, but we have to accept that sometimes things don't always go as we want them to, it is part of life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My grandfather was like that when he got sick..I'm concerned for his health but he took it as something.. later on I explained to him that he need to be stronger for him to be able to witness my success in the future.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's hard especially when they are people who are used to be always active and needed, that's why it is a process and we have to be patient with them, which is also hard haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Right now it's a bit warm here too, but the weekend was really cold, full of rain and really grey weather, now I'm melting from the heat haha.

My parents let me play with water balloons, but very little, they think it's a waste of water. I never got to play with eggs or flour, for the same reason, my parents said it was a waste of food and money. But I didn't know that there are people who throw balloons with frozen water, first time I see it, it's really bad. That's not fun carnival.

I don't think I've ever eaten Couscous. I understand that in the end it was pasta and not wheat, but good that you were able to solve, I do not know what I would have done haha.

Regarding your mother.... Parents as they get older start to get a little stubborn, because they don't want to be a burden to the children, so as your mother sees it. So parents start or try to do the things they used to do without thinking that they might get hurt. It is good to talk as much as possible with our parents so that they understand that they can no longer do the same things as before.... It's hard to accept things, but that's life. I hope your mother recovers soon and that she understands all the love that you have for her and above all that you are her help and support, that she is not a burden.

Success in this new month, I hope you achieve everything you set out to do.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nosotros si, visitamos Beco en Caracas, Kristina Wetter lo preparó ese día e hizo un concurso, gané un bono con el que compré el Libro de Galletas que te regalamos, pero lo tengo yo, jeje. Al llegar a Cumaná, inmediatamente preparamos el Couscous.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah ok hahaha I was in Puerto la Cruz, I only knew about the book, but not that meal.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes our parent need to hear us out because we just badly concerned with their health that they tend to forget.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

At one point of our lives we switch places even if we don't mean to, the children become the caretakers and the parents just have to go along with it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Which is okay to us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ow I hope your mom understand that you just care about her. Wherever she's happy go but of course looking after her is always needed. I miss my mom❤️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Guess what's she's doing right know? Mopping the house 🤦🏻‍♀️ I just told her, another round of injections is coming if you keep behaving like this, and she replied like a teenager hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago