First Day: Personality Development Class

Yesterday, We officially began our Personality Development class— one of my final two college subjects. I got up at 9:00 a.m. to get ready for my 10:00 a.m. online class. I was hoping that face-to-face classes would return this semester, given that many schools are already offering limited classes since I always wish that my final semester of college to be a memorable one, but it looks like that's impossible to happen, but I'm hoping that our university will accept our request for a face-to-face graduation at the very least. Imagine our batch being delayed by the k-12 education program, the Taal eruption, and the Covid-19 pandemic; it's almost as if the universe doesn't want our batch to graduate haha but anyways, after all these uncertain events, sleepless nights, and stressful days, it says a lot that we truly deserve a face-to-face graduation because having the opportunity to walk, march, and go up on stage wearing a toga and holding a diploma is a completely different kind of feeling.

Going back to my first day of class yesterday, I was literally on my bed when my professor called my name. I got up and opened my microphone to speak right away. My professor's question was this:

N/V: "Can you tell me how you see yourself?"

"I would describe myself as a future-oriented person; I've wanted to work in the media industry since high school, which is why I enrolled in this course to achieve my dreams in the future; however, despite my focus on the future, I've always made sure to enjoy the process and the journey to get there. I'm also a responsible person who, most of the time, makes my own decisions on what I should do, say, and how I should act."

"Do you see any changes in your highschool self now that you're in college?" my professor followed up with.

"Yes, a lot. Before when I was in highschool, I was an outgoing type of person or extrovert, but in college, my personality changed. I am now more of a silent type of person, and I only make noise if I know everyone around me, not like when I was in highschool, when I was so talkative."

We also completed a ten-item questionnaire in each personality test that reveals a lot about how we see the future, our generalized beliefs about it, our self-worth or self-esteem, and finally, our self-monitoring.

When I was in senior high school, I actually had the same subject. They claim that if we have already taken the subject in high school, we do not need to repeat it in college, but those rules has not been fully implemented. It just goes to show that the K+12 program isn't entirely effective, but I think I'll appreciate this subject now that I'm older, especially since personality development is one of the steps I need to take before I begin working in the professional field. As they say, "personality is more important than skills".

At 11:30 a.m., the class ended. Our professor reminded us, particularly my group, to prepare for our presentation next class, in which we will present the Freud and Erickson Theories and their Importance to Personality Development. My thesis group is the same one I have now, which is a good thing, and we are the first to present, same as the group order of our thesis defense. I somehow like it because I didn't want to think about it for too long and wanted to get it done right away. Good luck to us!

8
$ 0.82
$ 0.80 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @kli4d
Sponsors of nathawriter
empty
empty
empty
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

I also had Personality Development class in my senior high school. It's great subject. Full of self reflections and realizations.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We had this subject during 3rd year. I like this subject but I don't like the teacher. (haha). Anyways, it's nice to know that you're a graduating student, actually we're the same. This will also my last semester in College. I'm also hoping that we can have a face-to-face graduation :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sabay sabay nating i-manifest yan haha goodluck!! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! Ang galing naman ng mga answers dun sa mga questions. Iniimagine ko tuloy yung online class Nathan kasi di ko naexperience. 😁 Same ng bunso kong kapatid ganyan din siya. Mas maganda talaga pag face-to-face nuh at iba din talaga ang graduation kapag aakyat ka sa stage wearing a black toga. Ang sarap sa pakiramdam.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mas okay po ata na hindi nyo na experience haha ang daming struggle sa online class eh kaya nakaka miss din ang f2f class.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're good in recitations I guess because of the way you answered. And yes I agree that personality is more important than skill, although you need both to succeed in your chosen career.

$ 0.00
2 years ago