The Good Doctor (US)

25 107
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

Time for another write-up and as usual, I don't have anything to write about. I swear that I have a couple of brilliant ideas when I was inside the showers but then, as I was wiping my body down to dry, I seemed to wipe the ideas as well. Amazing! Not.

Anyhow, let me just tell you what I think about this show that I just finished. I am not really good at this but then again, I have to try, we all got to start somewhere right? Maybe, reviews are written in my stars, who knows. So here goes nothing.

The Good Doctor

The show that I will be talking about is 'The Good Doctor'. It's an American medical-drama series that stars Freddie Highmore as Shaun Murphy, an autistic resident doctor at St. Bonaventure Hospital in San Jose California. The Hospital is fictional of course.

The story basically revolves around the life of Shaun Murphy as a doctor and as a person. The show depicts the challenges and experiences of Shaun that he shares with his colleagues and friends.

Shaun has a very limited capacity when it comes to social interaction and communication. It does give a lot of color to his life as a resident doctor.

The show is currently available on Netflix, that's where I watched it. It has four spectacular seasons and about 20 episodes per season. The run time of each episode is as you would expect in a primetime show, about 40 minutes of airtime.

Why Watch It?

I have always been fond of watching crime and mystery shows such as CSI, Criminal Minds, and Law&Order franchise. I watch those shows because I love reading crime novels too. I'm a Sherlockian, I also read the works of Agatha Christie and some other crime novelists.

I wouldn't normally watch something like The Good Doctor on a whim, so why did I start watching it? The simple explanation is I just wanted to have a little break from all the crime shows and Anime. I thought that something about medicine, which I have zero knowledge about would be a good choice.

I never imagined that I would like the show and that I will be hooked on it. I played the pilot and I found it interesting and then the next episode until I found myself watching the second season.

I don't really understand the medical terms they are using but the show has a way to dumb everything down so the people watching could really get on what's happening with the scene even without medicinal knowledge.

Shaun Murphy isn't just a doctor, he's a surgeon so there's a lot of blood in the show and a lot of internal organs exposed. If that's your thing, well, go ahead, but if like me, it's not your cup of tea, then fear not. They presented every case in such a way that it wouldn't be gross and disgusting.

The Story

I love that there's always a new case or story every episode. Just as what they always do in American series. There's always something new and something to look forward to.

There are some plot holes here and there but well, that's just normal for a long-running show. I found myself in tears every now and then because of the stories of the patients and the other doctors. The drama isn't too heavy that you'll bawl your eyes out, I think I'll find time to see the original version of the show that is in Korean and compare the dramatic elements. I know that Koreans love dramas and they're heavy on them.

Although the overall story of the show isn't too deep, they managed to present the plot in such a way that you can relate to the characters. But I just think that they somehow lost the momentum when they focused a lot on a character's death in the middle of the show. I felt that most of the airtime was related to that single point in the show. They never really moved on from it.

The Characters

Shaun Murphy is joined by a powerful set of characters that really brought the story to life. There's Dr. Aaron Glassman who served as a father figure to Shaun since he was little. Shaun's love interest Lea, who is such a positive and vibrant girl that teaches Shaun a lot when it comes to social interaction and even in love.

Dr. Andrews, Dr. Lim, and Dr. Melendez are Shaun's superiors in the hospital and Dr. Browne, Dr. Park, and Dr. Reznick join Shaun as residents and they teach him about life as he shares with them his extraordinary talent.

The Ending

Although I felt that the ending was kind of rushed, maybe because of the pandemic and stuff, they managed to deliver a satisfactory finale for the whole show. It wasn't that forced and just like many American TV shows, it seems like it's opened to another season if the producers decided to pick up where they left off.

Epilogue

Overall, I think I give the show 7/10 rating. And that's coming from a guy who hasn't seen any medically inclined drama yet. It's my first time watching that kind of show. I really liked it. I would totally recommend it to you if you have the time to watch a pretty lengthy show, I guess you can finish it in 2-3 weeks. :)

Hi there!!!

Thank you very much for visiting me yet again and you know that I always appreciate you and the time you are spending here. It means a lot.

If you have a show or a movie you want me to watch and make a reaction to it, then just go ahead and drop by on my comment section and drop your suggestions. I am looking forward to watching it with you.

Until we read again...

Cheers!!!

Author's Links

Noise : https://noise.cash/u/MeitanteiKudo

Torum: https://www.torum.com/signup?referral_code=meitanteikudo

Telegram:meitanteikudo

Play some games and earn : https://rollercoin.com/?r=kw4ixbkg

Play and earn some BCH : fundoo.app , use my referral code MRNAH to have additional reward.

Twitter : boynextdoor1409

Series    : Screen-Reads
Title     : The Good Doctor (US)
Published : 16-Jan-2022
Author :  © RB

Wikipedia contributors. (2022, January 7). The Good Doctor (TV series). Wikipedia. Retrieved January 13, 2022, from https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Good_Doctor_(TV_series)

17
$ 3.16
$ 2.89 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Olasquare
$ 0.07 from @Freedom007
+ 6
Sponsors of meitanteikudo
empty
empty
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

Comments

Though I haven't seen this series, but I am persuaded that's going to be really interesting. I think I have gotten me a good movie series to watch😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yep. It's pretty interesting.. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've read a review that in other medical tv series in the US, when it comes to medical procedures and scenarios, The Good Doctor is the most accurate in real life. I also like the original/korean version. ;)

I believe you have watched Sherlock too, the movie series with Benedict Cumberbatch.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I have watched every Sherlock shows I can put my hands on. :)

I'm not really knowledgeable in medicine but I think that what they were doing in the show are all possible in real life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice! Norman Bates este Freddie Highmore got me watching the US version of The Good Doctor. You also try watching House.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I must say I enjoyed watching this series and how the ended it at least. It can be engaging and addictive and I am glad Shaun finally got his best friend haha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

haha yeah.. she really is his "best friend" :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😂😂🤣🤣🤣.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've seen this series one time like that.....my friend loves it like crazy. It's interesting but I don't like it that much

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I know exactly how you feel. :) I'm not over the moon about it, but it was not a complete waste of time so I finished it. Plus, I get to know some medical jargons.. :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well that's true

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think the series I can Commend to you is “how to get away with murder" I promise you, you won't regret watching it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

for real! That's a good one too. I watched that before too. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm watching The Good Doctor too and thinking of writing something about it hahah but I don't know where to start. But there you are! Good job, bro.

And it's true, there's always another case after the other its like the series movie Lucifer. It's amazing too hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ohhh I watched Lucifer too. :) Maybe I'll do that next. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think I'm loving Dr Shaun already

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hehe yep. his character is quite fondly. Reminds me a bit of Sheldon Cooper

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also like Shelby Cooper,it's a family thing..... lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha yeah. For real

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I watched some episodes of it and I was amazed by the story and with Shaun. We will learn from the show and we will love Shaun as a doctor and as a person

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They said that this is much more realistic than the other medical series Greys anatomy. I still haven't started the Good doctor because I'm not still finish watching greys anatomy.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I think Grey's Anatomy is more on the relationship stories of the cast, meanwhile, the Good Doctor gives a lot more emphasis to the cases they work on, and the details are more intricate.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't seen this drama serial. I have never seen an American drama serial like this. But I've heard stories about this before. I heard from you again. Hopefully it will be much better. I'll see you one day.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

oh yes, try and watch it :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago