Earth After Dark : The Beginning of the End

5 49
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

I wiped my eyes as I woke up only to see that I have been crying in my sleep again. These nightmares that haunt me every night. The faces of the people I love, they were all crying and bursting in agony only to share the same fate with all the other humans here on Earth. I picked up my phone on the bed side table. No messages, no calls, nothing. It's really a miracle that I can still pick up signal but there is nothing to view. The internet is down, I tried to search every website I have known and yes, even the naughty ones that I used to visit but everything is 404.

It's a good thing that the electricity is still working but I don't know how long this will last. I got up and went to the kitchen. Brushed my teeth and fixed myself. I don't know why I keep doing this, nobody cares how I look, nobody cares how I smell, as a matter of fact, nobody will ever know. So why do I bother? I just like to adhere and stick to a normal routine to keep my sanity for as long as I could hold onto it.

I opened the cupboard and grabbed a can of sardines. I put it backed and got a can of pork and beans instead. Ugh, I guess I'll manage with this for breakfast. I think that I need to get some supplies from the nearby mall. I chuckled for a bit. This time I literally meant "to get" I guess I do not need to pay now for whatever I want. I own this beautiful house, I own that stupidly large mall, in a way I own the whole freaking world.

I started the engine of my car. There's that noise again. I think that I need to change my car too. I went on my way and stopped at a local dealership. I jumped on every displayed vehicle in the showroom. I always dreamt of driving one of these Mustang but I'll be choosing this Ford Raptor for my current purpose. I think that this pick up truck will be of service to me. I drove it into the glass wall of the car store to break free and I was back on the road. I drove to the nearest gas station and filled the tank up. I also filled the drum I was carrying in the back for storage purposes.

The door of the mall broke into thousand pieces as I threw a large brick into it. I walked past the broken pieces of glass and made my way to the supermarket to pick up some groceries. I checked from aisle to aisle and picked up everything that I think can be of used and everything that I wanted. In the end, I filled up 3 carts and took my time to load them all in the back of my new truck.

Just a little past noon and I arrived back at the hotel which I now call home. I claimed the penthouse to myself and used the adjacent room for storage. I had a feast on my own with a variety of ready to eat meals and several chocolate bars. Took a picture of everything and then a selfie with the food. After wards, I filled the generator with fuel so it's ready whenever it will be needed.

Roamed around the hotel going from room to room as if checking if anyone else crashed the place but in the end I still ended up with my lonesome self.

It was just after dusk when I decided to take a plunge in the pool that was situated at the roof deck. I started a small bonfire on one corner and lit up some fountains and let some fireworks fly. I literally lit a small space in the sky with every bit of hope that any one out there is alive and still remains. It's like an open invitation to the rest of the world to come and gather here.

Although it seems impossible and pretty much away from the realm of reality, I still hope that I am not the only human living in this world. I hope and I pray to anyone and every one that is listening.

Character Profile

Name : James Anderson Smith

Age : 28

Occupation : He worked as a system engineer.

Personality: James was the only son of Dr. Henry Smith and Atty. Elizabeth Smith. He was used to living alone but he was used to socializing with people. As a matter of fact he considered himself as a party-goer. He find crowds amusing and entertaining.

He has an outgoing state of mind but tends to be sensitive with other people's feelings. But if he thinks you're wrong, then you'll be knowing about it.

Hey there!

Thank you for reading through this one. This is project is open for collaboration. You can even interact with my character in your own article. All you have to do is imagine that you are in the same time and planet as my character and post it in the community : https://read.cash/c/earth-after-dark-a35d .

For the details about the setting, kindly visit this one : Earth After Dark : The Setting .

Once you have grasped the mood, and the overall setting of the story, you may create your own persona and jump into the post-apocalyptic world of Earth.

I'm looking forward to your piece and as always,

Cheers!!!


Character image : Quora.com

8
$ 11.96
$ 11.64 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @AA-Admiral
+ 3
Sponsors of meitanteikudo
empty
empty
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

Comments

Oh it's really kinda interesting thanks @ayane_chan. Nice article and fiction story 👍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

it really is. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

OMG, my interest is really going up as I read these through.. Hopefully I can really push through im contributing here. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Looks great as an introduction. I just found the concept behind Earth After Dark and it seems fascinating. I don't think I can contribute, but I will try to read your stories and anyone else posting in this community.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for the appreciation. It really is fascinating yes, but it's pretty ambitious honestly, but let's see how it goes, I'll try pushing it as far as I could. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago