The Anatomy of a Romantic Comedy

10 63
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

Happy Valentine's day! What better way to celebrate this day than being on your bed, lotion on the side, tissue box on the other and a whole lot of movies.

I love watching movies. And the selection of the flicks I watch is pretty diverse. I jump from genre to genre. From mainstream to indie. Mostly, what I watch on any given day depends on my mood and what my mind yearns to imagine. Some days I'd like to be all serious and watch crime, drama, documentaries, and some heavy stuff. There will be times when I want to rattle my brain and watch some psychological films. There are times that I would just like to chill and see some action movies. And there are those rainy-feels kind of days where I just want to lay down and watch some romantic comedies.

I have seen my fair share of romantic comedies over the years. I just love how they can just do the things over and over again and you are just kind of mesmerized every single time. I love how they work around the cliches to make them relatable each time. And with that, I would like to dissect what I think makes a good romantic comedy flick.

Unlikely Characters

Of course, it all begins with the characters. For the most part, the characters make or breaks any movie, not just for the romantic comedies. But for romcoms, having characters that are on the quirkier side of life is a must. A character that is socially weird but totally relatable and a character that is overly dreamy with unusual humility.

For example, a male that is deemed to be a nerd is paired with the cheerleader who seems to be all bishy outside but has a sweet core deep within. Or a girl who's got a case of OCD and an outgoing rockstar with an overwhelming charm.

Characters that may seem out of the ordinary but at the same time very relatable to the audience.

Boy Meets Girl

After the characters are established, the all-too-important "accidental" meeting of the two characters. It will seem that all of a sudden, two different worlds just decided to have a collision with each other.

That turn in the corner where the girl will literally run into the guy. Or that scene where the girl hits the guy's car. Or just whatever "accident" that would cause the bigger scene.

Usually, the "accidental" meetings are unpleasant. One or both of the characters develop a sudden and acute hatred towards the other. And then they will swear to their mother's grave to not associate with the other further.

Helping Hands of Fate

And then they will meet again but this time they will be forced to kind of work together. Sometimes, the guy will turn out to be the girl's new boss or client. Some other times, the girl will turn out to be the new next-door neighbor. Or better yet, they wake up the next day to find out that they are married or some stuff like that.

Unavoidable Predicament

After their not-so-pleasant reunion, the characters will find themselves in a bind and a not-so-ordinary pinch. Maybe a problem will arise that could only be solved by the two of them working together.

Maybe it's a documentary that they need to shoot together, again, or sometimes it's a 3 million dollar problem that could only be solved by pretending to be a functioning married couple. Oh yes, sometimes, what happens in Vegas, doesn't stay in Vegas.

Lovey-Dovey Phase

And when they both come to terms that they need to join forces to get through the mess they are in and that's the only way they could get rid of the other from their life, we will be reeled in with an endless montage of the two of them spending time together, getting to know each other a little better and realizing that the other one isn't really that bad.

This is the phase where we sometimes see a slow-motion scene where the girl looks at the guy and the guy looks back with a smile on his face. This may also be the time for that "accidental" kiss.

Back to Reality

And just as they think that they have found solace in the middle of the messed-up world, they will be violently taken back to the reality that the world is toying with all of us.

A problem will arise, a lie will be found out, and a past will be revealed that will shake the other one's newfound love towards the other character. And after a dramatic confrontation, a walkout will ensue and they will seem to never see each other again.

Grand Gesture

Moving on with their lives they'll find out that it was better when they were "forcibly" together and that they miss each other terribly. But before that, they will wallow in their sorrows and the longing for each other.

After a while, one of the characters will try to reach out in a big way and will show off with a grand gesture to woo the other back to their complicated but happy setup, but this time, it will not be as forced at the first time.

The grand gesture usually is the defining moment of the movie. It may be an impromptu proposal in Grand Central, or it may be as luxurious as painting the city's billboards a question of "marry me?" or it may be as simple and as sweet as standing out in the pouring rain with big-ass cards with statements on them.

Whatever it is, it will be the most memorable part of the movie.

Hi!

Everything stated above is just my personal opinion. No major production company has made me do it and there were no animals hurt in the production of this article. Lol.

I just want to thank you for being here again and I hope that you liked this one. That's it for me and until we read again...

Cheers!!!

Author's Links

Noise : https://noise.cash/u/MeitanteiKudo

Torum: https://www.torum.com/signup?referral_code=meitanteikudo

Telegram:meitanteikudo

Twitter : boynextdoor1409

Hive: https://hive.blog/@meitanteikudo/posts

Would You Like to Earn Some More?

Passive income with your internet: https://r.honeygain.me/RBSHIFEFC3 (gain $5 instantly by using my referral link)

Play some games and earn : https://rollercoin.com/?r=kw4ixbkg

Watch, learn, and play while you earn: https://register.legionnetwork.io/yaeig5G (Use my code for $5 bonus)

Series    : Random Articles
Title     : The Anatomy of a Romantic Comedy
Published : 14-Feb-2022
Author :  © RB

9
$ 4.84
$ 4.61 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Ellehcim
$ 0.10 from @Olasquare
+ 1
Sponsors of meitanteikudo
empty
empty
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

Comments

Totally agree with all of this, prof. 😭 Dami kong tawa, tapos tngo lang ako ng tango habang nagbabasa, kasi ganyan talaga eh HAHA! Though you forgot one important detail, mga second lead na magpapahaba ng kwento, at magpapalito sa viewers kahit alam na naman talaga sino ang end game. 😌👌

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahhh yes yes. Madalas may ganun pero hindi kasi constant un. Hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay sabagay. haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

heeh kya nga.. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I go ok date with me, myself and I prof sobrang enjoy ngang matulog eh ahhaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaa ayun.. ang importante dun is enjoy ... haha kahit ano pa yun

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol, this is so me. I'm celebrating my Val with I, me and myself 😂. I planned to watch atleast 3 movies today though I haven't watched any. Been busy writing on read.cash

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah that's better. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Most of the movie I watch is about meeting accidentally then fall inlove

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha cause most people like those. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago