Liver Lover Boy

22 72
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

Raindrops run down the window panes of the bar and I chugged down the beer in front of me. I observed as the droplets on the side of the glass rolled down to the countertop. Gravity's funny. That's what I thought. Smart people would like to think that we understand it with all the numbers and computations but it's all just a blur to me. I think that what we know and what we're trying to teach the young ones is just some idea of how gravity works, we do not really know what it is.

I sometimes even argue with myself trying to formulate a better theory than the books or the papers could offer, but in the end, I always end up on the floor and beaten by alcohol. Sure, booze doesn't really help us at all, but it helps make the world a little better.

Just like any other day, I was absorbed with my own thoughts in my usual corner of the bar when I was alerted and turned my head to the side toward the door as the bell that was hung on its frame rang. It signals the arrival or departure of a patron. I don't know why but maybe it's just the barkeep's way of checking who's leaving and who's running away from their bill.

This particular time though, it was an arrival and it was a medium-built man dressed in an overcoat with a cowboy hat. He was drenched in the rain and his coat was dripping wet. When he took off the hat, I could clearly see his face. He looked like he was just in his early twenties.

After wiggling out of his coat, he walked to the bar and sat on a stool a couple of seats away from me. He ordered a glass of beer and a club soda.

I mind my own business but I couldn't help but think that it was an odd combination of drinks. I knew that soda and liquor go together but with beer? That just seems weird.

With my curiosity piqued up, I watched him from the corner of my eyes. He wasn't drinking the beer. At the time that he was about done with his soda, the glass of beer in front of him wasn't touched. I found it curious. I was really curious but I couldn't bring myself to ask him. So I just did the next best thing I could think of.

I waited for him and I asked the barkeep instead.

"What's wrong with him?" I asked.

"Why?" he asked back.

"I mean, don't you find it weird? He ordered a beer but didn't even hold that glass. Not one time."

"Oh! That? That's Mike. He's just taking care of his liver. Does not drink a drop."

His answer just created more questions inside my head. And I guess that he could sense them so he continued to explain the mystery that caught my attention.

Apparently, Mike was hospitalized before and was nearly dying. He badly needed a liver transplant. Mike's blood type is O so there's just a limited list on the donor side. He urgently needed it and it's only a miracle that could save him.

Through the complicated twists of fate, that miracle came from him. A man with the same blood type met an accident on his way home. He was brain dead on impact and by the time he was brought to the hospital, there's nothing else the doctors could do. He was a donor and his liver was still alive and was still very viable. Tests were made and it was deemed a match for Mike.

Mike is coming to the bar and ordering beer from time to time to commemorate and give thanks to the man that saved his life by dying. The man who was the original owner of the liver came from that bar and was drunk when he went home. That's how he met his demise, by drunk driving.

Mike decided to be sober because he wouldn't want to make the same mistake as the previous owner of the liver and he just buys him a beer for he acknowledges that the man died doing what he wants, being drunk.

Hik!

Thank you for being here once again! I really appreciate the time you give me even though I know that you have a lot of other places to be.

The holidays are still ongoing, drinking here and there, parties everywhere. You can drink as much as you want but never ever drink and drive. Alright? Stay safe out there and until we read again...

Cheers!!!

Author's Links

Noise : https://noise.cash/u/MeitanteiKudo

Torum: https://www.torum.com/signup?referral_code=meitanteikudo

Telegram:meitanteikudo

Twitter : boynextdoor1409

Series    : Random Articles
Title     : Liver Lover Boy
Published : 30-Dec-2021
Author :  © RB

14
$ 7.91
$ 7.75 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Meyzee
$ 0.03 from @JustMaryel
+ 2
Sponsors of meitanteikudo
empty
empty
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

Comments

Amazing story.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha nice did not expect that! Nice 🙂 happy New Year 💖💐

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You write well my friend... I'll like to see more interesting stories like this... Really looking forward to your posts now....

$ 0.02
2 years ago

thank you for that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! I really love this writeup. I'm new here, and this is probably the best story I have seen so far

$ 0.00
2 years ago

wow that means a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bigla ko naalala si Robin Padilla dahil sa title 😭

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hahah si binoe eh. haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, this story is touching. It took a near-death experience for the man to change but I'm glad he had the chance to do that unlike his donor who died from being drunk

$ 0.02
2 years ago

thanks for the appreciation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why you are so good in this type of plot twist prof 😭. Papa mentor na ako nito.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

haha am i? Thanks very much love.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sobra prof.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha nice didn't expect that. Escalated so quick. Haha. It is a good thought. 😃

$ 0.02
2 years ago

oooh thank you so much ! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We have only one liver and if ever we damage it, it is hard to find one that suited to us... Good to know that the man give importance to his liver and to the person who gave it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

that's right... so always keep your health in mind.. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Iba talaga ang dating pag Wattpad writer. Gez! Anong Wattpad name mo sir? hehhehehehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

huwehehe.. di na ko nagsusulat dun ehh.. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi ko nakita na ganito ng twist sir.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hahah surprise. hehe I hope you like the story.

$ 0.00
2 years ago