I Turned the Grinch of Christmas

17 50
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

It has always been said that the spirit of Christmas is alive in giving. It is in sharing with others what little we have lain the very essence of Christmas. And to tell you honestly, for quite some time there, I lost that spirit, I missed that Christmas feeling. And for a long while, I thought I was turning into the Grinch.

I can still remember clearly the excitement I feel whenever December comes and the Christmas season begins. I can still remember the sparkle in my eyes whenever I see the houses decorated with colorful lights and ornaments. I do recall how I walk with springs in my step every time I hear Christmas carols floating around the airwaves. I remember the joy that I feel in my heart, I remember.

I can only remember because, for the past few years, that excitement, that sparkle, the spring in my steps, and that joy in my heart were missing. They were absent from my Christmas season. Don't get me wrong, I still love Christmas, I am still happy to always celebrate with the ones I love but it wasn't the same. It was never the same.

Adulting?

When I think about it, I am guessing that the absence of those elements from my being has something to do with growing up and growing old. Maybe it's all because I'm a fully functioning adult now. Maybe, just maybe, Christmas is for children, and only for them.

Back when I was a kid, I always look forward to Christmas mainly because of the gifts. Weeks before Christmas, I was already anxiously anticipating what kind of gifts I will receive come Christmas day. Maybe I will have new clothes, maybe I will have a new pair of shoes, or even better, I would have a new set of toys.

But compared to what's currently happening, now that I am older, I don't find myself looking forward to the holidays because I end up thinking of how much am I going to spend on the food, for the gifts, and just about anything, there is to spend money on.

It may be a shame but I lost the joy in giving because I view it as money flying out of my pockets. See? I can't even afford to even have a wallet. I was also a little bummed out when I wasn't able to buy myself a new set of clothes this year, I thought that the yearly tradition I grew up looking forward to was gone. I felt that Christmas isn't complete.

And then everything came back when I was on my way home to spend the holidays with my family. When I was loading the trunk of my car with the presents I was going to give them, I saw that the trunk was already half-full, and the gifts there were just from me. I was like, wait, what am I getting bummed out about. Looking at all those gifts, I was smiling and feeling like an idiot. Why was I thinking that I don't have enough to buy everyone presents? There's a lot in there already. I shouldn't be down in the dumps, I should be glad that I was able to buy lots of stuff to give away.

On my way home, I stopped by my parents' house to pick up my sister. And then she was there loading up my car again with even more gifts and goodies. And I was even happier. I don't know but just the sight of the gifts crowding the trunk and the backseat of the car was enough to lift my mood up.

Not because the gifts are many, not because they are expensive but because my sister is still in school and does not have a job but she was able to save up to buy stuff to give out too. I was happy since she knows how to carry on with the tradition we have in our family. She knows how to give. And that was enough to light a fire inside of my sleeping heart. Christmas is alive.

Suddenly, what I have forgotten became so real and alive. Christmas truly lives in giving. I can feel the Christmas spirit again. And it was never gone. Maybe I was just too stressed about everything else that I somehow forgot how it felt to be excited about Christmas and the holidays. Maybe I was just too worked up to feel that the money I spend wasn't going to waste since I was giving it away to the people who matter and to the people I care about.

And when Christmas eve came, the fire that burns inside flared up into an even stronger flame. Finally, I was able to feel the joy that I was longing for. The table was with food and my whole family around it singing songs of happy cheers. And seeing the gifts overflowing and could not be organized under the tree, my heart is filled with joy.

It was indeed a Merry Christmas. I'm just glad that I was able to feel it again, especially after last year's quarantined Christmas.

Hello there!!

Oh yeah! How was your celebration for this holiday season? I hope that you didn't feel what I felt because it kinda sucked. It truly did. But I'm just glad that I was able to move on from it. Although I'm now part of ClubBrokeBch, (shoutout to @Pichi28 yo! ), I'm glad that I was able to spend the money on very good things for very great people. My wallet may be empty but my heart is just so happy.

And another thing that makes me glad is the fact that you are here visiting me once again. It warms my heart and I am really thankful for you. Hoorah and until we read again...

Cheers!!!

Author's Links

Noise : https://noise.cash/u/MeitanteiKudo

Torum: https://www.torum.com/signup?referral_code=meitanteikudo

Twitter : boynextdoor1409

Telegram: meitanteikudo

Series    : Random Articles
Title     : I Turned the Grinch of Christmas
Published : 28-Dec-2021
Author    :  © RB 

12
$ 2.92
$ 2.29 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @Pichi28
$ 0.05 from @Khing14
+ 4
Sponsors of meitanteikudo
empty
empty
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

Comments

Hahahahha welcome to the klub! I feel ya. There is something about buying the occasional gifts that will make you think that and yes I charge it to adulting.

But it is amazing how sharing your blessings through gifts can draw a smile in your heart as well. You give something that can bring delight and you become delighted as well... The delight bounces back :)

Happy new year kudo!!!!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

oh yeahhh!! Gift giving is something uplifting...and in that spirit... where's my gift??? :D Chos..

Hey stay healthy and safe there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

happy Birthday

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello .I am new here and I your article is so good. Belated Merry Christmas and thank you for sharing the real essence and Spirit of Christmas to others🌲

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Our pockets and wallets might have been emptied but the heart of those who has received our gift is filled with joy for sure...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako din Sir bata ako every pasko regalo ang inaabangan ko hahaha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hahha simple lang ang buhay noon. hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi din mahal ang bilihin sir.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayyy oo nga. Un din..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Merrier christmas to us 🥰

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The thought of giving and receiving gifts is dominant when Christmas is coming. We forgot the meaning and purpose of why we celebrate it together.

Glad you realize it, man. Belated Merry Christmas (:

$ 0.02
User's avatar EJ
2 years ago

Yep!! I am glad too. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I was a kid I also fond to see Christmas light and decor.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I still am fond of the lights and decorations. :) My dream is to illuminate my house that it can be seen from outerspace LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy you finally got the message of Christmas right

$ 0.02
2 years ago

so am I! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy you finally got the message of Christmas right

$ 0.00
2 years ago