Forget Me Not, Please

33 81
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

This article is the continuation and the final installment for this story: Forget Me Not


"How are you feeling?" George asked Melissa while he was holding her hand.

"I'm feeling fine just a really nagging headache I guess." she replied.

Melissa managed to regain her memories along with her consciousness. She's now resting in the room with George by her side.

"I was really scared for a bit there. I thought that you wouldn't recognize me anymore." George said.

"That's not gonna happen. Even if my brain forgets, my heart will remember. I want you to always be there to remind me of the times we shared, how happy we are, and I want you to remind me of who I am. I love who I am when I'm with you.

"That's him? I'm gonna rip you..." another guy came into the room. He was in tears and really agitated. He wanted to get a piece of George but he was stopped and restrained by the male nurses.

"John?! What are you doing here?" Melissa asked with great surprise. She then looked back at George and felt that she didn't have to hide it anymore.

"Yes, it's him. It's George. I am sorry."

"How could you?! How could you do this to me? How could you do this to us?!" John exclaimed.

"Us? I'm not even sure there's us anymore John. You are never there. You are never home." she answered and started sobbing.

"What? I'm doing this for us, for our dreams." John replied.

"Yours. That's not my dream. I just wanted us to be together."

The doctor came in and the room fell into an awkward silence. He explained that the test results came back and Melissa has a tumor inside her brain. He said that the cancer is an urgent matter and needed to be surgically removed before it metastasized, damaging greater parts of her brain.

He then proceeded to explain the risks of the surgery. The tumor was so intertwined with the nerves on her brain that the risk of paralysis is considerable and that permanent memory loss is almost a certainty. Her memory from the last year could be gone.

If not removed, she could be dead in just a week.

She adamantly refused the surgery.

"No, I don't want to forget everything. The last few weeks were the happiest weeks of my life." she said as she held George's hands.


The doctor invited both George and John to talk over Melissa's condition.

He told them that he doesn't want to watch her die and they should convince her to undergo the surgery.

"I don't know how to do that? She chose him over her own life. I can certainly see my life without her." John said.

"Which is why, it's up to him to convince her." the doctor added.

"Me?" George asked. "She already decided, and I think you know once she made up her mind, she's going to stick to it."

"If you love her enough, I know that you could do it."

After a bit of contemplating, George agreed. He went back to the room to talk to Melissa.

"I love you Mel. You know that. And I refuse to give up just like this. I hope that you take the risk too. Another week together? I can't accept that. I want to spend the rest of my life with you." George pleaded.

"I don't know, I'm afraid George. I have never been this happy. The last few weeks of my life meant the world to me. I'd rather die than forget all of those." Melissa replied.

"Well, I guess, then we could have the pleasure to relive those moments again. We'll get together again. As soon as you wake up, I will be there introducing myself and how in love we are." George said.

The conversation went back and forth and Melissa agreed to do the surgery in the end.

Before she went to the operating room, George and she shot a video together explaining everything and telling stories from their dates, how they met and how they got closer together. It was a perfect memento for them.


Melissa went under the knife. After a few hours of surgery, she was sent to the ICU and then transferred to recovery when she became stable. It took a day before she woke up.

When she woke up, the two guys, George and John were at her bedside. She turned to them as she was still recovering her consciousness and when her vision returned she extended her arm as if reaching for the guy.

Her voice was weak and her constitution still staggering, and she spoke, "J..John?" a faint smile crept on her face and on his as well. John moved closer and reached for her extended arms.

"Yes Mel, I'm here." he said.

"A friend of yours?" she asked as she looked over to George.

A strike of lightning struck George's heart but he tried to fake a smile to hide what he was really feeling inside.

"Hmm. You can say that." George said. He tapped John's shoulder and went on his way out of the room. It may have been just outside the hospital room but for him, every step he took felt like a step away from Melissa's life.

George found his way just outside the hospital. He took out the phone and played the video he and Melissa took. He watched it for the last time. He pressed on the trash bin button and as he pressed 'confirm' a tear dropped from his eye and onto the screen.

Haloa!!!

You may be wondering why does this belong to the screen-reads series. The simple answer is because it is adapted from a TV show. This story is based on an episode of The Good Doctor(US). I was just so captivated by that episode that I knew I just had to write about it to really eternalize it in my memory.

I hope that you liked my rendition of it and I really appreciate you being here. Just take it easy over there and until we read again...

Cheers!!!

Author's Links

Noise :Β https://noise.cash/u/MeitanteiKudo

Torum:Β https://www.torum.com/signup?referral_code=meitanteikudo

Telegram:meitanteikudo

Play some games and earn :Β https://rollercoin.com/?r=kw4ixbkg

Play and earn some BCH : fundoo.app , use my referral code MRNAH to have additional reward.

Twitter : boynextdoor1409

Series    : Screen-Reads
Title     : Forget Me Not, Please
Published : 14-Jan-2022
Author :  Β© RB

22
$ 8.36
$ 7.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Amazing-grace
$ 0.05 from @eommaZel
+ 12
Sponsors of meitanteikudo
empty
empty
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

Comments

good...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I felt a tear drop, I felt. My heart shake, I imagined it was I in this condition with a woman I love.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It ended in tears... And George is a great guy who really loves her truly...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yep indeed. But it's another shot at love.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Loving you is a losing game πŸ˜”

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wew same name πŸ€—πŸ€— such fascinating part of story

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I hope you liked it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bat ang hilig mo akong saktan Prof🀧 George hali ka punta ka balay para tayo nalang hahaha.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe. Salamat sa support. :) next time happy ending naman. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yan prof gusto ko hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha sana may maisip.. Di kasi ako sanay sa happy ending.. di ko pa naexperience..LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ka sad naman yan prof kay sige na nga ok lng sad ending kahit masakit sa pusoπŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha masaklap ehhh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww, di sila nagkatuluyan. Oh well, in the eyes of the community mali ang relasyon nila. Wala talagang forever. πŸ˜‚πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha yeahh. Love isn't always right daw e.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May game play din pala na maka earn din, BCH din bah ma rerecieve diyan?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Pwede. Ibat ibang coins ang choice ng payout.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This second part is fascinating

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Awww. Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Always welcome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The second part of the story is very beautiful

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you for that. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohhh. You watch The Good Doctor. I stopped at season two. Will continue when I have the time. Good story 😁😁

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yep. I was able to finish the whole thing

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang sakit naman para kay George na hindi sya maalala ni Melissa, I dont know the whole story but for sure I will read the past story of them.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Truly, love hurts

When it's real.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kahapun lang, naiinis ako sa cheating ni Melissa. Pero ngayon nasasaktan ako para kay George. Ang complicated naman ng buhay pag ibig nila :( waaaaah. Bravo Prof. Ikaw na talaga.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Weeeeeheeehe. Salamat ng madami. :) Ganyan tlga pag madami p8nagdaanan chos lang

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabeee ansaket pede ka na po maging author ng mga angst ahhh I love pain talaga it makes the story more interesting. Grabe halika dito George comfort kita hahaha charizz kaawa namn.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha salamat ayyy. It means a lot.. ang dami naman umaangkin kay George.. haha bat naganyan ako sa totoong buhay ala man lang nagcomfort. Lol haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nalulungkot ako para kay George huhu, pero ang ganda ng storyline, πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe salamat. Well, ganun tlga minsan mas okay na magparaya para sa ikabubuti ng madla

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama po kahit masakit

$ 0.00
2 years ago