5 Simple Ways to Save Your Money

38 155
Avatar for mathematics.proofs
3 years ago

Image by Nattanan Kanchanaprat from Pixabay

Since I've been reading so many articles about saving money, I feel inspired to create my own short saving money article. Here I'll be sharing with you 5 simple ways to save your hard earned cash.


Image by Pexels from Pixabay

  • No 1: Check How much data you actually use on your phone on average, and cut your mobile costs accordingly

Yes, there are so many people out there that buy large amounts of phone data that they never use. Plans with large amounts of data that are very cheap may sound spectacular on the surface, however, if 50% of that data each month is never used, it means over the course of a year - a lot of money is going to be wasted. The other day I was helping a friend cut mobile phone bill costs and through the statistics I gathered, I realised she was getting about 60GB of extra data each month that she simply wasn't using. I told her this and she was absolutely shocked and in a matter of days she decided to change her mobile plan.


Image by Tumisu from Pixabay

  • No 2: Stop buying so much food from newsagents, shop in large supermarkets instead

A quick and convenient way to get food is to go to your local newsagent. There they sell canned food, sandwiches, ready made meals and all kinds of snacks. What is the issue with this though? Well, it's the price. Newsagents charge more for food than supermarkets. For about £2.75 I can get 4 cans of tuna chunks from Sainsbury's (medium quality), however, in some newsagents - one can of tuna of the same quality will cost about £2.00. If I make expensive purchases like this on a regular basis, over the course of a year I'm going to end up spending hundreds of extra pounds. It's wiser to shop in large supermarkets more often.


Image by Silviu Costin Iancu from Pixabay

  • No 3: Buy second hand clothes more often

Need a basic t-shirt to go to the gym or to play football with? Buy it from a charity shop instead. You're going to get all sweaty in that t-shirt anyway and you're going to have to wash it often, so why buy one that is expensive? Yes, you'll look great in a Nike t-shirt and you'll probably impress a few people at the gym - but what about the financial implications? It's going to cost a lot of money to keep on replacing those worn out Nike t-shirts whilst in a charity store, you can get good t-shirts for as low as 50p. Obviously, you can extend the same kind of logic to other clothing such as shorts- and when you do, the savings can be quite substantive.


Image by Free-Photos from Pixabay

  • No 4: Buy your technology from computer exchanges and sites like Ebay

Need to replace a computer monitor? Don't just go for whatever is new. Computer exchanges and sites like Ebay offer incredibly good used replacements - with insurance. A monitor which would have cost you maybe £150 new, might be selling in a computer exchange or Ebay for half the price. If this general rule applies to all kinds of technology - then you could save hundreds if not thousands of pounds (or dollars, whatever your currency is) over the course of 5 years, by simply spending a little more time searching for high quality used items.


Image by Joseph Mucira from Pixabay

  • No 5: Read more internet articles instead of buying books

Not all the most reliable tips, insights and most inspiring stories are inside books. There are so many great websites online that offer content of high value free of charge. Okay, you may want to find out the deepest secrets about black holes, and Stephen Hawking's books are an excellent bet, however, it is probably likely the same information can be found in online articles or on Wikipedia. It is even possible that there are free online articles that go into the topic of black holes - in much more depth. Personally, I think I've gained much more insights into black holes through websites that are free to use - then I have ever done through books.

On top of that, scientists are always making discoveries - which means that what you'll find in a book today, may be proven to be wrong in a couple of months. So, instead of spending money on a book - ask yourself... Can the same information or even better information be found online - free? And, could the information online be closer to the cutting edge?

Article written by Tiago Hands: https://www.instagram.com/tiago_hands

104
$ 4.42
$ 4.42 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of mathematics.proofs
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for mathematics.proofs
3 years ago

Comments

Very nice your post..... Pase thakle pase paben

$ 0.00
3 years ago

this is the big thing to save money,spend money wisely to save more than expense more.informative article it help a lot to those people who struggle in budget.Don't live like a king.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your post is very informative.If I had money, you would have spent it. Such a post I have been wanting for a long time. Today I saw that you really did. So I have benefited a lot.Hopefully there will be more such questions later.I also made my own article about my saving tips as a college student.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for a wonderful tips but i think in my own opinion the number 5 was not useful at all, i mean alternative for newspaper maybe but for books its not worth reading just an article or ebooks. Btw good tips for saving money.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for the wonderful tips, might as well try it to see if i can save up alot.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very interestingly you focus how can save money. Really everyone should thinking about like that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I myself, it's really a difficult thing to save money. These are good tips my friend. Thinking of doing it gradually.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for the tips but the problem is what will I save if I don't have money hahaha kidding.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This made for an interesting read as these tips are blunt and straight to the point. I have reservations with two of the tips though. Buying of used computer supplies and reading more of internet articles. The internet is a vast resource of information but not all the information there is authentic or can be trusted. So it may not be safe to rely on it as one sole source of information. While I agree that most things have gone digital there's still that effect when one reads from a hard copy of a book. On used computer accessories there's usually a higher chance of defects occurring or being detected with used rather than new items. Like you've rightly pointed out, if you must buy used computer accessories it should have some sort of warranty. Thank you.

$ 0.00
User's avatar M3i
3 years ago

Thank you for writing an article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice post. Plz subscribe me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for writing an article on this very good topic

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great topic

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I've been a fan of thrift shops and honestly, its great. It just need patience but it was worth it. I have even bought a shirt with brands for only $0.2

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Joss

$ 0.00
3 years ago

..great post love it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great tips! We should spend wisely👍😘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for the tips too . With the state of the economy, money shouldn't be spent unnecessarily

$ 0.00
3 years ago

These are really very useful tips to save money. It's said that a penny saved is a penny earned.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am new user, thus dite a earning So easy earnibg i jope

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I benefited a lot from reading your post. Your post is very informative.If I had money, you would have spent it. Such a post I have been wanting for a long time. Today I saw that you really did. So I have benefited a lot.Hopefully there will be more such questions later.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This tips is very informative....

$ 0.00
3 years ago

To use second hand clothe is not a good suggestion.you can use and reuse your own dresses.you may take them in less prize but use your own

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very informative article ,I like it carry on dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I actually practicing all you have written in your article.

By the ways, I'm confused about your logo when I clicked it wow! I can't log in on my Instagram but I saw your logos, I'm gonna try to log in again later on Instagram

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I also made my own article about my saving tips as a college student. However, it was all in Filipino. So I'm gonna share my tip. This is the best formula to actually save a huge amount of money. That is income less savings equals expenses. Once you get money, set aside the amount of money you want to save, before you spend the rest. As simple as that, but other people find it hard to do. So the next best advice is, learn to live below your means, and be thrifty. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for sharing this tips. This truly help us 😊 good morning 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow Thanks for sharing this tips Spending carelessly should be far from us Let's focus on saving and growing our wealth

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah! Its Very helpful article for those who want to save Their money ... But some of my frnd they hate me.for this

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very helpful article... I always do this and i never felt embarrassed... But therefore some of my frnd they hate me.for this

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for the tips too . With the state of the economy, money shouldn't be spent unnecessarily.

$ 0.00
3 years ago