15 most famous national dishes of European cuisine

69 95
Avatar for lukalaban1981
3 years ago

One of the ways to get to know the culture of a country and a nation is to stop by a national restaurant and try a dish that is specific to that climate. These are the best national dishes of European cuisine. Some will be reminded of a better period, and some will be included in the wish list of these places for some future trips.

1. Pierogy in Poland

There are so many reasons to visit Poland, but "try pierogi" should be at the top of your list. These little dumplings can be filled with literally anything. The classic version includes potatoes and cheese, meat and cabbage or just vegetables. They are often served topped with sour cream and fried onions or pork. They are also popular as a dessert, stuffed with fruit and sweet cheese.

2. Delicious pasteis de nata (Portuguese dessert)

Can be found all over the world, but no one can make you exactly as they are served in Portuguese pastry shops and restaurants. These golden brown pastries are filled with caramelized cream, while the shell on the outside entices you, thin enough to delight every palate when combined with sweets. Order it with strong black coffee.

3. Canelbullar in Sweden

"Canelbullar" literally translates as "cinnamon rolls" and we can promise you that they are better than any you have ever tried before. The soft and "puffy" dough, spiced with cardamom, is coated with butter and stuffed with cinnamon. These rolls are most enjoyed when they are fresh from the oven, and can be found in most Swedish bakeries. You will be able to smell them for a mile.

4. Lakror in Albania

This dish is a kind of mixture of Turkish burek and Greek spinach; it is a fluffy, buttery pastry usually filled with a mixture of spinach or leeks, eggs and yogurt. It is also a dish made by real grandmothers, but cheap street food is also commonly available in bakeries. It is widely available in the mountain town of Korce, but you can find it all over the country.

5. Currywurst in Germany

We all know that Germans make good sausages, but currywurst is something completely different. Second level. This popular street food includes chopped sausages topped with ketchup mixed with curry powder. It sounds weird, but something about it just works. They are best eaten with french fries and beer.

6. Arancini in Italy

Whatever you try in Italy, you won't go wrong. This is a country of gourmets and the best European cuisine. But before you make a plan for pasta and pizza, think about a modest arancina. It is a ball of rice, stuffed with meat, cheese or vegetables, and then crumbled and fried to golden perfection. Arancini is often eaten as a quick snack or as a lunch on the go - a favorite meal of students who do not have a big budget.

7. Bocadillo de jamon in Spain

It looks like a normal ham sandwich, but never underestimate a good bocadillo de jamon. The inside of crispy but soft Spanish baguettes is often soaked in olive oil and garlic, followed by a layer of thin smoked ham. Some variations may also contain manchego cheese, peppers, tomatoes or olives, but even the most classic ones are delicious.

8. Karjalanpiirakka in Finland

It is often called "Karelian pie". It’s made from simple ingredients, but you wouldn’t guess that when tasting. The thin rye crust is stuffed with potatoes, rice or carrots and various other ingredients.

9. Soupe a l’oignon in France

France has a lot of amazing food, but you have to try this soup. It is thick and rich - top quality lunch food in one of the famous French cafes and restaurants.

For example, in the famous Cafe de Flore. Onion soup and meat stocks are topped with crispy bread, which is sometimes baked with cheese.

10. Haggis in Scotland

It may sound a little repulsive, but whoever tries haggis once, will order it at least once more.

It is ground sheep's entrails (heart, liver and lungs) mixed with onions, oatmeal and spices. It is usually served with mashed potatoes and beets, and is considered the main dish of Scottish cuisine.

11. Mekici in Bulgaria

This traditional Bulgarian pastry is kind of like a flat donut. The dough is made from yogurt, then shaped into a flat disk and fried in deep oil.

It is usually eaten for breakfast, dusted with powdered sugar and enjoyed with fruit and yogurt. Some people also like the salty option with soft cheese. In any case, you can't go wrong.

12. Bramborak in the Czech Republic

This is basically a potato pancake. Grated potatoes are combined with eggs and spices, and then fried in panfri. It is a common street snack throughout the country; some regional variations include sauerkraut or meat.

13. Tavče na gravče in Northern Macedonia

You must have tried this simple, traditional meal, but it is worth remembering these delicacies from Macedonian cuisine.

Fresh beans are stewed in oil and tomato sauce with a ton of onions and spices. It is served in an earthenware dish with homemade bread and yogurt.

14. Raclette in Switzerland

Two words: melted cheese. This dish is named after the Swiss cheese raclette, which is melted in a pan or outside the crust itself. It is usually served on potatoes with pickles and onions or with bread if eaten as a street food on the go.

15. Smørrebrød in Denmark

These are rye bread sandwiches with butter, usually topped with some variations of eggs, cheese, meat or fish.

The Danes use a knife and fork to ensure that the dressings remain intact. In fact, there is a whole social ethic of how smørrebrød is eaten, how it is composed and the order in which it is eaten. Perhaps it is best to do it with a local who will instruct you how to taste this delicacy that is the basis of Danish cuisine.

A dish that may not be on the list but is my favorite dish and that is beans, prepared in the Serbian way. It is my favorite dish and if we are already talking about my favorite dishes, that is, the most famous dishes, my dish may not be the most famous, but it is my favorite dish. And what is your favorite dish?

37
$ 0.78
$ 0.72 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
$ 0.01 from @tatatatira
Avatar for lukalaban1981
3 years ago

Comments

Fantastic article by you my friend

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanx my friend for feedback

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great, I'm thrilled. Wonderful recipes, national dishes of many countries.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanx for feedback

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Outstanding post buddy

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanx SaifAnsari

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yammy thanks for information dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you Sukreya

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think #6 would have to be my favourite. Anything hand food that you can grab on the go is my style. Have you ever tried deep fried tofu balls? Not the same thing, but also very dilicous and easy go with rice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanx for feedback Theemos

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I also want to try this foods🤗🤗🤗

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanx Eera24

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Welcome

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Looking soo yummy and delicious. If i travel there surely like to taste all these foods.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanx Tasnim77

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I would try to cook all this, great article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is great idea, thanx for comment

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm pleasure to see these dishes and also i want to eat

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree with you but I was etaen something from this post.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Karjalanpiirakka in Finland-I definitely have to try that

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Try Polish and Serbian too, if you ask me, try everything

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I became hungry

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Me too :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm pleasure to see these dishes and also i want to eat these foods.😙😙

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Me too :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow brother awesome foods. You have a great knowledge about foods.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanx for comment Tibro

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are most welcome

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I haven’t tried most of these dishes. Of course, I ate mekici and tavce na gravce. Everything in the pictures looks extremely tasty.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you Ruza for comment

$ 0.00
3 years ago

great dear I have subscribe you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanx I will subscribe you too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Brilliant

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow...... So yummy

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanx

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good one

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanx

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Pierogy this one looks awesome do we call them momos?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't know, in Poland, Polsh people in their country that meal call Pierogy

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The foods look delicious I am drooling, I love the cinnamon roll it's my favorite

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you Amorie

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Every dishes looks so delicious and yummy. Even seeing this delicious food makes my mouth water. You make me hunger too......

$ 0.00
3 years ago

These are some delicious dishes

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanx Raman

$ 0.00
3 years ago

All the food is new to me, I hope I can try it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanx Allan16

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is the second article I read that is all about foods. My gosh, the first one is Chicken Asobo and then this, a different one in different coutry, I feel like you bring me into different places. I just wish I can taste someof those deatured dishes. I specially want to try Currywurst for I love sausage somuch.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you Salame09

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Chicken Adobo! Seafood! Everything with rice lol. I just made it and posted my recipe. And I just ear but you made me hungry! 😁 I love that custard pastry! I can buy that from here and it tastes good! You love to eat as well and it's pretty good to know. Cheers!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Cheers Tired_momma

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Cheers!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow I like the dishes they so beautiful

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanx chairman2

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Call me whatever you want, but for me, tavče na gravče is the law <3 How are you my friend?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very good, thanx for question, how are you Tatatira?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Every dish looks delicious, saturated with water to go to your mouth.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree with you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow all the dishes looks so much yummy 😋 I wants to test it. Haha jokes apart. Nice writing dear. Keep it up

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you Tilka_Muntarin_123

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I actually hope to taste those delicacy in each of their country

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanx for comment Moses27

$ 0.00
3 years ago

While reading the article, I wondered if there would be any Serbian dish on this list. But here, he has it as your favorite.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you my friend

$ 0.00
3 years ago