Writing Prompt #6: Cheating

75 627
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago
"I thought I was special!" Photo by Drew Hays on Unsplash

The other day, I was nominally part of a discussion about cheating and cheaters.

The discussion got me thinking about cheating. The different kinds of cheating. How one person's cheating can affect the community overall. Whether or not cheating is ever justifiable.

I thought of writing an article about cheating, specifically aimed at read.cash and noise.cash. But then it occurred to me it is the start of a new week and the wiring prompt is due.

So I will let all of you write about cheating instead.

Types of cheating

Cheating on an exam is the type of cheating that springs to mind. Either by copying the answers from someone else's paper or by getting the answers ahead of time.

This type of cheating can hurt not only the student who will be sent out into the world without really knowing the subject they are "studying" but it can also hurt the rest of the class of the teacher grades on a curve.

When I was teaching, I never headed on a curve. I don't think that helps anyone. Each student needs to know his or her own progress. I also gave exams not to test the student's knowledge, rather to test my teaching technique.

Cheating was never really an issue in my classes. Possibly because I was teaching adults, probably because of my teaching technique.

Cheating on a spouse

The concept of monogamous relationships is changing. In 2021 I know more people who are in polyamorous relationships than I know I'm the entirety of my lifetime before. We used to call it "swinging". Swinging was consensual cheating.

There is an argument to be made that humans are not meant to be monogamous. Maybe this is true, maybe it isn't. There are other animals than humans who partner for life.

Regardless, if two people enter into a contract of a relationship or marriage, without otherwise specifying the terms, it is assumed this relationship is meant to be monogamous. When one partner breaks that contract, it's called cheating.

This type of cheating hurts everyone. It hurts the spouse. It hurts the children. It hurts the marriage. It can even hurt the cheater themselves when they are faced with losing everything - marriage, children, money, reputation.

There is a saying, "Once a cheater, always a cheater." I hope this saying is not true for all, but I'm my experience it is.

Cheating on taxes

An incredibly common form of cheating in the USA is to cheat on taxes. Every year the government wants to know a person's earnings so they (the government) can levy a tax to help offset government spending.

The population's taxes help to pay for social assistance programs, public schools, roads, state and national parks, fire departments, and more. Most of the taxes, unfortunately, pay for military spending. The people don't get a choice in where their taxed money goes.

Many people turn to cheating. Whether they don't claim all of their income or hide it in offshore accounts, it is all cheating. It's interesting to note that the bulk of the tax cheaters are already rich.

The poor can't afford fancy accountants and tax lawyers to hide money.

Cheating on taxes hurts everybody. It hurts the school children and the state parks. It hurts the economy. It hurts state and federally funded programs. It hurts the rest of the population whose taxes are raised to pay for the country's spending.

Cheating by misrepresentation

If you claim you are a doctor or a lawyer but aren't and provide medical or legal services, you can go to prison. Cheating of this kind to gain financial benefit at the potential risk of someone's life or livelihood is a serious crime.

This type of cheating has the potential to harm not only the people who used the services, but also their friends and family when things go wrong.

Cheating by plagiarism

Cheating by claiming something is yours when it isn't is also pretty serious. Take this article. If I had copy and pasted the whole thing from one or more sources and claimed the words were mine, I would be cheating.

This can hurt not only the original person's work, but it can also hurt those who have put trust in me. Every word I wrote after the copied words becomes suspect. It can hurt the actual author by taking money away from them for their hard work.

This type of cheating is lazy and rude.

Prompt

This week, I'd like you to think about cheating.

What are some reasons for cheating? Is cheating ever justifiable? Is it ever ok? How is it different from stealing or lying? What about people who loudly proclaim to be part of a religion and also cheat? What about people who are proud to cheat because they know they are getting away with something?

Have you ever been cheated? What was the circumstance? How did it feel?

Have you ever cheated? What did you gain or lose?

The rules for the wiring prompt are simple:

  1. Write about cheating

  2. Write 100% original content

  3. Write at least 600 words

  4. Tag me @JonicaBradley

  5. Have fun

Note:

I may not be able to read each article written. I have other duties to perform throughout my day, including caring for and milking my goat, weeding and watering the garden, harvesting vegetables, household chores, editing a publication, cooking the family meals, helping an older woman (nearly 80) with her household chores, and being a virtual assistant. My physical and mental health also help determine how much I can and can't do on a daily basis.

So, please don't be upset if I don't get to your article or story. I read as many as possible!

Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty

I love to pay it forward. If you are in need of a sponsor, let me know in the comments.

I am always accepting new sponsors, as well.

Lead image: Photo by Drew Hays on Unsplash

53
$ 16.40
$ 14.65 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @Meyzee
$ 0.10 from @eommaZel
+ 29
Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

Comments

Thanks a lot with this prompt. I got to write another one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cheats huh? Quite an interesting topic, because there is a lot to talk about it. I live surrounded by cheaters, so this topic also fits me like a glove.

(Sorry if my translation is bad)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also join and did mine. Cheating is not a mistake, it's a choice that anyone might do.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thanks for this prompt, now i have an idea about what i will going to write next. Im been busy this few days so i read it late. Also i want to thankyou for your generosity maam @JonicaBradley :) youre also a teacher? That was one of my dream back then.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I taught adult education classes and English Second Language classes. I taught reading to recently released prisoners, too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will be needing some support here😊 I just read about this prompt early this morning. Looking forward to publish an article about the prompt

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Would love a sponsor! I'm going to write a piece based on this prompt and tag you <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always believe cheating is a choice not just some random crappy reason. I was once cheated funny thing was he tried to justify himself what a joke.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I so much love this topic and will be writing on my experience and tag you.please I am in need of sponsorship. Thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmm...interesting topic,can i make a story about cheating (fictional with some facts about my experience)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I think I have posted mine one hour earlier when you post this. It's about plagiarism.

Please check: https://read.cash/@Bjorn/ode-to-a-smart-kid-befc689c

But i will write separate one for this writing prompt.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I've always been cheated so I guess I'm gonna join the prompt for the first time. Thanks for giving us topics to write.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I'm late of this promot. i read it just now.. I need to think now on what to write 🤣

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Ohh! I already made an article about it a week ago...😊

Please checked it out: https://read.cash/@renren16/i-was-once-a-cheater-a44eda9a

But I might make another one for this prompt.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Really this is interesting, that what am going through presently

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I'm sorry you are going through this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Upon reading and well, attempting to join your writing prompts, I feel that this topic might be one of the most controversial, so to speak.

I do have something in mind that I think is a little bit complicated, yet I hope my readers can understand its context thoroughly. So excited to create and join now.

Thanks for this wonderful topic, my brain should now work again. Feeling that sudden writing rush and excitement within.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I'm sure your readers will understand.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I truly believe so. I will definitely make a write-up that is worth reading. Thanks!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yaaaaaaaay! I am super excited about this as well. Let me get my pen ready 😍😍🥰. Thanks for sharing this, regardless.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You're welcome.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤗🤗🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A very heavy topic, Jonica. Not sure if I want to bare everything for the worldwide web. Will need to sleep on this first. It's too challenging. Haha!!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You can always make something up. Only give of yourself what you are willing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks, and I've got this!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It quickly reminds me that cheating we did in exams 🤣

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I hope you confess to us!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Jumping on it straight away. Thanks fur the prompt. Its a topic well deserved to be treated.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Looking forward to it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good prompt, I guess all women will focus on relationships for me it is sport and funnily enough yesterday a good excuse of cheating in noise. Someone copied my post for my article on my book but not that it did any good haha still don't get more than a handful of readers, so not all cheating is bad , there some food for thought

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I tend to focus on plagiarism. As a writer and artist I want to promote and show off my work. Some bad actors will inevitable copy it and claim it as their own.

This just pisses me off!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hear you, normally I would have been mega pissed

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well. I hope to read your article all about cheating. Even though everybody knows it's the ref's fault.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hope I can participate again. Trying to rather all my ideas. 😊

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I hope so, too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This one is hard. My entry might not reach the 600 word quota.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

The only reason for the 600 words is in order for it to be considered an article and be rewarded by RR.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You can try dear. Just share a story, an experience, or a scenario. Let the flow come in and you never know when you write even more than 600 words

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank, thank you for the encouragement. I will, and will also wait for yours.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hate this kind of cheating -"people are so proud that they can get away it"

$ 0.05
2 years ago

me, too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wao, that would be best prompt for me. I have broken hearted and bear cheating in love. My story will be awesome and role model for others.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

At first, I thought maybe I will pass on this one. But as I read your post, an idea popped up. In fact it's a topic that I have already written about before. Thanks for this prompt

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Look forward to it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

New prompt! I just read an article about plagiarism. I might tackle this, but I am still not sure. My mind changes last minute! Hahaha! Thanks for this new prompt. I have one more in arrears, similarities but I will really make it possible to complete all prompts! It seemed like an achievement to me.

And I won't try to be shy here, but I would love to apply as your sponsee. It would be a great honor! I will do my best so I will not waste the opportunity. ;)

More blesssings and good health despite your busy life, ma'am. Saving this so I won't forget.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Lol. Hey, there is no need to be shy. @JonicaBradley has always be a great and generous person. She loves making people smile and she wouldn't mind granting your request. Look she just did that lol.

And yes you are a great writer too so I am sure she wouldn't regret doing that. Enjoy your new sponsorship dear😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohhh just read this now! I am honored! Thanks a lot Ms Jonica, and Zelly bestie! <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Look at that, I just got a bestie🤭😉 You are welcome dear

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, bestie! Haha! I realized it because of your comment in my post. hahah!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol. I just saw that. Then besties it is 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sponsored!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lots of thanks, Ma'am!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeeey! New prompt. Will surely participate in this one ❤

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Sweet. Something to look forward to.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yay. new prompt is up! this definitely always makes my monday. I can see that this week's prompt can be real challenge to me. I can only relate to cheating on classes. but anyway, I'll try my hardest to produce an article about it.

as always, thanks for the prompt! this is getting exciting week by week. :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I look forward to reading what you come up with

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thanks much! I'm also looking forward for what others will come up with regarding this new prompt.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That “cheater will always be a cheater!” is naah.. hope it's not true with me I mean with my partner 🤦

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I hope it isn't true, also.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woahh A new prompt. Hmm☺️ Thank you Ms. Jonica for helping us to have and to think of things to write. Sometimes I have this writers block and don't know what to write. And here you are, giving us the idea☺️

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You're welcome!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks Ma'am for the new challenge to write..

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You're welcome.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have lots of story to tell about cheating yays!

$ 0.05
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

I hope you aren't the cheater!! I look forward to reading what you've got.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I onced was a cheater tho 💔

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

I hope your write about it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeheyy ! New Prompt Thank you Ms. JonicaBradley , I always challenge my self to Join this Prompt. :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I'm glad you find these little things useful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cheating? Well, we will see what we can do with this prompt word. There are so many ways of cheating and you have already listed a few and also asked a few questions about cheating too. Hopefully, I might take part.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You know I love your stories!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am honoured😇

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Waahh Cheating, a very deep word actually. There are lots of circumstances in terms of cheating. Hopefully I can able to mine too. Thanks for an idea Ms.Jonica

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You're welcome.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My pleasure always Ms. Jonica

$ 0.00
2 years ago