Elevator Doors

26 56
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

Walking briskly under the morning sun, I was traversing through the thickness of the concrete jungle looking up to the several skyscrapers in the middle of the business district of the city. Trying to calm my nerves along with my hands I held firmly the long brown envelope that contains my whole career and credentials summed up into two piece of A4-sized paper.

I was trying to make my 9:00 am appointment with my final interview. I was lucky enough to be shortlisted for the job I have always wanted. I felt like my whole life has been preparing me to be a banker. The hours are good, the money is better and well the career path is the best. I love money, but in the end, who doesn't right?

I glanced at the time from my silver wrist watch, my lucky watch. It was a gift from dad and I have always worn it ever since I was in school. I always make sure to wear it whenever there is something big in my life where having some luck could not hurt. It was just a quarter after 8:00 then and I figured that I have some time for a quick drink.

I stopped at a nearby coffee shop and placed an order for a cup of coffee. There's something different with the aroma of the coffee in the big cities. They always smell expensive. The taste, well I'm not really particular with the taste, I always kill the coffee beans with lots of sugar and lots of cream. Seriously, I would rather have milk, but I decided to go for coffee to keep up with my appearance. It's not everyday that I am in suit and tie. No one wears this much class and have milk in a tall glass.

30 minutes after 8 and I went out of the coffee shop to be on my way to the interview. On my way out, I saw an old man seated on the side of the road with a cardboard sign. I placed several coins inside his cup and he thanked me and complimented my watch.

Several people were coming and going through the huge glass doors of the building in front of me. It looks majestic despite the building being several decades old. Well, this building will help me build my own dreams and future. I took several proud steps and I was in. I went over to the receptionist to iron out the details of my appointment and I was told to proceed to 30th floor. Hot damn, how many floors that that building have? I wanted to know more about that receptionist but she was immediately flooded with several more people. So I decided to let her be for the moment.

I made my way to where the elevators are and there were so many people waiting on them. Glancing at my wrist watch again sent a sense of panic to my brain cells. There were only two elevators that will directly stop at the 30th floor and there were so many people in there.

I found it odd that people were lining up on the right door even it was obviously will be coming in later than the door on the left, there were only about 4 people waiting on the left and since I was in a hurry, I chose to go there and as soon as I lined up with them the doors of the left elevator opened. The 5 of us went in and waited for more people to alight but there was not a person to join us so the doors were closed.

We then individually pressed different buttons. 2 of them were getting off at the 22nd floor, one at the 25th, me 30th and the other pressed 33. The elevator felt fast and it was, according to the floor numbers displayed on the small LCD panel which indicates what floor are we in currently. We arrived at the 22nd floor and the men went out.

The doors closed again and the elevator came up once more. But as we reached the 24th floor the lights of the elevator started to flicker and they went out. The elevator shook and it halted to a violent stop. I held unto the walls of the elevator letting go of my envelope. When the shaking stopped and got down to pick up my envelope I noticed that the two other people inside weren't shaken nor surprised at all. Their nonchalant manner sent questions to my mind.

I got up and and pressed the emergency button in panic. "Damn damn damn... I'll be late."

"Oh hey, it's your first time in this building? Don't bother pushing that, it's disconnected." one of the 2 people with me is a guy. He was dressed rather casually to be working in a place like this.

"What do you mean? Do you work here?" I asked him.

"Nah, I just like the restaurant on the 25th. Their breakfast quite filling."

The other one was a girl in a corporate attire. Her looks was even complete with a pair of eyeglasses. She was fidgeting on her phone but she was completely calm.

"Miss. Excuse me, can you call for help with that?" I implored her.

"Oh this. sorry I have no signal. I was just playing a game."

Damn, they're both useless. Then it made perfect sense why there are so many people waiting for the right side elevator. This might be an issue with this stupid elevator. No one even told me, I didn't even asked. Come to think of it, even the sign on that old man's cardboard said "Keep right". Wow. The signs were all there. And I just rushed into this one. I shook my head with my ill fate.

I looked at the watch and it was already 5 minutes past 9:00. I'm surely late, I was perspiring like I went jogging and am in no condition for an interview.

"Ohh, they're late today. They usually fix this in 15 minutes. I guess extra break for me." the lady commented.

It was around 9:28 when the elevator doors opened and I took the stairs all the way to the 30th floor. When I approached the receptionist for my appointment I was sent away since the interviewer is now in another meeting. If only I had waited for 5 minutes for that right door.

Epilogue

In life we will always be presented with door A and door B. Sometimes there are even multiple doors to choose from. Each door presents a future different from another. We don't know which will be the best door for us to go through but even though we're blind we make the choice on which one to open and pass through with the signs and other information available at the entrance. The choice may be tricky, some doors may looked like accessible but will prove to be disastrous in the end. Some may look impassable but may bring us a better future.

Hey there!!!

Thank you for reading this one. It seems random but it's not it's an article that made use of a prompt. I will share you the prompt and you may want to use it someday.

The prompt :

You are standing in front of two 
doors and the choice is yours 
whether which one to open.
Write a story about what happens 
after you have chosen one path.

Let's see what my good friends @immaryandmerry and @carisdaneym2 can do with this one. Noiseristificationism represent!!!


References:

Image 1 : https://www.istockphoto.com/search/2/image?phrase=old+elevator+doors

15
$ 11.39
$ 10.48 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.33 from @Meyzee
$ 0.20 from @immaryandmerry
+ 6
Sponsors of meitanteikudo
empty
empty
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

Comments

Opx, it looks like I need to start writing now. Thanks for this! 💓

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha nice A++

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uhm a great motivation I am already an article on this

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I need to jump on this prompt too. Its our choice to decide which door we'll open and what we would even do in the beyond.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oooh yes please. Looking forward to yours.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the prompt! 💖 I'm having a hard time thinking of a new topic but here you are, saving my ass 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe thanks!! Hopefully more to come so we can eradicate that pesky writer's block. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Look how our single choice can affect our future. Indeed, every action really do have its corresponding consequences. We shouldn't ignore red flags.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeeep be vigilante with choices, no matter how small. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aaahuuh 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

👍😎

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great storytelling. It was like you were sharing your own personal experience. Such creativity in painting a picture in your reader's mind. I have much to learn. Come to think of it, I didn't take elevators. For some unknown reasons, I had opted to take the stairs. Lol. Go figure. I'll learn. I'm already on the 8th floor. How I wished they'd ventilate their stairwells better though.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha stairs are always better. For exercise and stuff. That's good for you. Thanks for the kind words by the way..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're right. Been sitting most days on my butt writing. Taking the stairs is indeed a good habit to cultivate. hahaha..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol. And here's what I got from being a bully. Thanks for the prompt! Let's just see what I can write about it. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeaaaah!! I'll be waiting on it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wag mo po kami ibabagsak sa assignment ah.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah hindi yaan. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha nux. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay namaaaaan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is the life. We don't know what is on the other side of the door. If we do know, it would be boring. Nice prompt by the way. Thinking to write on this 🤔

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Niiice! I'll definitely be looking forward to that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahah! Nakooo buti na lang sanay na ako sa elevator na bumabagsak. Hahaha nasanay sa alimak. Pero ayun, minsan, matuto daw maghintay, wag magmadali. Hahaha. 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha nagmamadali kasi eh. Alimall ba yan?? Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Alimak yung yung mga improvised na elevator sa construction 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aaahh hahah akala ko lugar tlga ahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago