Learn, Communicate, Understand, and Coexist

4 27
Avatar for keeneek
1 year ago

In my previous article, I talked about how irritated I was with the OK reaction I've been receiving. Two days after I wrote and posted it, I informed her that we will meet once she is done with the task I gave her.

Fast forward...

Because of the meeting with her, I finally understand why she's like that. I listened and let her speak out for herself. We talked a lot, but these things made me realize to accept her way of response.

Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Do not pressure yourself too much.

She doesn't like asking questions because she knows she is capable. It has been more than a month since she was transferred and she expects to learn the basics by heart already. She even added she thinks highly of herself which is why whenever I gave her a task and set of instructions, she gives an OK reaction and tries to understand everything on her own.

In my opinion, that is good - no spoon-feeding and try to figure out things first. However, if an hour or more has passed and you didn't still get the instructions or there's still a missing piece, it's not a sin to ask questions to your supervisor or team leader for clarification.

I always remember my team leader who would say out of nowhere, "Caryl, you didn't ask. I'm worried." When I was just starting, I've been bombarding him with questions, researching on my own then asking him for a go signal. My usual question format is to relay the instructions based on my understanding with a sentence ender, "Am I right?". I decided to share this with her hoping she would do the same.

Image by Yolk CoWorking - Krakow on Unsplash

Learn how to communicate even when under pressure.

She doesn't like her subordinates, especially the newbies, to ask questions of her when she's doing her task, so her status in the company messaging app was always DO NOT DISTURB.

Hearing her say that caught me off-guard. I am not sure, but the way she talks felt like she didn't understand why she was reprimanded by her previous supervisor. But who knows, it was just based on my observation. Well, it's normal we don't like to be disturbed when our plate is full and under pressure, but it's weird to be like that all the time given that we are assigned to lead people. She was an Assistant Manager at that time.

I let her express her side, and when it was my turn, I told her I understand her and also her previous supervisor. I then added that if the time will come she will be in my position, no matter how busy she will be, if someone pings at her, she should respond as soon as possible. Everyone, even the CEO, will message her if she takes over my position, so DO NOT DISTURB is never an option.

Also, I added that I understood why she likes to react with emojis because, in the first place, she doesn't like to be asked during busy days. So I told her, I really appreciate it if she starts asking questions, if necessary.


Photo by Marten Bjork on Unsplash

After our call, I was somehow flabbergasted by how she works. I shared it with Antoni and my friend who is a supervisor. I wanted to know their side and both of them told me it's hard to make her change since she's in her late 30s. I'm trying to coexist with her even though I get irritated with the OK emoji.

What I'm planning to do right now?

  • If she leaves a message in a narrative form, I will not reply so I will not be receiving an OK emoji.

  • If she asks, I'll answer even if I'll receive an OK emoji. But if the answer is a YES, I'll just react with a Check emoji. Hehe, just kidding.

Okay, okay.

"Do not do to others what you do not want others to do unto you." Hehe

Anyway, she dropped info wherein she mentioned she was promoted to Assistant Manager, and it makes me bitter again. My salary was times two of my previous team leader. Even if I'm her team lead, there's a possibility we share the same salary. Why? Because I once heard it from the PH Director while she was trying to scout my friend who's an engineer with BPO experience.

Honestly, it makes me think maybe I'm not worth it with this position because I am not a Computer Science graduate just like my previous team lead. I don't know. But one thing I'm sure of, I will continue to build my skills and start arranging my GitHub profile.

I'm getting ambitious lately - I will do my best in the morning and hone my skills in the evening.


Previous articles:


Bisaya • Books • Art • Poem • Anime • Travel • Food • Dogs

Connect with me: Noise • Hive • Twitter • Instagram • Goodreads • APPICS: kneelyrac

5
$ 0.14
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.02 from @Kelzy
$ 0.02 from @Jijisaur
Sponsors of keeneek
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for keeneek
1 year ago

Comments

Kinda weird that she does not like to be disturbed. Communication is essential especially when working as a team. Ugh, I still do not like that OK emoji, lalo na sa workplace talaga. Nasabi ko na ata to the last time. I do hope naman na magchange yung attitude niya towards her coworkers. Hello, hindi lang siya tao sa mundo haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Natawa ako sa last sentence. hahaha Totoo, Ji. First time ko nakaencounter na may tao pala na ganito. Tapos parang di pa niya gets bakit napagalitan siya before and sinabihan "Daig mo pa yung CEO natin na nagrereply." So parang mahirap na mabago siya kaya I decided ako nalang talaga ang mag-aadjust for her. I already shared with her my side, and I'm very honest pagdating sa evaluation talaga. It's up to her na talaga.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I kinda see myself in her. Hindi rin ako palatanong kapag may task na binibigay sakin so I'll figure it out on my own kaya the pressure is really in there. But in your side I somehow realized na di rin pala maganda yung ganon di nakikipag communicate.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Okay naman if hindi nagtatanong lalo na understandable ang instructions. Maganda naman pag minimal ung supervision, such that dapat tama talaga pagkakaintindi sa task. Essential kasi ang communication sa work. Ako rin naman tinatry ko rin ifigure out muna, tapos tinatanong ko if tama ba or hindi. O di kaya if di ko talaga magets, tinatanong ko agad. Di ko pinapaabot ng isang oras mahigit talaga para save time. Problema kasi sa kanya, Zy, bago palang kasi siya sa team and bago sa kanya ang lahat. Most of the time gabi ko binibigay ang task para kita kinaumagahan. Pero OK emoji lang sa umaga natatanggap ko tapos mga hapon na minsan pag malapit na ang 4 or 5 PM, tsaka pa nagtatanong. Nasayang ang oras. Yung ganon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago