Tuob- a traditional healing method that saved my daughter!

14 15
Avatar for jasglaybam
2 years ago

November 12, 2021

11.11 has passed, I wasn't "budolized" by either Shopee or Lazada because my kids already did. Hopefully, your budol went well, my lodi friends.

Last Monday, my family and I went out for a walk. I got a little bit of a headache and the weather was perfect so I thought it'd be a good time to take a break.
I bought some goodies for everyone, Bam said, "Mommy I'm hungry!". So I gave her ice cream, my gut told me to not do it but I eventually did. Bam experienced discomfort that night and she vomited the following morning. She was still able to eat during breakfast but suddenly her body started to reject the water and the food. We suspected that her eyes might be the problem due to prolonged gadget exposure. She got vomiting, headache, dizziness, and light sensitivity.


I chatted with my Optometrist Aunt and she said that it's astigmatism. Bam has to go to an optical clinic. But it might also be stomach flu because of the symptoms. I had experienced it multiple times already. My nurse friend thought it might be Covid or rabies because of photophobia/light sensitivity. Good thing Bam said that she wasn't bitten by our dogs. She only had a low degree fever for an hour and it went away. We couldn't tell which is which. And Jas and I thought she might be "naengkanto" or bewitched because she pointed at an abandoned house in a forest. I also thought my Mama is reminding me of her 40th day by giving Bam sickness...So much of a superstitious belief but we never know. And I was worried because she might be already dehydrated. I gave her first aid, warm water with sugar, and salt. Then we let her drink Pedialyte and Gatorade.


But my gut has been telling me to do what my mom used to do to me when I was a kid- the "toub" or whole body steam using the food that made me sick. In Bam's case, the rocky road ice cream. I did steam Bam twice already but it wasn't effective, perhaps I had to really add the rocky road.


You know my friends, I am the only one with an income for now aside from my sis-in-law so I didn't want to exhaust all our resources by withdrawing Bam's little savings. But Bam's health matters so I was thinking of consulting the pedia before the matter gets worst. I wanted to do the rocky road "tuob" though before the pedia intervenes.


So I prepared the steam that contains the rocky road ice cream with a little bit of a "bahaw" or leftover rice. I boiled the mixture and brought it to Bam's room. She went inside her "malong" or Maranao blanket with the cauldron of the boiled mixture. I took a small portion of it and let Bam eat it, she wanted to finish everything because it smelled and tasted delicious. She had sweat after the whole body steam.


The next morning (the 3rd day), she came down for breakfast and said that she feels a lot better. We let her eat bread first and miraculously her tummy wasn't aching anymore. She was also back to being talkative. And then she rode her bike given by our good neighbor, Tita Lot. She didn't have head and eye aches, nausea, and vomiting anymore. She practiced biking outside in the afternoon. I am so happy because we canceled our appointment with the pedia. And I've learned my lesson.


So parents whenever your child is hungry:

  • Never give her junk food or cold food and drinks. It will upset, stress, or traumatize the stomach.

  • In case of stomach discomfort/stress or "pasma", remember the food your child ate within the last 12 hours. It helps in determining the cause of sickness.

  • Have a presence of mind: apply first aid when needed.

  • Keep your child hydrated.

Bam actually asked why I steam her with the rocky road. And my elders weren't able to shed some light about it, but I've realized:

The stomach was traumatized with the food so it went into a flight or fight mode rejecting whatever intake it's given. It sees everything as a threat so the culprit (food that caused the stress) has to be reintroduced to the body. It was steamed and the sick person has to inhale it and a small portion should be eaten so the brain could give a signal to the tummy that it's alright to eat it. The stomach then settles.

Though this method worked for us, I couldn't guarantee it will work for everyone. I would suggest that you can try doing this as long as your child doesn't have a high fever, not vomiting, and having diarrhea at the same time because that's a completely different case. Remember as well that for stomach pain, the BRAT diet (Banana, rice, applesauce, toast) should be followed. Alternatives can be chicken broth or rice porridge.

Please consult a doctor immediately. I also didn't give any medicine to Bam except the Paracetamol for her headache, which is completely safe.

Do you my friend believe in traditional medicine or way of healing? Or have you experienced the steam or "tuob", what was your sickness? I'll be glad to read your comments!

To my sponsors old and new: thank you very much again, I owe you one! 🙏🙏

Please do visit my sponsors' profiles. You will definitely be inspired.

All your likes, subscriptions, and upvotes are greatly appreciated ❤️❤️❤️

Cheers to a great weekend mate!

©Ngotngot, the fyrfinex 🔥🐦

The lead image was from Unsplash.com

 


8
$ 2.43
$ 2.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.05 from @CoquiCoin
+ 5
Sponsors of jasglaybam
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for jasglaybam
2 years ago

Comments

Naniniwala rin ako sa ganyan, tulad ng kapag nabari. Iboiled ang suot na damit kung kelan siya binati or mag kotra bati.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is good that he recovered completely, home remedies work if they are well administered, you have to know what kind of food may be causing these problems of poor digestion.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh dear, didn’t know about her condition. Good to know that she is all ok now.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah cousin she fell ill because I gave her an ice cream when she was hungry.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mabuti naman sis na okay na anak mo, mahirap talaga pag magkakasakit ang anak lalo na this time, kaya home remedies na muna at kung di na punta na sa doctor.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Salamat sa Dios sis at tumalab kamo..Kundi baka kung ano anong tests na naman papagawa ng doctor hayy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good thing your daughter felt better with home remedies, which fortunately sometimes work. It has happened to me on some occasions, that stomach discomfort and it is what I call a digestion cut, it is quite unpleasant and gives nausea, dizziness and headache.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, I guess that is what it is called my friend. And I am happy that my mama's healing method worked on her.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Talaga sis? Now lang ako nakarinig or nakabasa na nagamot ng tuob ang sakit ng tiyan..or baka dahil walang nag aattempt na gawin yun or rare rather ang nagtutuob para sa sakit ng tyan...galing naman.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Napasma yung tyan nya sis dahil kumain ng malamig nang gutom. Ginagawa naming mga Bisaya yan :) Di lang nauso dito.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ahhh kaya pala sis..ou dito ginagawa yan sa bagong panganak lang saka sa may COVID hehehe...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe it is super helpful sis :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Loving parents take their children's illnesses hard. During a cold or flu, even adults tend to be cranky, so what about small children?! Well done! In spite of the anxiety and worry, you had composure. May your little miracle be healthy))

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you my friend, she is fine now she is already riding her bike :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago