The perks and pains of living near relatives!

24 28
Avatar for jasglaybam
2 years ago

Hola, my dear read friends. It's so cold that I feel feverish.

I just heard the news from my elder sister when I talked to her last night that I have Covid. This is the latest gossip in Iligan City while I am here in Caloocan.

Wow! I never thought I got the virus, perhaps they took the antigen test on my behalf.


Chismis or gossip spread faster in the province than in the city. It is one of the reasons why I didn't want to back to Iligan specifically Kiwalan. Why? Majority in my purok (a small unit in a barangay) are my relatives.

I don't disagree if people live near their relatives, especially those who grew up on close family ties but it's just so freaking crazy when they talk about other people's lives lol.


If you live near your relatives or your clan:

  • You know where to go during emergencies

    This is what I love being near my relatives, I can go to them whenever there are emergencies. Not everyone will help but those who will go all the way. Like when my mama died, my father's family helped us out despite their break-up. They gave us all the financial aid that we needed so we could move on ASAP.

  • You can get food and snacks for free

    Yup, when you got to your close relatives, their doors are always open. Some people abuse this kindness. I do see our neighbors living in one of my relatives. I guess they return the favor by doing errands.

  • You also become famous

    When you have a celebrity relative, you are famous as well. If your cousin passed an exam or became a top-notcher, you can claim him or her as a cousin or something.

  • Lots of friends to play and hang out with

    If you and your cousins grew up together, you don't have to find other friends and playmates than them. Just like what happened to me, I was my cousins' only playmate when we were kids because they weren't allowed to go out. But I got my other cousins as my "barkadas" or peers and we had a lot of fun together.

Intermission number. Ladies and gentlemen: here are my wonderful sponsors who definitely would touch your soul once you read their articles:

Sponsors of jasglaybam
empty
empty
empty

And believe me, they are the luckiest people I know, you will be lucky too once you get to know them.

The pains of living near relatives:

  • News spread like a virus and inaccurate like the ballot counts

    Just like what happened to me, my gosh. I couldn't move on lol. And I do think they thought I am rich because they saw my posts containing pictures of the in-law's house and cars lol. They just don't know. Pictures could be deceiving.

  • Everyone is your relative if you are famous

    When the gossips spread that I would graduate as a cum laude, I became famous. The grandma that didn't like me hugged me in front of the crowd and I met a lot of uncles and aunties lol.

  • It is hard to make mistakes

    If you live near your clan, you would be damned if you make mistakes. They will make you feel like you are a saint and you should be perfect. It's like stepping on eggshells. They'd laugh at you and shame you if your mistake ruins your name.

  • Expectations are high, competitions are tough

    My cousins and I compete on who will graduate with honors that's why their parents envied me when I had several awards during high school and college. But now they realized that the real competition in life is when one has a stable career that pays well. And I know they are happier now because I don't have that but my cousins do. They are now abroad and are living their lives to the fullest. I am happy for them though. And I know that they are disappointed in me at some point and happy that I am not as rich as them lol. I don't know maybe I am just imagining things.

Family is family, that is what they say. In blood or water, a family stays together no matter what. I say not everyone.

Do you love living near your relatives my friends, why and why not? Share your thoughts below and let's chat about it!

And I hope that everyone is taking care of themselves. It's so difficult to get sick these days. Make yourself warm, drink hot chocolate.

Love,

Glessa

The lead image was from Unsplash.com
The rest of the content is mine unless stated otherwise
January 16, 2021



 


11
$ 2.01
$ 1.72 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Eylz2021
$ 0.05 from @Ling01
+ 7
Sponsors of jasglaybam
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for jasglaybam
2 years ago

Comments

Something I have always hated are the comparisons and competitions between who is better, if anything we are all better, each one in his own style. Some will achieve greater success, that does not mean that the others are useless, we all have different goals, what should prevail is mutual support.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't like to stay near to my relatives although mabubuti naman sila sa amin but nakikita ko na madalas di maganda pag nasa malapit lang yung relatives lalo na pag isang lote, world war III as always, damay-damay lahat haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hmm same sa amin sis..Yung mga kapatid ng tatay ko pinagiinitan yung lote namin gusto ibenta.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nku sus saklap pag famous ka ksi lgi sila updated. Hirap tlga pg nasa prbnsya ka lahat na lng mga marites lalo na ang relatives but not all din. Bisaya ka sis?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Maraming Marites sis, sinabi mo pa. Yes sis, Bisaya ako :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes tma ka sis. Dghn jud diay ta mga bisdak dri ba.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not all relatives are bad. But I prefer to stay away from toxic relatives.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

And sadly we had lots hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As for me I experienced living in one roof with 4 of my father's siblings and their family, that time I was 9 its a bit crowded and I don't like it when my dad died we moved here in davao and we also live in my grandma's house with my mother's sister and 2 kids and also I don't like it especially when growing up the family is prone to favoritism, competition and comparison and I hate that. Luckly my mother is always in the middle she just let us be and teach us to stand on our own kung hangang saan mo kaya at san ka masaya gawin mo. Sometimes may pakinabang din ang relatives pero minsan sila din ang sumisira witch is dapat di ganon kaya swerte yung ma belong sa family na stayed together and live together yung walang kumpitensya yung happy sila sa kahit ano mang narating natin sa buhay. Hala ang taas na ng comment ko😅😜 have a nice day.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I agree sis at I don't like favoritism as well. Hehe okay lang na mataas ang comment, thanks for sharing. Have a nice day!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have always said and will always say-young family with in-laws are just not allowed to live together. Only separately!!!!!They will pry into your life in any case!!! Life life!!!!!Related in-laws is a cage. A golden cage!!!! Spread your wings and fly into your own life!!!!!(Related)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I do wish to live separately sis but we cannot for now. I agree with everything you have said.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes I enjoy being with my relatives because of the love and joy that we use to bring to life. But most of the times I prefer to stay away because they just talk too much, lol.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The talking much is the culprit hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha ganun naman talaga sis.. lahat may pros and cons... nasa saatin na nga lang paano natin dadalahin... and yes i grew up in a compound na lahat kami relatives.. masaya na na minsan nakakatawa pero in the end masaya pa din :) pero there are times na gusto ko din umalis hahahahaah

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Masaya talaga sis lalo na pag may okasyon hehe :) Ang issue lang minsan ang chismis sa amin kasi parang sobra na pero it's fine with me kasi nasa malayo naman ako ngayon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

siguro kasi nde kami ganun kadami kaya nde kami machismis tapos halos lahat busy sa work kaya bihira magkita kita

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Atleast busy sis, minsan sa probinsya chismis ang inaatupag kasi walang work hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May advantage at disadvantages talaga ate

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oo nga bunso, ang chismis ang nagdala lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are good and bad sides to everything, but yes I think the advantage is greater because I myself live among such relatives.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, my dear, I agree. The love and support from the family is one of the best advantages.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Expectations are always too high and that's the major problem.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That it true, especially if you grew up with good academic standing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago