Living a Single Life - Random Realization

19 52
Avatar for itsmeCguro
2 years ago

Imagine this scenario: you are 60 years old, living a healthy lifestyle but have no husband/wife, no children, only younger siblings who have their own families. You can do whatever you want to do because you don't have duties, no obligations or responsibilities. You are living with your sister, who, among your siblings, is unmarried or single as well.

Would you live like this?


I already posted about my Uncle L, my mother's older brother. He was once married but his wife died several years ago, and that's the reason why he's living with my Aunt B, my mother's older sister, who's single as well.

Last two weeks, my mom and her siblings accompanied Uncle L to the hospital for laboratory tests because the doctor's first diagnosis is stroke and that my Uncle L needs further tests to make sure if his brain's okay or not since he's been forgetting a lot of things recently.

When the lab results were out, especially the MRI result, I immediately searched for some terms. I know I shouldn't rely on the results from the internet but I wanted to know the meaning of the medical terms used in the result.

His MRI shows that he has brain tumor and that it is swelling. I don't really know about it much because that's based from what I've researched. We scheduled another appointment to the doctor but unfortunately, the doctor and the hospital haven't been responding for 2 days already.

My Aunt J and Aunt E look after my Uncle L. Then one night, they called my mom to inform us that Uncle L's condition is not that good. He cannot swallow the food already, he can't even sit properly, he can't even step his foot to walk. He keeps on saying that his whole body hurts and that he's tired and hungry. When he sits, he always lean on the right side until he almost fell down the chair. Worried, they suggested that they should let my Uncle L be confined in the hospital.

That night, my mom couldn't sleep, thinking of what to do - if they should take action already or if they should wait until early in the morning.

Fast forward, my Uncle L was admitted in the hospital. It turned out that my researched terms are correct, he has a cyst in his brain and that his brain is swelling because of it. We were informed as well that his oxygen level is low. Thank God we were able to admit him in the hospital that morning.

Since we're still in the middle of a pandemic, visitors are not allowed in the hospital. Only 1 is allowed and when you enter the vicinity with negative swab result, you are not allowed to go outside. Meaning, you'll stay there with the patient.

My mom and her other siblings all have their own responsibilities, they have their own families to look after. Now, they're all stressed out because they don't know who will be the one to look after my Uncle L inside the hospital, someone who will stay there all throughout until he recovers and go home.

The thought made me sad. Uncle L was there in the hospital for a day already, with no one beside him. He must have seen some patients with their guardians, and he must've thought why no one's beside him, to take care of him. Tears run down my face. He might have been wondering if he was abandoned by his siblings, his family, already.

I helped my mom and my other aunts to come up with a plan, of who will take care of Uncle L while he's recovering. Suddenly, the hospital called and said that they're moving Uncle L to the ICU. Panicking, my Aunt J hurriedly go to the hospital to know what's happening. Luckily, nothing bad happened. He was being moved to the ICU to carefully monitor his brain and his blood pressure, and that means that no one is allowed to visit him. The doctor said that he will contact us to deliver updates regarding Uncle L.


With what's happening to Uncle L, it made me think of what would happen if I'll live single for the rest of my life.

Who will take care of me if I got sick when I get old? Who will stay by my side? Seeing how worried, stressed, and sleep deprived my mom and her siblings are, it's difficult.

Have you ever thought of this before?


If ever you have time, kindly pray for my Uncle L's recovery. We are still waiting for the swelling to be gone for them to operate and test the cyst, whether it is benign or not. Hoping for good news.

Thanks a lot. It means a lot to me.

March 7, 2022

Thanking ate @yhanne for the sponsorship ❤️❤️❤️

14
$ 2.79
$ 2.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pichi28
$ 0.05 from @Usagi
+ 6
Sponsors of itsmeCguro
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for itsmeCguro
2 years ago

Comments

It's included in my prayers now C. Hope he recovers quickly. Napaisip din ako ah. Hehe. Paano nga kaya kung single lang ako. Hay buhay. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Praying for fast recovery of your uncle.

Ah.. being single and HEALTHY yes i imagine i can live like that although I don't like the picture of getting sick and putting my siblings in a position where they need to think about who gets go take care of me...

I hope there is some place where old single people can "check in" themselves and be taken care of ..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I appreciate it sis. Maybe there is? But I don't know if meron dito sa Pinas.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

our God is a healing God, I am sure 100% the Jesus will cure your uncle. The Jesus our healer will heal your uncle. It must be hard for you but be strong for your uncle. In time Jesus will heal him.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I appreciate this, sis. I will ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Prayer is the powerful weapon sis, pray lang magiging ok din yan lahat, by the way, nice to meet you sis, new lang po dito.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I believe in that too 🙏🏻 pray talaga. Hello, welcome to read! Thanks for dropping by ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Prayers for your uncle ate. Nalungkot ako bigla. Ganyan din kasi nanagyare sa mommy tita ko. Wala siyang asawa pati mga anak. nag aabroad lang sya para sa parents niya saka samin mga pamangkin niya. noong umuwi siya dito di na sya nakabalik dahil may breast cancer. na admit sya dito sa bahay ilang months and then dito na din nabawian ng buhay. naaawa ako kaso that time, ayaw din sya bantayan ng mother niya kasi di da kaya makitang ganun itsura ng tita ko, nakakatakot daw at parang skeleton na lang talaga. Ako naman maliit pa that time kaya di ko din siya nasisislip.

Sa kwento mo bigla ko siyang naaalala ate, what if ganun din iniisip nya years ago tapos pinili na lang nyang mamaatay kasi parang naawa na din sya sa sarili niya.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ayan din ang iniisip niya, kaya lalo naiiyak sila mama kasi naaawa si uncle L sa sarili niya huhu kawawa naman talaga pag mag isa 😢

$ 0.00
2 years ago

lalo tuloy akong nalungkot for him ate. kamusta naman daw siya today? may nagbabantay na ba?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Get well soon to your Uncle L. I also thought of this one, if I decided to be single, who will take care of me when Im old? But you know what, if I were destined to find someone who will be my partner until I get old then lucky for me, but if not, then I have no choice but to accept it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yup, like my Uncle L, he didn't sign up to be left behind by his wife but it was his fate. He didn't bother to find someone to love because his love for her is too great to be replaced.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are pros and cons in living alone. But the bad part there is when you really need help and no one is there to help you. I am wishing all the best, sis.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Right! Sad lang talaga kasi somehow, parang it all boils down to this. Thank u Jijisaur!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

WoW I am one of those who loves loneliness but seeing from your point of view it must be really difficult to live alone in those circumstances

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It really is. I value solitude too and this makes me think twice hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am praying for your uncle L quick recovery. Kapit lang sis.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I thought of it before when mama always mentioned that she's been thinking of among all of us siblings, who will take care of her once she gets old if all of us are married? I said that I will never let her be in someones care like in home for the aged because I will take care of her no matter what but I'd still choose have my own family someday. Praying for uncle L.🙏

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We can't blame our parents for thinking that way hehe. That's a good choice. I appreciate it, Shyryl.

$ 0.00
2 years ago