3 Dating Apps I Used While Traveling

21 56
Avatar for itravelRox
1 year ago

This blog post is inspired by other writers who shared their AFAM stories: @alicecalope @bmjc98 @Eirolfeam2

Whoever will read this article, please leave your comments below and join the AFAM journey/stories on your blog.

What AFAM stands for?

AFAM stands for A Foreigner Arrived in Manila. It is a slang term made by the people in Manila since a lot of foreigners arrived in the capital for business purposes. AFAM is not a proper Tagalog or Filipino word. The Filipino word for foreigner is DAYUHAN.

Reminds me that farang, according to Thai people, uses a term for Europeans and other foreigners arriving in Thailand.

And gaijin, according to Japanese people, uses a term for foreigners as well.

That's so cute how they call foreigners in different languages.

When did I start searching for AFAM?

I was in a 6-year relationship with a Filipino and we broke up in 2013. I wrote a blog about it:

I broke up with my boyfriend of 6 years

I was so bored doing my online job when I decided to create a dating app in 2014.

Is it possible to find your special someone on a dating app?

Yes, definitely! I met my husband on a dating app while traveling:

Happy 4th Meetup Anniversary in Phuket, Thailand!

Is it easy to find AFAMs on a dating app?

If you asked me, yes, it's easy to find foreigners on dating apps. You can chat with many foreign guys all at the same time. But it took me years to find my special someone using a dating app.

How many years did I use dating apps?

I used dating apps since 2014 and found my special someone in 2018. So, I used dating apps for 4 years.

How did I know I will end up getting married to a foreign guy?

Nobody knows. It's just that I kept on traveling when I was single. Meeting and dating as well. Until I found my husband who is willing to be in a committed relationship.

My friends were telling me and hoping that I should end up with a foreign guy. When I updated my Facebook that finally, I was in a relationship. I got several LIKES. LOL.

What is the reason I dated a foreign guy?

Well, after I ended the relationship with a Filipino guy, I never dated any Pinoy guys after that. I was thinking that I was ready to be an old maid so I created this article:

Before I met my husband, I was ready to be an old-maid

And I felt that no Filipino guys were attracted to me just because I am not their type. So, I was trying my luck to date foreign guys. Yep, I dated many of them from different nationalities.

What are the 3 Dating Apps I Used While Traveling?

OkCupid

I was bored in 2014 when I downloaded a dating app called OkCupid. I completed my profiles with long-form essays. I wrote my interest in photography, travel, and adventures.

I matched a Romanian guy who lives in Denmark. We never met in person and it was my first heartbreak online. I will share this story soon on the blog. We talked every day for 3 months.

I matched another guy from the US. He is a photographer. We switched to WeChat. We actually met in Japan for the first time and met for the second time during the autumn season. I liked him but he had a girlfriend. LOL

Another guy from the US I matched as well. He is a nurse. He was divorced from a Filipina ex-wife. We met in Thailand. I thought it was fine to be with a divorced guy, but I say a BIG NO.

I lost access to OkCupid and never got the chance to recover my account.

Badoo

When I was heartbroken with a Romanian guy I never met, I switched to Badoo since I lost access to OkCupid.

I met a French guy who was in Cebu. He is a scuba diver. He came from Moalboal and decided to meet me in my hometown. It was our first time meeting that night and he booked us a flight to Palawan the next day. So, I went home and packed my luggage to fly to Palawan the next day. Hahaha!

I was crazy because I cried many times from the Romanian guy so going to Palawan was a sweet distraction.

Tinder

Oh, I have so many Tinderella stories using Tinder. It's a hit-and-miss using this app. But I've met so many people using Tinder. It is easy to meet people while traveling. Some of them became friends, and travel buddies, and the others were just good memories.

Do you want more AFAM dating tips?

Well, you leave your questions in the comments below and I'll try my best to answer if you want AFAM dating tips from me. Hahaha!

7
$ 0.83
$ 0.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.05 from @bmjc98
+ 3
Sponsors of itravelRox
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for itravelRox
1 year ago

Comments

Hey, buddy. I know how to help you. If you're having trouble with girls and don't know how to change that, the best solution you can do is to start using dating sites. Just start with Japanese-American matchmaking and you will get all the information you need to have a successful dating experience. I am sure you will find it useful.

$ 0.00
2 weeks ago

HAHA. That AFAM story. Seems like I need forever to find one. LOL. Joke lang.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

keep on swiping ra jud ta haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also added you, here I am. Too late for me on dating app tips but enjoyed the read :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

haha thanks for the add. my dating app tips were so long ago but hoping it will be useful for other women or men. :)

$ 0.01
1 year ago

No problem when I was dating they didn't even have apps 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

haha yes those dating apps i started using 8 years ago. that was so long time ago for me. i feel so old. lol

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I met a few relationships using American Online AOL. I bet you haven't heard of that. It was one of the first online chatting methods in the states.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

oh, i heard AOL but no access to it... when i was younger, we used MIRC and yahoo chat hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha I remember yahoo messenger

$ 0.00
1 year ago

and now it's gone

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Now ko Lang nalaman sis ang meaning ng afam, he heheh, apaka late ko about that. Madaming mga pinay na nag huhunt ng afam ngayon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

haha yes yon tlaaga meaning ng afam

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wala alo luck sa dating site...madali mabored kya nkakachat ko iniiwan ko 😂..iba din kc time..umaga dto, gabo dun lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

oo, wala din talaga ako luck sa dating site pag puro chat lang talaga. that happened with my first match sa okcupid dahil nakahanap na syang ibang pinay sa country nya. saklap. sa HK ba madami naman afam dyan?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

First time ko maencounter yun word na gaijin sa book na nabasa ko :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

sa japan ko lang din nalaman yong gaijin hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nakagamit sad ko ug Badoo sis. Kani laging mangita tag afam bisan unsa nga dating app nalang jud ang apilan bah

$ 0.00
1 year ago

haha lage bored kaayo akong life sauna kay naa ra gud permi sa balay...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Naa pud koy nauyab tungod sa boredom pero nameet nako in person ug na engage ko niya

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ay o kabasa ko ato. sayang lang jud wa mo magkadayon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago