Look around you!

16 55

TikTok has been consuming my time recently and I must say that the time I spent in there are not totally worthless. TikTok is a great avenue for learning, there were a lot of educators in there sharing information through a short, creative and interactive way and for me, those are really effective.

And if you also watch TikTok videos on a daily basis, we might follow different users, we might have different interests, and we might have different types of contents that we see on our FYP or for you page, I think there's a high chance that you're also seeing the current issues right now. And no, I am not pertaining to the gossips TikTok has right now but about the things which I think matters.

There are three important things, or current issues that are bothering me right now and those are the incoming May 2022 election, history, and lastly and most importantly, our environment.

May 2022 Election

Before, I honestly do not pay attention that much on this matter. I do not make my own research and my perspective was solely based on my family's view. Partly, maybe it was because that I am still not a registered voter before and with the thinking that at the end of the day, whoever that is meant to win will win and what I can only do is to accept that and respect that candidate.

But this incoming election has truly made a huge impact for me. This will be the first time that I am voting and I became more aware of what my one vote can hold so much power. This is the first time that I will be voting and I am craving for a change, for a progress, and I know that my vote, even if it is only one will make a difference and I do not want it to go to waste. I do not want to cast a vote on the wrong person, I do not want to improperly use this privilege therefore I did what I could do. I did research, I based on facts, and now, I know that whoever I am going to vote is worthy of it.

I also just want to use this opportunity to tell everyone to start caring about it. Yes, it is true that at the end of the day, at the end of this election, there has to be a winner and we have to respect that. But do not give up until it actually happens. We still have time. Know the worth of your vote, know how much power it holds and please, use it wisely. If you can do DYOR on crypto, also do that on checking on the candidates whom you will entrust our country for six years. Always do fact check, open your minds for the truth and never let yourself be a victim of misinformation.

Its high time that we should care. Be hungry for change! We deserve a change so please, be wise in choosing who are you going to vote. Do not settle for less and may you have an enough basis why you are voting for that specific candidate.

Vote wisely!

History

This one is none other than about the PBB History Quiz Bee that happened recently. This is so hype up on TikTok right now and I do agree that this is kind of alarming.

Here are some of the questions on the said quiz bee:

*Summer capital of the Philippines

Their answer: Intramuros

Right answer: Baguio City

*Nickname of Dr. Jose Rizal

Their answer: JRizal

Right answer: Pepe

*The three Filipino Catholic priests

Their answer: MaJoHa

Right answer: Gomburza

*Longest bridge in the Philippines

Their answer: SLEX

Right answer: San Juanico Bridge

*Nickname of Melchora Aquino

Their answer: Ninoy Aquino

Right answer: Tandang Sora

*Nickname of Gregorio del Pilar

Their answer: -----

Right answer: Goyo

That quiz bee is part of the history taught even on elementary schools and it is just saddening how they didn't know any of it.

That quiz bee became trending on TikTok causing many users in asking those questions too on their siblings, cousins and other family members and again, it is really saddening that most of them didn't get the correct answer either. On the other hand, that also caused other content creator to spread information about history, specifically, about the history of all the questions that were asked on the quiz bee.

We cannot deny that history made a huge contribution on what we are and who we are on the present. I don't even know who's at fault here. It is our education system or the generations of today? Either way, I hope that it must be implied to students, as early as possible, about how important history is.

We must never forget history and may the happenings of the past be a lesson and a guide to all of us to be better on the present and until the future.

#LetTheEarthBreathe

As far as I know, this is a recent issue and I only became are to this tonight. I watched a video of some scientists being arrested for protesting about climate change.

Most on my FYP right now are different influencers advocating and standing with those scientists. Current trend right now is that very hashtag saying that we should let the earth rest.

Again, it is high time to care and to look around you. Start caring for the environment. Know that your small action counts. One thing that you could do is to get rid of those unwanted emails. Before I type this, I just spent few minutes deleting thousands of emails on all of my accounts and maybe, you could start from there too.

I don't know what awaits us in the future. Nothing is certain when it comes to future happenings. But focus on now. Focus on today. Do what you can do and know that it could make a difference.


Let us start caring for everything around us. Maybe we think that it doesn't affect us that's why we shouldn't concern ourselves about it but no, you're wrong. It may be indirectly but still, it affects us.

So please, look around you! Show that you care and do your part as citizens of this country and of this world.

:)

12
$ 8.97
$ 8.65 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @mommykim
$ 0.05 from @kingofreview
+ 8
Sponsors of immaryandmerry
empty
empty
empty

Comments

I don't do Tiktok only those that are posted in fb. I did come across the PBB post but that is not the whole picture of it I believe. Of course they just focused on the negative part. Honestly, I don't remember most of that I learned back then although history used to be my fave subject. We have to ask ourselves do we know everything? Even those that we think are basic ones.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I had been consuming tiktok lately and what you have noticed is true. Nag start yung kay Marylite nung pinakita ang picture ni Rizal and she asked "Tiktoker ba to" and we all facepalmed.

Maybe the focus of the young ones in this time ay di na gaya ng focus natin into others pero medyo out of scope na minsan eh.

I still believe in this generation kasi nandito parin tayo to guide them and also somehow learn from them din para we can bridge the gaps.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Natawa ako nung nakita ko sa Tiktok about dun sa Q & A nila sa pbb, yet alarming sya, mismong pinoy di nakakaalam, although basic sya in history.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah. It's funny pero very alarming. Lalo ang dami pala di nakakaalan. Understandable naman kahit hindi perfect kaso ang lala ng sagot e

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kaya dapat talagang mas ipagtulakan ng gobyerno ang pag-aaral ng history eh. Wala tayo ngayon dito kung hindi nangyari ang mga bagay sa nakaraan. Although past na kailangan pa rin natin siyang malaman sapagkat karugtong siya ng kasalukuyan

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yup!! May history na pag elem pero feeling ko di gaano nabibigyan importance e. Nitong college ko nga lang din talaga mas naappreciate yung history e

$ 0.00
1 year ago

dami talaga nating natutunan din sa tiktok...dati nga yung tinitingnan ko sa tiktok dance trends and funny moments pero ngayon more on the information side ako

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dami dami mga dance na nauuso, well, madami pa din naman. Baka mas nakikita lang natin mga educators haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Trending na trending yang taha PBB ns yaan ee. Pero sa totoo lang diko na rin sila tanda 🙈. Kulanh nalang pati name ko kalimutan ko sa sobrang pagkakalimutin ko aguy. Anyways, as for the voting. I know namam na mahalaga ang bawat boto natin. Pero wala talaga akong time para isa isahin if sino sa kanila ang deserving 😅. And hoyyyy nakita ko din yang naaresto na mga scientist. Bat niaresto ee for the earth naman yung ginagawa nila. Binibgyan lang ng babala ung iba kung anong dapat gawin, etc 🥲

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nako ate rupa is guilty ahahahaha chour. Si ano nalang iboto mo ate, madami resibo hahahahaha.

Tapos about sa scientists, as much as possible, they want do dimiss that kasi they are protecting big industries na grabe din yung waste. Tsk tsk. Grabe talaga

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Huehue guilty na ngaaaa haha.

Yun na nga ee, sana naman Earth muna bago peravmy gosh naman kasi ee

$ 0.00
1 year ago

HAHAHAHAHAHA nako mga emails niyo, magstart na magbura. Saka iwasan plastic, bagay man o tao hshahaha chour

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Akonrin di nakapqniwala sa mga sagot nila, I mean ako nga alam na alqm ko pa mga tanungan saka sagot, nababasa ko rin kasi sa story na binabasa ko mga characters nila kaya pabalik-balik sa isip ko. Sana, kahit un nalang tandaan nila.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Diba hahaha. Kahit di naman perfect score pero may nasagot man lamang sila kaloka hahahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My dad has been telling me to go get my voter's card. I will try and get it done

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You should!

$ 0.00
1 year ago