I can't but I did. Or did I?

42 55
Avatar for immaryandmerry
2 years ago

Hey there folks! I know this isn't new to you at all. This challenge has been dominating this platform for days now. From my home page, to my subscriptions and even to our group chat, this challenge is everywhere.

I am so thrilled to share my own version of it so without further ado, let's begin.

Contrary to what everyone believes, I am a really shy person. Well, I can be very outgoing but I also have this introvert side. Since I was a kid and even until today, I can still be very shy. There are things that are really uncomfortable for me to do, things that I think I can't do even in my wildest dreams. But for some reason which I also didn't know, I manage to step out of my shell and go out of my comfort zone.

So here, I present to you some of the things that I can't do but I did. Or did I? Here's my very own version of never have I ever challenge, going out of my comfort zone edition.

  • Never have I ever join in a pageant

I have. This is something that I have never imagined that I will be doing. This happened when I was still on elementary. If you know those "petty" (sorry for the term, I just find it like that) money contest during those days, this was one of it. Maybe it's just part of the competition at school, but this really happened out of my own volition. I'm not the girly type and I don't like gowns and make ups. I look at some of my old photos during these days and I'm not even smiling. This is really something that I don't want to do but it just so happened so I guess, I'll just add it to my experience.

  • Never have I ever made a tiktok video

I have. Tiktok has been dominating our whole world but not me. Even before that it was still musical.ly, I never installed it on my phone and never was I tempted to make my own video. But me, applying to a student organization happened and I was tasked to make a tiktok video. Me, being just a mere applicant can't argue about it so yeah, I have one tiktok video and what's worst is that I was also asked to share it on our group chat. Lol. That was so embarrassing but thrilling at the same time. I literally look dumb in there for I can't even dance but the thought of being successful on doing something out of your comfort zone is just so good in the feeling that I didn't even mind about the humiliation that I am feeling.

  • Never have I ever sang on a videoke

I have. @carisdaneym2 can testify to that. I'm also not a good singer and I'm really shy when others can hear my voice, that's why when there are other people, I don't sing at all. But Cardo's 18th birthday happened and I don't know what kind of spirit get into me that they were able to make me sing on the videoke. Or is it consider singing at all? I mean, I'm really out of tune and it was more like shouting than singing for I really did sing total eclipse of the heart with all my heart, and at the top of my lungs. Lol.

  • Never have I ever film myself singing

I have. As I was saying, I don't want anyone to hear me singing but this is another thing that I have done because of that organization I am applying to. And this is not just singing normally, imagine me singing "Today My Life Begins" sadgirl version. And another all out video I made is the one with props. Like I have the tripod as my mic stand and I have our broom (walis tambo) as my guitar. Then I sang "When I Dream About You" with so much energy and hype. And no, I won't be sharing photos or videos, just use your imagination and feel free to laugh about what I did.

  • Never have I ever tried public speaking

I have. I can be really noisy but delivering a speech with many audience is a different thing. But somehow, I did it. Maybe because it's just few teachers, the principal, the guest speaker, some parents and my batchmates who are listening to me as I deliver my speech. I did it, yay!

  • Never have I ever perform alone in public

I have. This was something that I was able to do in the past. Since I cannot dance nor sing, declamation is the one that I performed on the talent portion of that pageant that I mentioned above.

  • Never have I ever buy on the school canteen alone or go at the comfort room alone

I have. Before, I can't even go out of the classroom alone. I'd rather endure my hunger than to go to the canteen alone and I'd rather hold my pee than to go to the CR alone. College happened and I guess, I can be a little independent now. Actually, I think I now have more than courage that I'm not even aware of. I can even go to the faculty office and face our professors alone. I can now do things alone which I thought I can't because all my life, I have always been dependent to my family and friends.

  • Never have I ever called on the guidance office

I have. Okay, I admit I'm kind of a naughty student but I wasn't called because I have caused some trouble, I was called because of always going late to school. On Junior High School, there's this form for late comers where we need to sign before the guard can let us in on the school. And me, being such a good student never missed a sign on that form. Yes, I'm always late and I'm not proud of it. So then one time, when there are so many late students that it became so alarming, we were all gathered by the guidance counselor and we heard a very very long lecture from her that we end up missing our first class. "Once is enough, twice is too much, three is very much." That was her exact words which I can never forget.

I think I have signed way too much late form back then that I almost wasn't able to get my clearance so that I can enroll at Senior High School.

  • Never have I ever say a curse/cuss

I have. But only once. It was when I am on 3rd grade when I was able to say that PI word. I remember my cousin was teasing me and cursing me that time so I have to do the same. Just some petty fight but I don't feel good about saying it. I don't live in such a conservative environment, I always hear my relatives saying that as if that it is normal but I was never encouraged to say it. Even before that I still wasn't a Christian. That was just one time and I don't plan to say it again. I think, the closest to bad word that I have said is "what the heck?", but no, that's not even bad. I often say that as my expression.

  • Never have I ever been asked by my teacher to stand during the whole class hours

I have. I'm telling you, I am not really the goodie goodie student. I belong to those group who makes a lot of noise, who have mouths that cannot be stopped. But I wasn't called to stand because of that. I was on Grade 9 back then, and the responsible me didn't do my homework so teacher asked us to stand. And yes, it's not just me who didn't make an assignment. Lol. There's also this situation when all of us in the class were asked to stand. It was on our Filipino subject and we have to recite a poem. No one in the class memorizes it so we decided to write the copy of the poem on a bond paper and we posted it at different parts of the classroom. There's one stanza per page and we posted it on the back of the canvass, below the teacher's table, on the window at the side and on the wall at the back.

And then we have this classmate who is so bad at acting that our teacher noticed that he's reading something and then we're busted. But our class was so solid that no one admits on who have written all that. It's all our fault so all of us received the punishment for our actions. Lol

Now, this made me realize to just write a separate article about my high school life. So much memories on that time of my life.


There you have it folks! 10 things that I did that never did I thought that I can. It feels nostalgic to write this one and this is just so fun. This made me think that going out of our comfort zone isn't that scary at all. Yes, it's hard, but look at the bright side, it can also be fun.

From being such a shy girl who's hiding on her shell, I can't believe that I was able to do all those things I listed above. So to all of you reading this, there is so much more that we can do, we just need to have the courage to finally step out of our comfort zone and to try new things. We are greater than we think we are.


And it's a wrap people. Thanks to @Khairro and @WanderingMedStudent for tagging me into this challenge. You guys can also read their own version of it. And you just have to scroll on the homepage of this site and you'll surely see more users who also participated in this challenge.

You might wanna make your own version too if you still haven't.

Thanks all for reading this far, and as always, take care! :)

9
$ 2.85
$ 2.35 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @dziefem
$ 0.05 from @bheng620
+ 7
Sponsors of immaryandmerry
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for immaryandmerry
2 years ago

Comments

Andami namang tanong na makaka realte ako like yung sa tiktok, napatayo sa classroom, at yung late!!! HAHAHAHAHAHA. I can't do the "Woah" move on tiktok. I got punished by my grade $ teacher because I was being too loud in the classroom that time. And I always get to sign the late comers form. Like they even confiscated our IDs and made us clean the surroundings. Countless times of missing the first period. HAHAHAHAHA. Parang gusto ko rin tuloy gumawa ng article about my highschool life. HAHAHAHAHAHAHA

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Diko din kaya yang "woah" nayan yawa wala naman akong kaya dun e pilit na pilit lang yon tapos ayoko na panoorin mas malala pako sa tuod 😂

Lol. Ang saya magcommunity work 😂😂 tamang linis linis lang ih pero nung college ayoko na magpalate, cr yung lilinisin nako, pass. Haha

Yung mga teacher ko di malaman kung kanino ako itatabi pano kahit pinakatahimik sa class ako itabi napapadaldal ko haha. Grabeeee sige nga at gumawa tayong article about hs life. Labasan ba ng nga kabulastugan hahahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako rin na guidance dahil sa late lol! Tapos pinalinis kami sa canteen as penalty. 😅 Nung may school bus na, iwas guidance na heheh!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako lagi naiiwan ng service 😂 katamad kasi bumangon sa umaga tapos minsan 3rd period nako pumapasok haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"Never have I ever called on the guidance office."

Huhu, yung elemntary talaga tung pinaka worst ko. Sinaksak ko ng lapis yung kamay ng katabi ko huhu. and kulit2 kasi tas napaka bully.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala grabe may ganyan ding ganap samin hahaha pero ako nanakal ng kaklase hahaha pero di naguidance, di ako sinumbong e. Tapos sa pagkalate lang pala ko magguidance

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha nananakal ka be? Hahahha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I was on my junior years ayaw ko talagang pumunta sa Canteen ng ako lang mag isa😂 Talagang nanghahatak ako ng kaibigan para lang samahan ako AHAHAH buti nga di naiinis sakin ang cute ko daw kasi charr 🤣 Yieee tapos na siya sa challenge! Looking forward to your upcoming articles! Patingin po ng lava walk 🌋

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nung college ko lang kinaya mag isa at kung hindi mamamatay ako sa gutom charot hahahah. Bago kasi pumasok sa first class tamang agahan lang sa canteen 😂

Hmp. Walanjong pageant, elem pa kasi yon at never na mauulit haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakoo mare pag dating sa mga kanta hate ko talaga yan😭 sinasabi nila parang nagbabasa lang daw ako kapag kumakanta hahaha.. Ewan ko ba kahit konti wala ako sa lyrics. Mahilig naman ako makinig ng music.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

HAHAHAHAHA ako ewan, pangit talaga ng boses ko kahit speaking voice pa. Wala din ako sa tonobhahaha. Dibale mare, baka talagang hindi para sa atin ang pagkanta 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also joined pageant once pero sapilitan pa. Wala talaga akong self confidence eh. Hindi rin ako makapunta ng canteen or cr na walang kasama.😅 Naranasan ko na rin napatawag ng guidance pero hindi lang naman ako nag-iisa kundi yung whole section namin.😁 Eh ang babait kasi namin eh. Buong section ba naman ang hindi pumasok ng half day dahil gumala lang.😁😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. Sapilitan lang din akin. 😂😂

Ang saya maguidance buong class! Ganyan din nangyari samin e. Pano nagpaalaam kami na absent kaming lahat ng morning, makikipaglibing sa lolo ng kaklase ko. Tapos nung hapon tinamad kaming lahat, walang pumasok kahit isa. 😂😂 ayon paktay haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaa..mga mababait na estudyante talaga😅😅🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ay grabe nung high school. Nakukurot ako ni maam kahit bawal 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha, hindi ko naman naranasan yan. Pero naranasan ko na ikinulong kami ng adviser namin sa room dahil ang ingay daw namin.😅🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay hahahah samin naman nag walkout adviser namin, I quit sabi ba naman hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hhahaha..grabe.. sobrang bait nyo kasi.😅🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha tapos pinagsarhan kami ng room one time saka siya naglinis mag isam kahiya yun, sobra.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Never have I ever buy on the school canteen alone or go at the comfort room alone

High School ako, di talaga ako makapunta mag isa sa canteen or cr. Nees ko ng kasama at dapat nakabantay sya may pinto wahaha. Yong sa kalagitnaan ng klase dalawa kaming maga cr ahaha. Tapos sa canteen, tamad kasi akong pumila pag bibili,kaya nagpapabili lang ako. Tapos treat ko nalang sya ganorn ahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay manyaman! Hahaha. Nanlilibre. Ako naman mahilig din magpabili pero tamad pag sakin na magpapabili 😂

Tapos ang gawain kasi namin nung high school, katabi ng room namin canteen so every tapos ng isang subj break namin habang wala pa teacher 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wahahaha no choice ee. Pero maliit lang baon ko non, kupit ko lang ung iba dun skay mama wahahahaha

Anla sameee katabi ng room namin ang canteen namin kaya bago kami papasok sa room after umihi, dadaan muna at bbli ng kutkutin wahahaga

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha true grabe napakagastos pag katabi ang canteen 😂 lakas mang akit nung canteen e

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahahahaha, damang dama ko yan. Ung dadaan kalang paounta sa room nyo, tapos makaka amoy ka ng sopas. Taeng yan, daan muna tayo at kumain! O diba wahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True ate! Hahaha. Kahit di ka naman talaga gutom e mapapakain ka. Tapos naaamoy amoy pa yon habang niluluto kasi nga katabi lang talaga ng room haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh baka panlaban yan sa pageant haha. Yiiieee tiktokerist at songerist yan girl? Hahaha. Naguidance na din me, once. Actually halos buong klase naman kasi nag boycott kami non. 🤣 elementary nung napatayo ako ng buong klase haha. Basta, I have lahat, except sa pageant. Alam mo na. HAHAHAA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

HAHAHAHA yawa. Hoy kaloka di naman legit na pageant yun, pang mga mukang perang school lang yon tapos competitive na mga parents. Nadamay lang ako haha.

Kaenjoy maboycott buong klase ano? Hahahaha. Masaya pa tayo pag ganoon e pero wag ngayong college ah lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha at least lumaban 🤣

Sige try mo gawin yan sa college ewan nalang talaga kung makagraduate HAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gr. 5 and 6 yon e yawa hahaha kaloka pics ko doon, busangot ih

Oo lalo pag si M ang prof

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tingin ngaaaa. Hahaha. Paktay na kay M, mukha pa naman pinaglihi sa sama ng loob 😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wala dito pics asa bahay hahahahaha

Mukha lang ba?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've done lot of public speaking, love it such. I'm in between, could be an introvert if need be. And an extreme extrovert.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, you just give me the term! I'm also in between 😂

And wow, a lot of public speaking? That's nice. How???

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I did public speaking and karaoke. Karaoke was fun, but public speaking was a nightmare. I hated it. I would never do that again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, karaoke is fun! I still don't have the confidence to sing again tho. And public speaking, this is something that can definitely makes my knees tremble. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

school canteen is lol because the canteen was kinda like free as student eat and paid nothing shit

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol. Canteen is where everything tastes the same 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You also did not paid🙄😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol. Never did I did that. I always pay! Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You did not get that happiness! Z😂😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am introverted big time too, and those you have mentioned? Been there as well. Duet tau, game? lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha. Sige po, anong kanta? Halika at magpaulan tayo 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago