Why "Bachelor of Science in Agriculture"? || Part 1

27 49
Avatar for imanagrcltrst
1 year ago
ARTICLE NO. 78 OF 2022
TITLE: <Why "Bachelor of Science in Agriculture"? || Part 1>
DATE OF PUBLISHING: <MAY 30, 2022>

Are you already in college? If yes, what's your course? Or are you a graduating Senior High School student? An incoming college student? If yes, do you already have a preferred course to take?

As you, guys know, I am one of the struggling-college-students here. Well, that's what I've been always saying. Right now, I am on the second semester of third year level. I won't say that I have finished this semester unless I finally submitted all of my remaining requirements.

I only need to take another semester, "Midterm Summer Class" or the "Apprenticeship", before I step up to fourth year. Hoo!


In this two-part article, I'll share here the reasons why I took Bachelor of Science in Agriculture. But first, here's how I got qualified to take this course.

January 12, 2019

This is when I took the College Admission Test (CAT) in Central Luzon State University. My schedule was on the afternoon, 1:00PM-4:00PM. Guess what? I had the exam without even reviewing, yes. Was only depending on my "stocked knowledge."

I was so nervous at that moment. I've been thinking of so many "what ifs." Like what if I don't pass the exam. So to make sure that I can really go to college, I looked for another university where I can apply. So, I also applied at Nueva Ecija-University of Science and Technology (NE-UST). And, my schedule for the entrance exam is by May 28, 2019.

April 05, 2019

At this day, I finally graduated in Senior High School with a distinction of High Honors. During SHS, I finished Technical and Vocational Livelihood- Home Economics. Layo sa course ko ngayon noh? Actually, I should be taking "Agriculture" that time but it's not offered in our school eh.

After the Baccalaureate on the morning, I opened my Facebook app while waiting for Mama and Papa to buy my presents. And, gosh! I didn't expect that the results of the CLSU-CAT will be posted at that day. Coz I don't have a load, I waited for us to go home so Tita could check that list of qualifiers.

At first, we thought that I didn't passed. I am already crying, not until I saw that the file we're looking at was for the "waiting list." Ackkk! And, guess what?

"I passed, yes. I passed the entrance exam of one of the most prestigious universities in the Philippines." πŸ™ŒπŸ»πŸ’œ

After knowing that I passed in CLSU, I don't pushed the exam in NE-UST. Well, sure nang makakapag-college eh. HIHI!

As for my chosen degree courses, here it is:

  • First choice- Bachelor of Science in Agriculture

  • Second choice- BS Food Technology (aligned with my SHS Track and Strand)

Another guess what? I am qualified to take my first choice of course, omooo!

If you're thinking that passing the CAT is enough, you're wrong. The College of Agriculture administration will first assess your performance in SHS and the results of CAT. In our university, only 300 students can be given a slot for BS Agriculture. Well, you can still be granted as long as you have a backer. Basing on our grades in SHS, we must have at least 87-90 GWA in Science. While in CAT results, our score in Science must be around 85%. Lucky to be one of those 300 students ey~

In BS Agriculture, we have five majors:

  • Animal Science;

  • Crop Science;

  • Crop Protection;

  • Agricultural Extension Education; and

  • Soil Science.

During the first three semesters, we are required to take all of these majors before we applied for what we want to focus on third to fourth year. In my case, it's "Crop Protection and Plant Pathology (as my specialization)."

Again, we applied first for us to secure a slot for our desired majors and specialization. There's no exam and interview in Crop Protection but the Professors are hands-on on the screening. If you have a good performance, rest assured that you can be qualified. That's another reason why I was qualified~ they know since 1st year that this is what I want to major at.

So, why "Bachelor of Science in Agriculture?"

Nowadays, not everyone of the youth have this genuine interest to take a course related to farming and livestock. That is what was really happening~

Many people still don't understand the real essence of this course and so does agriculture, as a whole. For them, Agriculture is just all about "tanim-tanim lang." Kesyo bakit daw magka-college pa if magiging magsasaka lang naman daw kami, at the end? Just, what? What kind of mentality is that? What's wrong with being a farmer? Just so we know, "farmers are the nation's feeder." Just think of it, "how could we live without them, cultivating and producing raw materials for us to to have something to eat?" Not everyone of us can plant, not everyone are willing to stay beneath the sun's heat for a day just to plant.

Also, being a farmer is not the only occupation that we can be after college. Here's some of the many works that we can be hired at:

Graduates of BS Agriculture, Major in Animal Science:

  • Animal Nutritionist;

  • Animals Physiologist;

Major in Crop Science:

  • Food Scientist;

  • Horticulturist;

  • Plant Physiologist;

  • Wildlife Biologist.

Major in Crop Protection:

  • Plant Pathologist;

  • Entomologist;

  • Weed Scientist.

Major in Soil Science:

  • Soil Scientist;

  • Taxonomists.

More so, we can also be a Doctor, Secretary of the Department of Agriculture, Food Scientist, anything.

The answers to that, "why" are:

  • First, to help our farmers. They need assistance especially that the said sector was being left behind. If we will compare the farmers in other countries to our country? They are rich but ours? Pahirap nang pahirap.

  • To serve the country.

  • To spread more awareness on the sector.

  • To learn more.

  • A lot of work-related opportunities.

Actually guys, I have a lot of reasons and I can't even enumerate them all.

At this moment, one of the most-talked topic about agriculture is the "20+ pesos price of rice of BBM." There's a difference with what's palay (unmilled) and rice (milled), guys ah. Actually, it's possible naman talaga. With or without President-Elect Bong-Bong Marcos Jr's leadership. But it's not that easy because there's a lot ro consider first before implementing this price range but as I said, "it's possible." Here's an advice, don't listen to those "mema-comment lang" in Facebook. Listen to those who knows well. πŸ’š

Tagging these two Licensed Agriculturist that I known here, Kuya @Eunoia and Ate @Mjoy-23.. HI! :)


For more articles, just visit me here in read.cash:

imanagrcltrst: https://read.cash/@imanagrcltrst

And, we can also have a chitchat in noise.cash:

imanagrcltrst: https://noise.cash/u/imanagrcltrst



LOVE LOTSSS!

13
$ 14.12
$ 13.98 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.07 from @Ruffa
$ 0.03 from @Ayane-chan
+ 2
Sponsors of imanagrcltrst
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for imanagrcltrst
1 year ago

Comments

Uy may naka-chat ako dating taga NEUST hahahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ay ang bongga, naka-abot sa Nueva Ecija. Haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, isa rin sa choice ko na university na pagaralan ng college ay CLSU pero sa BSU natuloy haha. As far as I know, good choice ang CLSU sa mga agriculture related course. Goodluck!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

One of my choices way back college days was agriculture, pero don talaga ako sa IT napunta. hehehehe. Masaya pa din naman, ang impt.mahal mo dapat ang course mo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Love mo talaga course mo, sis! You really study hard for it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Di rin ako naniniwala na magiging Php. 20 ang bigas kahit di ako agriculturist hehe. Ako naman ate di ko dinream yan pero sabi nung isa kong kakilala maliban sayo, maganda raw yan. Paglilinis nga lang nang bahay kinakatamaran ko, pagtatanim pa kaya haha. Nung pinagdamo kami ate, samang sama na loob ko eh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha pwede naman uy, pero mahirap kasi. Depende na lang sa mga nasa taas kung paano nila ipu-push nang di naaagrabyado yung mga farmers.

Sa Agri kapag pinag-collect ka ng damo, mag-eenjoy ka pa. Hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am crop-sci major but if they offer crop protection I surely grab. Hehe I don't choose my major, my friends just fill up my form and whala I'm cropsci haha. But I aimed to take my master degree diverting to plant pathology if ever sa Baguio State University. 😍

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The first reason is having your father in the domain of agriculture means your father recommends you to help him once you finish a study or sometimes some relatives.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ohhhh, marami palang opportunity kapag ganyan ano. Buti ni push mo na yaan ang kunin ano. 🀩

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also want to get that course ...but i feel afraid sometimes since most of my classmates will be getting engineering some day....katakot lang kase kapag wala kang kasama πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha alam mo ba sa buong strand namin sa HE? Akala ko ako lang nag-agri, good thing na may isa pang naligaw. Hihi

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Andami palang posibleng work ng isang BSA graduate.. Baka ikaw na ang future Secretary of Agriculture beh! ❀

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Madami talaga, Ate. Akala lang nang marami na sa bukid lang talaga bagsak namin, hehe. Ewan ko ba sa kanila eh kasarap din naman magbukid. πŸ‘»

Ay nakuuuu. Malabo, Ate. Hihihi

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ay who knows, malay mo after 5 to 6 years eh ikaw na, hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe need ko munang maging Doctor, Ate. 😸

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ipush na agad yanπŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha BS pa lang naloloka na ako, Ate. 🀣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahaha!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If BBM will focus on the development of the agricultural sectors, maybe it can be possible. 'Cause right now, the price of palay at our place is only ranging from Php 10 -12 per kilo and bigas is Php 43 above per kilo. They will buy it for a cheaper price and will sell the milled rice that is expensive. It's not really fair.

As a daughter of the farmers and a farmer myself, though I'm not an agriculturist, lugi na talaga po. I spent more than Php 25k this year but I didn't even gain anything, short pa ang balik pang capital. Then, binagyuhan pa ni Odette. Nangako naman yung DOA dito na tutulong pero mag-aani na lang ulit, wala pa din. 🀧

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh divaaaa? Napababa pa kasi lalo nung nag-RTL ay. Di expected na magiging ganito outcome nung law, imbes na mapataas is napababa pa lalo. Di na talaga nawala 'yung mga nambabarat sa palay, mababa na nga tapos bibilhin pa ng mas mababa. πŸ€¦πŸ»β€β™€οΈ

Sana nga mas mag-improve pa 'yung sector ngayon administration ni BBM. Ilagay sa DA 'yung mas efficient na mag-lead~

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yung agriculturist sana talaga at di yung abogado or may matindi lang kapit sa nakakataas. Yun bang may malasakit din sa mga magsasaka. Kahit lugi na kasi kami, sige pa din. Alanganin naman ibenta yung lupa ot bakantihin nang ilang cropping season.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

May nilu-look forward na nga ako na susunod na DA Sec eh. Knows mo si Manny PiΓ±ol, Ate? Galing talaga sa pagiging farmer eh.

Saka puro pautang din. Kaya imbes na makaluwag is mas nababaon pa mga farmers natin~

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ay, Oo! First choice ko yan siya sa Senator. Yun lang, di kasi ako nakauwi ng maaga kaya di ako nakaabot ng election.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sayang nga eh, di s'ya nanalo. Pero hopefully, sana magkaroon s'ya ng position sa DA

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hoping that this administration will also focus on our farmers. Ewan ko ba, agriculture is vital to the economy of our nation pero isa din yung sector na 'to sa napapabayaan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sana nga, maree. Lalo na this past 2-weeks, daming reports ng mga harvested crops from farmers na di daw binibili sa markets kahit na may kaunting gasgas lang or what. Kakaawa~

$ 0.00
1 year ago