Before and After

36 43
Avatar for gwapojohn
2 years ago

When I was young, I don't care about how I look. As long as I get dressed and have my slippers on, everything is solved. I can go anywhere, wherever I want. Well if I have money too. I am sure we experience the stage wherein we don't care about how we look and even how we smell. We also don't mind if we took a bath during the day. What we are after of is to go away and have fun playing with friends. Let's call it 'the yagit stage'.

Yagit in our dialect means you look awful for not being able to take care of yourself. Alright. We have been through that 'yagit stage' where we don't know how to take care of ourselves. Thus, we look not as appealing as we are today. We've been also in this stage wherein we just simply wipe away the fluid from our nose using our bare hands and there's a mark left in cheeks. Geezz! I remember my mom found it so hard to wipe especially when it dries. Regardless, those are the good old days.

After that stage, we will enter the next one which is the 'glow-up stage'. Of course. We should not look awful forever. As we grow up, we eventually learn how to take care of ourselves. From the way we dress, the way we carry ourselves and the way we speak. We also learn the habit of taking a bath everyday. I am proud to say that I take a bath even if it's raining because I feel so alive after taking a bath. As time goes by, I think I was in my first year in college that I learn how to make myself look good. I am not sure though if I really turned out to be one. Lol. But I know myself I did everything especially making my skin fairer. πŸ˜‚ Call it too girly but I really did that. I used to let my mom bought kojic soap and moisturizing lotion in order for my skin to look a little bit nice. I also limit my exposure to the sun's heat that's why I brought umbrella with me.

In this stage, I also learned how to dress properly in every occasion. Unlike before that I wear jeans and rubber shoes on a beach. Yikes! It's not that I am too self-conscious. I just want to make sure that I take care of myself properly. And after this stage, we can see the difference in ourselves before and after.

How was I before?

When it comes to physical aspects, you already know a part of me since I already mentioned the rest. Apart from that, I was too skinny before even if I eat a lot. I do have my vitamins too and I slept early. But nothing happened. No body structure improvement. I can't be too sad about it so I just let it go and enjoyed my life. Because of how I look, my classmates teased me. I was a kid then so I got hurt and reported those nasty kids to my mom. My mom would just tell me to not mind them but how can I do it when I see them in school everyday. But as time goes on, I learned how to respond to criticisms. Instead of getting mad, I acted like I am not hurt so I just smiled and go with it. It's really effective because my classmates seldom made fun of me after that. I guess they realized that I am not affected anymore and they would just waste their time. As a result, they find someone else to tease with.

Me when I still don't know how to take care of myself properly πŸ˜‚

After those moments of rediscovering myself, I learned how to be better. My attitude glowed up too and my mindset has widen. I think this is the most important among all. Looks are nothing when you don't have the right attitude. But there are times when my attitude before comes back. That's the time when I need to sneak out and tease my little brother. I don't know but there are really times that I want to go back to being a kid in such a way that my mom would not spank me.

Me when I was still in first year College

The above photos somehow shows that I am not skinny as the first one. During that time, I learned how to sleep early and I just sneaked out from house sometimes unlike before that it's almost every night. I know I look like an old man there having the problem of nothing to eat at home. But believe me, I am genuinely happy that time.

So those are just glimpses of me before. I like to tell the rest but I don't want to make you feel sleepy. Lol.

How am I today?

Today, I am pretty sure I am better. Still the same me but with improved mindset and attitude. If I were to be a milk, I am now fortified. My experiences before made me better. Some of my childish attitudes were gone but there are still few remain and those are when I want to get rid of my little brother. Oh, I wish I can get over with this too.

This quarantine days made me look better, I guess because I seldom go out and if I will be out, it will be during evening. Well it's advised to stay home these days but not going out for too long can drive me crazy.

My recent pic

The above photo is my recent pic. I don't know if you will find any glow up in there. But I, myself consider that there's really a difference. I am not as skinny as before and I looked clean today than before. πŸ˜‚ That's it. I'm going to leave the rest to you and let you do the talking.

Conclusion:

Glow up is lovely but what's even lovelier is when we discover our true purpose and apply it in life. But don't forget to always look good too! πŸ˜‰



Sponsors of gwapojohn
empty
empty
empty

Hello everyone! If you have some useful tips or guide which can help me improve, you can let me know in the comment section. I may not know all about you now but I am eager to know you deeper. I will work hard so I can be like the amazing writers here. I have talked to some people and they are all amazing.

Thank you so much for reading! Comments are very much appreciated. Same appreciation goes to my upvoters and kind sponsors. Again, this is gwapojohn at your service. πŸ˜‰ Let's get connected!


Lead and concluding image are from Unsplash.com

The rest of the photos are mine

|08302021|

@gwapojohn

12
$ 6.30
$ 4.85 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.00 from @JustMyRambles01
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
+ 8
Sponsors of gwapojohn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gwapojohn
2 years ago

Comments

Parang ganun naman ata talaga. Dadaan tayo sa yagit or dugyutin stage. Yung medjo dark skinned tapos nagiging fair. Kahir nga yung maputi na noon eh mas lalo pa pumuti nung naghit sila mga 20s. From dugyutin to self-conscious to self-love. πŸ˜‰

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Totoo nga naman pero yung iba talaga yung dugyutin stage nila parang glow up ko na hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha. Natawa naman ako doon. Feeling mo lang yun. Or baka hindi pa lang tapos yung glow up period mo πŸ˜‰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What we thing don't matter. What matters is how you feel about yourself. If you feel good, look good, then others will see it too. If not, just like what you did with your classmates, just smile :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Perfectly said, Lee. Feeling good with oneself makes us look good too. 😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hawig mo yung pinsan ko, kuya. Sundalo sya hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Talaga po? 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, kuya hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sharot

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahahaha shhhhhh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako naman baliktad. Gusto ko pumayat naman haha. Congratulations on making yourself feel and look good!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ganun naman talaga eh, yung medyo mataba gusto pumayat, kaming payat gusto tumaba πŸ˜‚ salamat po

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can clearly see how you got a healthier weight. I alsonknow that Yagit stage, and I wonder, nakaalis na kaya ako don ngayon? Charet! Hahaha!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yay thanks, Mich. πŸ’š Hahaha mabuti nga nakaalis na tayo sa yagit stage kasi kung hindi, mapapag iwanan na talaga tayo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha! Truee!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yagit stage to glow up stage, As time passed by, dapat gyud na mag glow up hahahahs

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Glow up ginagmay ms. Janz. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You had a nice Childhood. And itΒ΄s good you think you are a better person now.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks 😊 Yeah, I feel I am renewed now. Have a good day!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naks, sanaol talaga ng glow up eh. Hihi nakakamiss tlaga yung yagit days haahha. Yung sipon nga muuga damaka oi ahhahaha.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha damak na lge ron pero sa una wa jd tay paki hahaha! Ikaw pd sponsor oy I'm sure naay glow up

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Taga dis-a kay john?naa man lagi kay picture sa bato baywalk😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hala taga bato ka? Hahaha! Taga Bontoc

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Taga bato ako na bana pero taga baybay jud ko ,nya naa me sa bato nag stay ron😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala no? Kagamay ra jd sa kalibutan hahaha knsa nag invite nimo ari? Basin kaila ko habaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Si zhyne06 😁 lagi no ,dghan d ay taga leyte dere😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay mao haha daghan jd

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yagit days talaga hihi. It's good to better ourselves in all aspects. And you have done a great improvement along your adulthood, that's great! And you will be more as the days and years pass by. I agree with you on becoming fortified in all of life's aspects.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks, FarmGirl. ❀️ i hope that I can be more too someday.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believe you will :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh how I miss the yagit days HAHAH those were the days where all happy memories are the only thing that matters 🀧 Your childhood was awesome if you've been to that stage rofl.

naol nag glow up haha Just passing by 🀘

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha yeah, I miss my yagit days too. Oh I am sure you had a nice childhood too. Ikaw rin naman eh sure ako nag glow up din

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana all talaga may pa glow-up. Ako kasi walaaaa hahaha.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ayyyy pa humble c madam oh haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I was a school kid or first year kid there was famous fashion of long hairs coming to eyes and face... "EMO" or Punk style... I did that too.. Now I look back and refuse to admit that it was me.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha me too! Now we are grown up, we realized we don't look good with that kind of look.

$ 0.00
2 years ago