The value of the ring.

56 67
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

Greetings friends readers of the great read.cash family, today as always I bring you an inspiring episode that I was able to read in my moments of detachment from the networks.

It happened one day that a young man overwhelmed by his nefarious thoughts decided to go to the wise man of the village to ask for advice for his life. The young man felt so worthless, he thought he was worthless, that there was no one in the village who appreciated him, at least he didn't feel it from any human being around him.

People just needed him, they came to him to ask for favors but then he received no retribution, not a thank you, not a handshake, as if it meant nothing.

As he walked down the road he was thinking about what he would say to the sage to help him discern about his life.

He arrived at the place, and came to where the lonely old man was. After greeting him politely, he asked permission to enter and sit beside him, to which the old man nodded and then he told the wise man about his misfortune and asked him if he could help him with the problem he had, to which the wise man replied that he could not help him at that moment, but that if he did him a favor before, he could help him later.

From unsplash.

The young man felt terrible, the same thing happened to him but he nodded and confirmed he was willing to help. The sage gave him an old ring, of ochre, brown and black color with a stone embedded in it and without shine, he said to the young man...

"Go to the market and take this ring with you, put it up for sale, but only accept it if it is received for a gold coin. If you don't get it come back again with my ring please."

The young man went to the market, stayed there all day and insistently tried to sell it, but when he pointed out that it cost a gold coin everyone laughed at him and left the place.

The young man took the ring and was saddened that he could not sell it, he arrived at the sage's house and told him what had happened.

The sage then replied, go and take the ring to the jewelry store and ask the jeweler to evaluate the ring, but do not sell it at any price.

The young man listened and went to the appointed place, asked the jeweler the favor and waited. After a moment the jeweler with his instruments and magnifying glass in hand told the young man...

"This ring has an approximate value of 40 gold coins, if you want to sell it at this moment I will buy it, but if you leave it for a few days it can cost up to 50 coins".

The young man thanked the jeweler and told him that it was not for sale, he left with the ring and still surprised with the price of this ring arrived at the house of the wise man.

The young man told him what had happened, to which the wise man, taking the ring and putting it back in his hand, replied to the young man....

"Do not look in the wrong place to be valued at your true price. If you go to places where people are used to not valuing things or people, they will never know what it or they are worth.

It is the same with you, never expect others to appreciate your virtues if you are in an inappropriate place with unfair people. You put value to your own life, to your person, you give yourself the importance that you have as a person and do not allow others to be the ones who value you. Don't let others be the ones to tell you how much you are worth and how important you are in life."

The young boy learned his lesson, the sage truly taught him in a practical way how he should be from now on. The sage never wanted to sell his ring, he just knew beforehand that no one in the market would find the ring worthy to be bought, but if he took it to the right place they would know its value.

From now on no one would make him feel worthless and only he knew the great value he had for being a kind, understanding and empathetic young man.

How about you, my reader friend? Are you a person who needs others to praise you or on the contrary you know the great value you have?

God made men in his image and likeness so you cannot be worth little. Your value is incalculable, so much so that he gave his life on the cross for you.

Do you want more proof of your worth than that? Be happy as you are and find your balance in life to be happy.

Thank you for reading and thank you to all my sponsors. I love you all.

31
$ 7.99
$ 7.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Alther
$ 0.10 from @carolinacardoza
+ 22
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

Comments

People with low self-esteem always look for others to value them and do not give themselves the value they deserve.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I think you are right.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a wise old man. That's why we need to pray, only God can help us discern the good and the bad in situations, places, even in people..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Very well said dear friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

that's what destroys most people.. they are looking for their worth at the wrong places...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for sharing this wonderful story. Learned a lot from it. Sorry I can’t upvote yet your post as I’m just a newbie here but I’d love to upvote it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Welcome. Keep interacting and you will receive tips and keep giving to others and the cycle repeats itself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't need praise or negative criticism, unless the criticism is constructive. I don't need anyone to look after me either.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, when we are sure of what we deserve, we do not care about others.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We don't need someone to praise and validate us. As long as we know our value to ourselves , that's what matters. Because not everyone will appreciate us.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You have said it all in a nutshell.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just like have always said, never expect anything in return from people you help, they may not know your true value.. stay true to yourself and do your best and one day, those that know your true value will come and appreciate you.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, we are often not valued by the people we help. I agree not to expect anything from the people you help, so they don't disappoint you on the day of atonement.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We all do have different perspective in life, there are people will appreciates us but there are some will never.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

As simple as what you have written.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We should all love ourselves, we are awesome and unique:)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeahhh, my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My value, my legacy, my achievements. Some people will understand your worthy words & works. Others will not.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank God the comments so far suggest that they do realize the importance of this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I already stop waiting for appreciation from other people Gertu. I can't please everyone so I don't waste my time to people who doesn't like me. I know my worth thru people who are closed to me.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's good, but the best thing is when you know your own value. You are worth a lot not because of money but because of your heart. Learn to love yourself and don't worry about what others think of you.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Not all people can appreciate us ma'am gertu it hurts but it's true. Good morning.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It is true that not everyone appreciates us, that happens to all of us, my sweet girl. That's why you should know how to value yourself before anyone else so that the judgments of others do not affect you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It really happens on me that's why it's lesson learned on me. I will not allow them to hurt me again. Some people are really insane. Thanks maam gertu.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I know. Some of them are and very much so.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know this story. It is very good and taughtful. We should always be aware of how much we are worth and if we are surrounded by people who do not appreciate us, we should change those circumstances. I am aware of my value and I do not need praise. Thanks to that I have my inner peace.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I don't know whose story it is nor have I told it verbatim but I think I came a little close to what was intended with it. It is good that we know our faults and our virtues. So let's not wait for someone to tell us them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know whose story it is either, but someone told me that story a long time ago, I think it's my mom. I didn't read it. Yes, you are absolutely right. We should not wait for others to tell us who we are when we already know it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

me ha encantado esa frase y te pido permiso para ponerla en mi estado de Ws, “No busques en el lugar equivocado para ser valorado a tu verdadero precio. Si vas a lugares donde la gente está acostumbrada a no valorar las cosas o las personas, nunca sabrán lo que valen"

te envio un fuerte abrazo querida amiga y te deseo mucho exito y salud en este 2022.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hello my Caro... Where have you been that I have missed you? Welcome and take whatever you want. This is for everyone who appreciates it. A hug my beautiful sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think that my conscience and empathy skills have developed enough. When I do my own judgment in my daily work and put myself in the shoes of others, if I don't see a problem in what I do, I think I'm on a good path, but I can never value myself. This right belongs only to those around me that I am helpful or harmful, they will know am I okay? am i bad Or am I valuable? Am I worthless?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

For that there are supervisors who evaluate you. But you know what? Sometimes they don't do a good job either, and if you're not clear that you're doing a good job, they can ruin your self-esteem.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The truth, before i was once like that who wants others to praise me but just get disappointed because they don't appreciate me for who and what i did for them. But now I learned my lesson, we don't need the approval of others to be happy. Being true to ourselves and knowing that I am worthy enough to be me makes me happy living my life at the moment

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's the way, congratulations sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks sis, that's what should be done coz no one else could make us happy except ourselves. We just have to know and realize that we are all worth it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, we should all know how valuable we are.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When you are at the right place you would be valued and if you are at the wrong place then you become worth less

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That is why we must cultivate self-esteem so as not to allow other people to demoralize us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Find this story very soothing and inspiring ma'am and it wish a lot of people who feeling dejected and passing through self-pity could see this too.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's right, people with low self-esteem need to know that they are worth something for themselves.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The value of the ring hmmm . From now one no one should make he or herself worthless we must value ourselves I think I learnt something from that

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It is my wish when writing these stories.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We are not trees. If we feel like we are unapreciated and unwanted, we should move where we feel like we are valued. Thanks fr sharing such wonderful story.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Do you really think the solution is to move? and wouldn't it be better to learn to value ourselves no matter how much others look down on us?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aw that is much better

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehe, of course.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very inspiring. We would keep been disappointed if we keep waiting for people's appraisal or approval in our lives. We need to understand that we are of value and if no one appreciate us, we should value and appreciate ourselves.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Well said my dear princess.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We have to learn to value ourselves and know our worth

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's true.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amazing, just like how the book of God stated it "A prophet is not valued in his own country"

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's very true.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have just hitted the nail on the head ma

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you for reading by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omg! I can relate a little to this story. Before I used to give my all in order to be accepted but still they complain and said it was not enough. They don't validate my feelings, until I decided to cut them in my life. I'm now happy. I already find myself. I find my worth and peace.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's right, we find our value in ourselves first. Without becoming self-centered or conceited.

$ 0.00
2 years ago