A tree from my childhood.

37 64
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

Today I greet you my friends and write to you about nature. This plant that I will refer to today was found while I was visiting a friend's house. The cab took to a blind street and had to back up and make a turn in a wider part of this street and as it was doing so I was able to observe the fruits of the plant.

Suddenly my mind went back to my childhood and I could identify this fruit, I recognized its name immediately, Cautaro. I was able to find out its characteristics and specifications in several readings I did, but what interested me the most was to find out what the plant meant in my childhood.

I never had the curiosity to eat this ripe fruit. My mother, in my childhood, used to send my brother and I to the foot of a mountain near our home, I don't remember the plant as such, but I do remember the fruit.

The plant is a tall tree and its leafy branches were loaded with these small white flowers in several bunches that I would pick and place in a vase with water.

But it wasn't the flower that my mother sent us for, it was the fruit. When the flower developed and the white, almost transparent fruits came out they were the reason for her to tell us to go there. The fruits are soft to the touch, I never tasted them but I read that they are sweet, some call them white grapes and when you break their thin layer a fluid comes out of their pulp that is sticky, this was our precious glue, used for school work.

Being our family one with a humble condition there were not many things that my parents could buy us for school and among those things was glue. So I would often go to the mountain with my younger brother and we would pick the fruits and bring them to our house.

When we squeezed the fruit with our fingers the sticky juice would come out of the fruit and we would proceed to put it on the back of our clippings to glue in our notebook or blog, depending on the task assigned at school. I remember using this type of glue for many years.

It was also used by the children in my neighborhood to glue the kites or papagayo that are a typical toy in my country. It consists of thin twigs crossed and shaped like a star, covered with a very thin paper and glued with this viscous glue. At one end of the star a tail made out of paper was placed and at the other end a very resistant thread was fixed. It took advantage of the strong breeze and flew in favor of this, which took it very high in the sky resembling a comet with its long tail.

In making inquiries I found that its scientific name is Cordia Alba and its common names are Cautaro or Caujaro.

 The Cau

taro tree can measure up to 10 meters high, with abundant leafy branches. Its fruits measure from 1 cm to 1 ½ cm, they are oval in shape and its pulp is viscous.

It’s not a tree that is found in many countries. According to what I could read it is found in Panama, Mexico, Nicaragua, The Antilles, Colombia, El Salvador and of course my country, Venezuela.

It brought back very pleasant memories for me when I saw this little plant. The cab driver was very kind to me and stopped when I asked him to in order to take some pictures so I could come back to tell you this story.

Are you able to remember a tree that brings back fond memories of your childhood? Do any of you, my dear readers, have this tree in your country? Does anyone know it by any other name?

I hope you like it. Apart from these photos of the Cautaro tree with its flowers and fruits I was able to take some other photos of the coast of my city from the highest floor of the building where my friend lives. I went to visit her when I found this beautiful tree.

This is a part of the coast of the Caribbean Sea which forms some of the beaches that reach my city.

All photographs are my own taken with my Redmi note 9 phone.

18
$ 13.54
$ 12.23 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.27 from @Telesfor
$ 0.10 from @Alther
+ 15
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

Comments

Mango tree is my favorite tree, I can't get enough of that tree and it's fruit

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hello my beautiful friend, how are you?

A really beautiful and precious plant, how nice when those little things in life take us to the past, to those beautiful moments we lived, it is incredible how in the most difficult moments we reinvent ourselves to achieve a task, how curious that is.

Thank you for taking these beautiful photos, it also made me think of my childhood, what beautiful beaches, God, I need to visit one, where is this beautiful coast located my beautiful Gertu, greetings and thank you for such a good topic.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

it got beautiful flowers! the only tree that I can remember from childhood was that star apple tree we took fruits of during summer

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't seen that here. I like how beautiful the flowers are and the fruits look interesting. You haven't tasted it to this day?

Talking about glue, back when we don't have glue available, we would use steamed rice instead :)

What a lovely view your friend got there!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow at first i thought it was grapes. So cool! And the flower is really nice too. I also liked that it reminded you of good ol memories ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, it is beautiful to remember. Especially that my brother who accompanied me at that time is no longer on this earthly plane.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Interesting! I have never seen this fruit before. When I looked at it on your image suddenly said to myself "it's like white grapes", then I read on and I saw you wrote, that some people actually call it white grapes. I was not far off then.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, it is very similar to small white grapes. But I was never tempted to taste them like grapes do. lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, the white fruit like grapes are amazing that it can be used as glue. We don't have that kind of plant in here.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, exactly. This fruit was the glue for use in school homework. For me and my siblings.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

But is it edible to eat?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is eaten by iguanas and bats. I think it is sweet tasting according to what I read. I never tasted it, but I was not curious enough to do so. The fruit is extremely sticky in the hands. A drink is made from the cooking of the flowers for flus, I don't know what the fruit is useful for.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow.. You have many plants there..the white color round shape fruits are like grapes 😅

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes they are. Thanks for stopping by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for introducing us to this plant :) At first I thought it looked like a pepper fruit but how interesting that the juice can be used as glue. Its flowers are beautiful and you took really lovely shots :) Happy Sunday there dear friend.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

If it is a fruit that feeds wild animals. For me just glue. I had very close to the plant.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow what an interesting fruit! I never thought there's such a fruit that can be used as glue. Hehe. I was only able to try and use rice as glue when I was a kid.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

According to what I read, this tree does not exist in your country.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly. Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So you have only used the fruit as glue but never tasted it? I don't think I've ever seen anything like it here. Thank you for sharing a memory.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It is so viscous that it did not catch my attention to try it. Maybe in my mind I thought it would glue my body inside or something.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha! Yes, as kids we sometimes equate certain results based on appearances.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They kind of look edible thou, I'm curious about this fruit. maybe has something that could cure or has nutritional compound wasn't found in a simple fruit.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, I read that it is good to cook it for flu-like processes. The cooking of the flowers.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't seen this tree in my whole life. This is the first time. I wonder what it tastes like. It seems I have seen a fruit that is pretty similar to this one but different color and it is not edible as we believe it has poison. What is the size of this fruit?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks for stopping by. In the text the tree is described, and the fruits. It goes from 1cm to 1 and a half cm.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is my first time seeing this fruit, Im actually curious about this taste, wanna try it myself, thank you for giving us such information about that group.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It is an experience I have not forgotten. And the plant when I saw it again brought back memories with my brothers, taking the fruit with our hands.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are very observant when you are very young to notice those trees and there functions

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I did not know him. It was my mother who did and sent us for the fruit. She was very knowledgeable about plants and taught me much of what little I know now about plants.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's a really wonderful story you have shared with us. My question now is did you eventually taste the white fruit in the first picture? If you did, I'd like to know when you decided to and I'm curious about its taste. I'd be glad to receive a reply from you. Thanks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad you decided to visit my blog but if you read my post you will get your questions answered. Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I actually read through it especially for that answer. sincerely but didn't see it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"The Cautaro can reach up to 10 meters in height, with abundant leafy branches. Its fruits measure from 1 cm to 1 ½ cm, are oval in shape and its pulp is viscous."

That is the paragraph that describes it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Where's the taste part of it? It's not described. Duurh 😭😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've never seen that tree. How interesting what you say about using what comes out of the fruit as glue. And beautiful the view pic! I miss so much the sea.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It is a tree that grows for this zone of the Venezuelan east. I have not seen it anywhere else in the country. From up there in my friend's apartment, the panoramic view is spectacular.

$ 0.00
2 years ago