Sark Tales Part I

22 68
Avatar for flapiz
Written by
1 year ago

Hello my lovely readers it has been a while since I have posted some of my travel diaries as I have been quite slumped with work. So here is one today. I am taking you to an adventure in an island called Sark!

A view from Sark Port.

Sark is part of the Bailiwick of Guernsey which is a British Crown Dependency. It is located in the southwestern part of the English Channel. Sark has a land area of around 5.4km2 and an estimated populace of 500. It is considered as a Dark Sky Preserve (DSP) as it is one of the few areas in the globe that prohibits cars from roads. Hence, minimising light pollution and keeping the night sky as dark as can be and perfect for stargazing. Let's begin the tour!

Sark Port ❤️

Sark Port

This is the main port where the ferry from Guernsey will land. You can find the ticketing office here as well. You can also find the "Welcome To Sark Tunnel" here. When you walk through that tunnel, you will find the tractors for hire to take you in the town proper. But if you do not have cash then you will have to walk a fair way.

Welcome to Sark!
Inside the tunnel.
This is where you can normally find the tractors.

Creux Harbour

This pebbly harbour is known to be one of the smallest working harbours in the world. People do bathe here during high tide. When we went there it was low tide so we can see the boats kissing the sand. It was quite charming and looked so calm and peaceful.

La Coupée

Well people call La Coupée several things: isthmus, causeway, ridge, and etc. But since I am a simple person, I call this a bridge. La Coupée connects Little Sark to Big Sark.

La Coupée is 3 meters wide and 90 meters long with a drop of 80 meters on each side. Some people actually have trouble crossing this bridge as it is quite too thin and on a windy day, it can be quite fatal and dangerous. But on a nice weather it is relatively beautiful as long as you don't have phobia to heights.

It gives you a nice vantage view of La Grande Greve Beach. Also if you happen to be there on the evenings, a beautiful sunset is guaranteed.

La Grande Greve

My boyfriend and I had a very fun time at this beach. The access to it is a steep stair path from La Coupée (which I really hate as it killed me). But it was worth the steep descent.

It was a pretty beach with a lot of interesting cave like rock formations. It was also white sand instead of pebbles so I loved it as it does not kill my feet. My boyfriend and I made some art using the awashed sea weeds during our visit. I have very fond memories there.

I have only ever been to Sark twice and unfortunately I haven't done the stargazing bit yet. But as always, I look at this as an opportunity and reason to come visit some other time. Watch out for part II of my Sark Visit. I am sorry I cannot be concise as travel blogs make me waffle on too much 😂. Thank you for reading. Much love! ❤️

There are more sheep in Sark than humans. Look at this cutie 🥰

12
$ 0.91
$ 0.69 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
+ 5
Sponsors of flapiz
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for flapiz
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Lovely pics. You should be luckcy to work in such a tourist destination.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I have moved so all I have is a memory there now.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh..treasure those memories

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Those are some amazing views. I love the first sunset photo. Look forward to part II more more!! 🤣

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hee hee yeah I think and more is pretty accurate 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It was indeed, a beautiful tour, I like the view of Greve beach, and the view of sunset I hope one day I will visit it if I become rich haha

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah hope we all get rich one day so we can afford to travel more. I want to get rich so I can retire.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Don't forget me sis, when you will be rich haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ahahaha I think you will get there before me. Don't forget me too 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow! such a nice place to explore

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Indeed and there are plenty more to see.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lovely tour! That's one cute art you did there :D

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah I was pretty proud of it. Thank you :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Beautiful place to explore. But, I wouldn't recommend going to Sark with parents as there are some dangerous parts.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Well yeah the La Coupée can be dangerous but it is also weather dependent. Can be safe if not windy.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow! 😲 Nakaka amazed naman sis super ganda and super unique ng place lalo na dun sa may taas na part sis ang ganda tingnan.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hee hee uu kaso short kami sa time. Still plenty to see.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ganun ba sis. Sunod sis susulitin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh my God!!! This is one of the most beautiful places I've see in the world. I wish to be there someday

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah indeed it is lovely in the summers!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Reading this just made me feel like I was at Sark with you.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Awww that's brilliant as that is my goal ❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago