Happy Birthday Uncle Danny

22 79
Avatar for flapiz
Written by
1 year ago

I am not a very social person, I am actually quite timid but I really took annual leave to attend a Filipino party for yesterday as it is for family. I am currently outside my comfort zone as I am mingling with a crowd for my cousin's husband's birthday. Current time stamp while I'm writing this is is 1 AM. But will probably be continuing this later in the day.

Leche flan ❤️

It was 1 hour and 40 minutes travel from Bath to their home in Bristol and I was getting hangry (hungry and angry) but when I reached their house and saw my cousins I felt better. I also felt even so much better after seeing all the Filipino food. They had lumpia/ Shanghai rolls, lechon/ roasted pork, Filipino style spaghetti, cordon bleu, kare kare, shrimps, yema cake, leche flan, pancit, and more.

I grabbed a plate and started nibbling on everything. I think I managed 3 rounds of main meal and a whole plate of desserts like a glutton who hasn't eaten for a year. I love Filipino food and they all tasted so legit. After dinner the drinking started. My cousin gave me a glass of cranberry with vodka. Then the glass turned to couple of glasses. Then the karaoke started.

Choose a song.

I am proud to say that despite my shyness I managed to sing 3 songs. Also managed a dance after a tequila shot. Someone forced me to dance. I did my twig dance as I cannot dance while I sang "Sway" by Michael Bublé. I was struggling with the singing as I actually have not sang in a long while. I couldn't reach my notes but no one was fussed and everyone was singing irregardless of their singing skills. I feel quite happy to reconnect to my roots.

These kids make me want to have kids ❤️😂

I ended up staying over for 2 nights with the fam instead of the 1 night planned as my cousin wanted to hang out with me the next day. Which was pretty great as I was preparing myself for a lonely weekend as Andre was in Italy for his mum's birthday. So jealous I cannot come, for now.

The very dedicated guests who stayed till 2 AM.

Overall, I had more fun than I expected and I got to meet new people from different walks of life and from different countries too. And I got to hang out with the cousins. It has been a long while. What I learned from this is to keep an open mind and sometimes try to go out of my comfort zones. Shout out to their cute doggos, Princess and Loki, who kept barking at me up till the day I left.

Princess 👸

How has the weekend been for you guys? I hope it's been fantastic too. Cheers!

Loki ❤️


15
$ 0.28
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.03 from @Unity
+ 6
Sponsors of flapiz
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for flapiz
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Family, food and karaoke. What more can you ask for :D

Btw, I didn't take you as someone who is not that sociable :D I can relate to that lol!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahaha yeah I am quite timid until of course I get comfortable with someone.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Happy birthday to your uncle, alot of chopping

$ 0.00
1 year ago

HBD to your uncle 🎊 you really enjoyed your weekend

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you Bella :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Happy Birthday to your uncle 🎉. It’s soo good to share your happiness with your love ones🥰. Your uncle’s house is homey and beautiful 🤩

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you. I will be sure to relay your message.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ok🤗

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awww it was an amazing and well spent spent weekend ate! Masama tingin ko sa lechon hahaha

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Ahahaha nako maski ako sis tinira ko yung lechon like there's no tomorrow.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ahahahajaj ate gora lang minsan lang makatikim tayu ng lechon lalo na nasa abroad ka eh... Pero san daw yan nabili? ??

$ 0.01
1 year ago

May Filipino na nagbebenta dito sis. Pero nga hard to come by din.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Once a while attending such functions is a big relaxation to our busy minds.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You are right. I feel quite well rested actually.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Glad you had a good time and met some new people :) I'm kind of doing something similar drove 3 hours to spend time with mother and sisters. The decided to do something early for this one particular person:)

$ 0.02
1 year ago

What did you decide to do early Mr. Cool? Is it your birthday tomskie?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh they celebrated my birthday early because they can't make it here on my birthday I still have my birthday tomorrow with everyone here.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your uncle's house looks so big. I wish home a wonderful and more year's to come. I'm glad that you enjoyed yourself

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you Biso ❤️They are 7 in the family so yes it is quite a big house.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Buti sis. May kakilala ka pala diyan sis. Napaka sarap naman ng food sis. 🤤 Lechon yan di ba? 😁 Happy Birthday to your Uncle Danny sis! 🎉

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes sis proper lechon with manok on its belly :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Grabe sis nakakagutom naman yan. 🤤

$ 0.00
1 year ago