A Day in Salisbury ❤️

18 75
Avatar for flapiz
Written by
1 year ago

Hi guys! TGIF! My boyfriend and I started the day right by waking up early to do a morning jog/walk. Today is my day off and I am pretty psyched because we are heading to see the Stonehenge. But first, we had to stop by at Salisbury as it is the closest town we could get the bus to the Stonehenge from. And also because we needed some breakfast after such rigorous early morning workout. 😂

Fisherton Bridge

Salisbury is quite an interesting town to me because they have a lot of 15th Century buildings and even earlier dated ones. It is considered as a medieval cathedral city. I kinda liked the ancient vibe and the fact that it is surrounded by water as it is a confluence of rivers Avon, Bourne, and Nadder.

Former medieval alms house. Now a restaurant.
Another Medieval house.

First stop, food. We had brunch at Cosy Club as we wanted to look at the interior but we were a bit disappointed as we were sat right next to the cashier and the cashier and the waitresses there loved to gossip so we had a noisy meal we cannot even hear each other. But I quite enjoyed my food despite this. Poor Andre on the other hand didn't as he was right next to the cashier.

Andre, his prosecco, and his moment of peace as the cashier's were taking orders.
Huevos rancheros for me.
Boston Brunch

Anyway, we moved on from our disappointment pretty quickly and set out to the beautiful Salisbury Cathedral. Unfortunately, we only had an hour to kill before the bus to Stonehenge depart. Not a lot of time so we only saw the facade and the bits near the entry point. The Cathedral was very gothic in design. Apparently there are 4 copies of the Magna Carta document in there.

Main entrance of the cathedral.
Salisbury Cathedral
Conscious Andre 😹

Around the Salisbury Cathedral were some artworks and sculpture. And I quite enjoyed taking photos of them. Some of them are below with their respective titles and artists.

  • Walking Madonna by Dame Elisabeth Frink 1981. Made in bronze. Life size.

  • Formation I (The Dappled Light of the Sun) by Conrad Shawcross 2015. Material weathering steel.

  • Sky Station by Peter Newman 2005. Material: Fibre glass with gel coat.

  • Angels Harmony by Helaine Blumenfied 2011. Material: Campaccio Marblel.

Some other interesting random things we saw were the artistic fudge house called Rolly's Fudge Pantry which had some fudge models of the Stonehenge and The Nativity. I wanted to go in but Andrea said later and later never happened, as usual. 🥲😂

It' beginning to look a lot like Christmas.

Shout out to this cute doggy sculpture outside the tailoring shop called Regent. He is such a cute pawper. He is not a tourist spot but I adore him. Kyah! ❤️

❤️

Overall, I was happy to see a new city here in the UK. I always enjoy seeing new things even the most mundane of things. It is even more enjoyable as I am sharing the experience with someone. We then headed to Stonehenge for the main highlight of our trip. Which would be a story for another day. That's all for today. Cheers guys!

15
$ 1.05
$ 0.70 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.05 from @fantagira
+ 9
Sponsors of flapiz
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for flapiz
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Oh Salisbury! I used to work there for 3 years, but I never went to do any sightseeing or visit Stonehenge! I only explored a road to work and went clubbing after work Christmas party 🤣🤣🤣

You had a lovely trip though and took many gorgeous pictures. Your lunch looks amazing too. Shame about the sitting place - I'd ask to be sited elsewhere 🤣💙

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Ahaha well I would never ask as I am a shy person but Andrea was actually contemplating on storming out but he didn't cause he knows I will be mad at him 😂

You must visit the Stonehenge. It's a UK thing to do 😂

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha, I know sis. I used to work like 10 mins from Stonehenge and never visited since I've been here in 2005 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.01
1 year ago

HAHA OMG well I hope you get to visit some day.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Very cool sites seen by super cool couple:) Look forward to the Stonehenge adventure.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Awww thank you Mr. Cool. Stonehenge adventure coming up soon as Andre is leaving for Italy today and I will get more time to forget the lonely.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

uy salamat for a=taking us with you.. i know i might not be able to afford a trip to UK so reading this and seeing the photos felt like i am also traveling with you... hehe

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Happy to take you on my journey as you take me to yours sis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Love the church! The details and sculptures too. It would be nice to bring your subject closer to the camera and don't forget to include the spires (?) in the photo. It's good that you took close ups and wide angles too :)

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you for the photography tutorial :)

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I love the vibe! especially the infrastructure of the Cathedral :D

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I do love gothic architecture as well. You can find plenty of them here in UK.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That was so great and beautiful day you had and enjoyed.

I love the photography you have taken and shared

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you Leona. Happy with your appreciation ❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is nice sharing your time with your love one, am sure you really enjoyed it

$ 0.01
1 year ago

We had a lot of fun even just walking around indeed:

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's a wonderful experience sis. And truly, wonderful places is even more lovely when with special someone

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you sis. Hopefully to more new places. ❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago