Distractions, oh distractions!

Avatar for fantagira
2 years ago

Wednesday, 15th of September 2021

When I saw Jonica's prompt for this week, I had a little chuckle to myself and I just knew I had to join in and write about distractions. After all I could call myself a queen of distractions. Or should I say Ernesto is the king of distractions? Smiling even more now as I change the date of this article for yesterday's to today, because... well.. DISTRACTIONS.

I see many of you publishing article here every single day without a fail and I can not help but admire you all for this. I keep promising myself to write at least 3 articles per week and I usually fail even at this. Usually I get distracted by oh SO many things! I really don't know how are you all doing this. At the same time I want to apologise for not always reading all of your articles. There are simply not enough hours in a day to read 100's of articles each day. I read a few each time I open read.cash and I save some other interesting ones to read later, but before I have a chance to read them all, new ones appear every few minutes.

As for my own writing... It's not even that I don't have topics to write about. I do. I have a whole list of topics to write about, but I just get distracted like ALL the time. Have you ever seen that YouTube clip about how men vs women brain work? No? Have a look. Or should I say have a laugh:

Of course, looking for this link already served as another distraction from writing this article. I had to look for it and listen to at least 2 or 3 versions, some shorter some longer etc. Seriously, I watched it many times over the years, but it always makes me laugh again and again. I can't vet for the men, as I am not one, but what he says about women's brain in this video is very accurate. In our brains everything is connected to everything, which partly explains why we get distracted so easily.

And how about the taskbar in our computers? When my ex partner would want to do some maintenance on my laptop and saw this:

he would say 'But first save and close all that crap you have opened. How can you even work like this?'

He didn't even see how many tabs I have opened in my browser on top of all other things. Indeed, when looking at his screen he would only ever have one thing opened - the one he was currently working on or in the instance of his work it would be 3 different applications at once that need each other to work properly.

Me? I watch 1 YouTube video, but I have another 10 opened waiting to be watched. I read 1 article, but also 5 others lined up to be read afterwards. If I read a manual on something I also open all the links to the related articles in new tabs. Of course I could bookmark them all and go through them as and when I want to (usually never), but my browser just looks weird with only 1 tab open at any given time. I must say that leaving my laptop to run out of battery is sometimes a blessing in disguise, as it closes all the opened apps and tabs and when it asks me whether I want to restore my previous session I say no and it's like a spring cleaning for my poor laptop.

This is how far I've got with this article yesterday, before I realised it's already 7:30pm and the online salsa class with my friend starts in 30 minutes. So I quickly changed and went to her place. Of course there, I find more distractions! These are of a very cute type - 3 adorable dogs of my friend are jumping at me as soon as I walk through the door. Usually I arrive last minute and if they didn't get enough love from me they would be under our feet demanding some. I found a way around it and usually bring some bones or other treats for each of them and give it to them in the garden, so they leave us alone for the time of the class or at least for some part of it. This time I had none, so I had to spend some time with them before joining the class.

I must say they're usually very disappointed when I don't bring any bones and jump at my bag and sniff it to check if there really is nothing for them, clever little beasts. Once the class finishes they all join me on the sofa and I look like a dog whisperer, surrounded by 3 of them. Dolly on the picture below learned a trick from her mum - Lady and jumps at the top of the sofa and lays behind my back, making a nice, cuddly and warm cushion for me.

Dolly laying behind my back on top of the sofa

Lady climbs next to me and pushes my hand whenever I try to do something on the phone. My hand must be on her, even if it just lays there without me petting her. This can only happen if I first gave Alfie enough attention, or else he would jump on top of Lady and there would be a fight! I call Alfie my boyfriend ;) and he knows that he's secretly my favourite. He even follows me to the toilet if I'm not quick enough to close the door.

Alfie wondering how long I’ll be in the toilet

So these above are the cutest distractions. Usually my distractions can come in many forms and shapes:

  • let's write an article,

  • maybe I'll go to the toilet first,

  • while in the toilet I shall brush my teeth,

  • let's fold those clothes I forgot to fold earlier,

  • now I will write, but first I'll make myself a cup of coffee,

  • maybe just a little smoke before,

  • ohh look, the 24h mining cycle on my phone just finished, let's check it out,

  • I'll just play that game for 5 minutes,

  • start another smoke (I know, my bad habit is back!),

  • I shall write my last night dream in my diary before I forget,

  • now I will write...

  • oh wait, notification bell is red again,

  • Crystal is calling, lets see what she's up to... 2h later

  • I forgot that I haven't made any noise today,

  • oh look, so many unread msgs on TG,

  • let me just check what salsa events are going on this weekend,

  • oh no, I need a toilet again!

  • now I am hungry, let's make some food,

  • let's watch an episode of something while I eat...

And so on. My whole day is one big distraction. I was tempted to go and get food just now and wrap it up later, but that later might come in a day or two, so I resisted the temptation and decided to finish this first.

How are you guys dealing with your distractions? Let me know in the comment section. If you fancy joining with this week's prompt, here are some simple rules:

  1. Write anything aboutΒ distraction

  2. WriteΒ 100% originalΒ content

  3. JoinΒ andΒ submitΒ to the communityΒ PromptlyJonica

  4. TagΒ @JonicaBradley

  5. Have fun!

Until next time πŸ’™

16
$ 8.52
$ 7.96 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Bloghound
$ 0.10 from @CoquiCoin
+ 9
Sponsors of fantagira
empty
empty
Avatar for fantagira
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

I felt super identified with this! hahahaha, this is one of the reasons I donΒ΄t usually post, despite being busy most of the time, when I get free, my distractions get me over. But we will find a way to fix it! IΒ΄ve not forgotten you my friend but, IΒ΄ve been so busy reading your cool content. Blessings

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Oh yes, distractions rule us. I hope you’ll find some time to write too πŸ’™

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will I will, it ainΒ΄t be easy but I will hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Can I take your dog home? They are the best distractions ever!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I don’t have a dog hun. These cuties belong to my friend. They are truly adorable and so loving πŸ’™

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a lovely dog you have ,its cuteπŸ₯°πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These cute dogs belong to my friend πŸ’™

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Time flies by, without realizing it, the hours are insignificant. 24 hours are not enough. You always have something to do, the goal is to focus and prioritize. At some point we are all distracted by something specific.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Time flies by indeed. Not enough hours in a day πŸ˜‰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I had a good laugh watching the clip. It is very accurate. True enough, all of the things we are thinking of are interconnected with each other and there is no way that we would have separate boxes for each of our concerns. Haha. Women really are complicated and prone to distractions.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, we are complex creatures. I’m happy you enjoyed watching the clip, I love it πŸ’™

$ 0.00
2 years ago

LOL! I think you have to start by closing some of the tabs opened in your laptop. I can see Netflix and for me that's one big distraction, haha!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yeah, Netflix is often opened, as I watch some stuff during my food breaks. Not sure why I don’t close it, I guess I just love a messy taskbar πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dealing with distractions are so hard, especially when you are not looking at time. πŸ˜… For us with Kris Castro, we decided that we may try to write 3 articles all at once in a Saturday, then just deploy them spaced by a day in the next week. So that the weekdays will be focused on reading others.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, I think batch writing is a good idea. I was thinking about it for a while, but never implemented it 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha I just can't help laughing every time I watch that videoπŸ˜‚ And I can relate with you on that many tabs open on a browser. Although we are aware we actually waste time switching from one tab to another, we still do it, lol!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I love it too! Did you see this one before?

I know, right? It’s like with exercise or meditation- I know it’s good for me, but I often don’t do it πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, it was my husband who made me watch 😁

Haha the thing we do to ourselves☺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Whenever am online and I just put my phone down to attend to something else then am distracted because it won't do me like going back online unless I want to watch movie on my YouTube hehehehe 😁

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Distractions at every corner πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah every single corner

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"now I will write... oh wait, the notification bell is red again"

This is so me haha, I can't just start right away because I have to check on things first that I thought should be done first haha.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Seriously, what are we like? πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha oh the picture of the dog looks like he's smiling that cheered up my evening haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh good, I’m happy it cheered you up. They cheer me up whenever I see them πŸ’™

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I must say we all are distracted in one way or the other and this make us lose some things we ought to do on time and perhaps leaving it to do them later which at the end, we might forget. I have a lot of distractions too and I can say exams are coming and it will surely distract me from coming online πŸ˜…

$ 0.05
2 years ago

All those distractions! Well, exams are important distractions, so I'm sure you will be excused from checking in πŸ’™

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sure, I will but I can still manage to kill the distraction of coming online daily πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ernesto oh Ernesto. I know you are the queen of distractions πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ but I really want to be another distraction for you. Let me get right to it πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ™ˆ

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Silly Billy! I almost got myself another distraction and go to another salsa party tonight, but then I wouldn't finish this article again and I really want to become more regular with my writing.

Waiting for that distraction of yours... it better be good πŸ˜…

$ 0.01
2 years ago

πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ what a time. You ditched those for your writing? I'm excited and I look forward to more writings...but wait... I'm supposed to be a distraction. Hahaha. Trust me, it is going to be good πŸ₯°πŸ₯°πŸ₯°.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh you keep saying that and then nothing follows πŸ˜…

To be honest, it was 80 miles drive for a max of 2h of dancing and without even knowing how many people will attend it. Crystal went and will check the place out for me and maybe I'll go another week. We've also made other salsa plans for the weekend, so I'll catch up for tonight 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha you always cut Ernesto some slack... Cut me a little too πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚. I know how to make it up.

80 miles...wow. I can travel more miles to see you though πŸ₯°πŸ₯°

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You know how? Well, show me! 😁

80 miles one way, so 160 in total. I knew it will be a good party and plenty of my favourite dancers I would still go, but I'll wait to hear from Crystal how it was first ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will show you πŸ₯°πŸ₯°πŸ₯°

I hope she will give you a positive review though.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, Monika. I was waiting for your article on Ernesto. I feel very identified with the thing about the tabs. Although, unlike your ex-partner, my husband beats me with the tabs. And sometimes, I do hit the restore button. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Oh really? I thought it's a thing that girls do more πŸ˜… Sometimes I do too, mainly when I know I had something important opened and not bookmarked.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will tell my husband to do some research. Maybe he has the box of the women's brain about tabs on his brain. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜… You crack me up Eliana! Maybe a special box was installed for him to be an exception to the rule 😁

$ 0.01
2 years ago