A few questions for the writer [Part 1]

35 90
Avatar for fantagira
1 year ago

Friday, 23rd of August 2022

A few days ago I read @emily2u ‘s article titled Have I always wanted to be a writer? where Ems talked about her journey as a writer. Her article in turn directed me to @bmjc98 's article where I found the link to a plethora of questions to use during an interview with an author. There are 100 questions to be precise and I saved many of them for the days when I just can't think of anything to write about.

Truth be told, it's not like I have a problem with finding topics to write about. It's more that Ernesto is not often cooperating with me when it comes to writing. I first have to meet his requirements for fun and excitement before he allows me to sit down and write ;)

To answer some of those questions, firstly I'd have to assume that I am a writer. That would make me jump into question 11 from the list.

When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Even now, sitting in front of my computer and writing this article I still wonder if I am a writer? What actually makes a person who writes a writer? A quick google search and the definition of a writer I found at dictionary.com is:

a person engaged in writing books, articles, stories, etc., especially as an occupation or profession; an author or journalist.

I guess that has answered my question. Since I write articles and get rewards for doing so, I can indeed be considered a writer. Although this fact only just sank in fully today, I guess the first time a penny dropped some time last year, when I told my salsa friend that I write articles and she exclaimed: ‘Oh, I didn’t know you are a writer!’. I guess until that point I always thought that I’d have to write a book to be considered a writer.


What inspired you to start writing?

I can’t really recall an inspiration as such. As a teenager, I was taken into foster care and being on my own in an alien place made me want to share my journey with someone. I didn’t have a trusted friend at that point, so I picked up a notebook and started writing my thoughts. That’s how my first diary came to life. I still have that first one somewhere in my stash and sometimes I like to pick it up and read about my then life through the eyes of a teenager. It’s very sweet and innocent.

I also shared that diary with some of my school mates at that time. I remember there was a queue for reading it, as one of my mates spread the news that I write best romance novels and I will be a big writer one day 😅🥰

How long have you been writing?

If I consider that first diary as my start point, then I have been writing for over 20 years by now. I won’t say exactly how long, as in makes me feel so old!

Have you always wanted to be a writer?

Truth be told, I have! People have been telling me for years that I’m great at telling stories. Years ago I was car sharing with my colleagues and one of them told me that they love listening to me describing just about anything. Even if I was to tell them off, it would probably sound so good, they wouldn’t feel bad.

Ever since sharing my journal with my school mates and seeing their enjoyment while reading it, I had a dream of becoming a writer. I continued writing journals, but I rarely shared them with anyone. I had couple of blogs too, but somehow I have always been resistant in sharing them with people I know. I felt better when hidden behind a made up nickname and even now, after writing articles on read.cash for over a year, I never share them on fb or any other social media where people know me personally. Just a little quirk about me ;)

My dream of becoming a writer was somewhat paused when I moved to UK in my mid twenties. I barely knew English and doubted I will ever be able to understand and express myself in English as well as my native Polish language, but it didn’t stop me from learning. It took me a few years before I started comfortably reading books in English without dictionary laying next to me. These days I read, speak and think in English. If fact my dad sometimes laughs at me when I can’t find the right word in Polish to express myself 😉

What advice would you give a new writer, someone just starting out?

One advice above all! Read, read and once again read. Both of my parents read a lot and there have always been 100’s of books in our place. Naturally I picked them up too, as soon as I was able to read.

Read books, magazines, publications, articles, manuals and pretty much anything you can find. If you want to be writing in English and it is not your first language then read even more. I remember doing silly mistakes in the past, because I was trying to write a sentence the same way as I would write it in Polish, but many words and expressions can not be translated literally to another language. Also some words that might sound the same to those in different language do not necessarily mean the same thing in English.


The one I see a lot would be someone writing ‘this last July’ for example. No native speaker would write this. They would say ‘in July’ or ‘in July this year/last year’. Not a big deal, but it instantly gives away that the writer is not a native English speaker. There are many similar phrases like this.

The only way to really familiarise yourself with a language is to read a lot. That’s when you get exposed to the appropriate ways of constructing the sentences in a given language. Also how you learn a correct spelling of the words, although with many word editors available these days, this part has become much easier for writers.


That will be all for today. I’ll keep the remaining questions for another time when I want an easy writing topic. Feel free to write about your writing journey using the questions from this website.

Until next time 💙

19
$ 7.88
$ 7.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @emily2u
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 14
Sponsors of fantagira
empty
empty
Avatar for fantagira
1 year ago

Comments

I thought you first needed to publish a novel or book to be considered a writer. Lol. I guess I am officially a writer. LOL.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I guess times change, so the writer is not the same meaning as it was some years ago. We’re all writers here 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm the same... I don't share my read.cash publicly with people I know IRL. Only one person knows. And I had the most fun writing blogs anonymously, than writing on the one that my family follows. GGrrrr there went my freedom of expression.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly. I have a few friends that I sometimes send links too, but I know they’d only ever read the article to which I sent the link, so I’m still kind anonymous. People are so weirdly resistant to anything new.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Know what? Like you, I've realized just now that I am a writer, haha! Btw, I agree with reading and reading more. I guess, both are interconnected.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It’s a really thin grey line. After all we all write and get compensated for it here. We might be at different levels of proficiency, but still writers. And yes, reading does wonders for out writing skills 💙

$ 0.00
1 year ago

From the definition, we are indeed! Though sometimes i'm not that confident.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Me neither. But we continue to write and evolve and writer is just another label 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You still have your diary? That's amazing! You definitely should consider writing a book maybe about salsa or gardening :)

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I should. Although I’m not sure if I have a persistency in me to finish the whole book. Articles are so much easier 😅

$ 0.01
1 year ago

One article at a time then? :D :D

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah, that's how we roll here ;)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ahhh ... Let me try this one, too... I agree with reading and reading and reading a lot.

Also to not stop writing your thoughts down!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Like in your writing day! 😅 We can not stop the flow when it comes. Sometimes I’m cooking while writing, other times I do everything not to write 😅

I’m happy you agree with reading. This shows in how you write too 💙

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yes when I started here 4 months ago,I find it hard for me because I don't have any idea of being a writer and what should I write but before that I tried to catch up on other writers and thankfully they are very kind and considerate to the beginners like me.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That’s good to hear. We have an amazing community here at read.cash 💙

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That made me think, Am I writer too? Honestly, I also doesn't know😂, Not that confident.. though I love telling stories in person but I guess that is only chit chatting😆. "Tsismis" in our language

$ 0.01
1 year ago

If your listeners love to hear your stories and you can convey them in a similar manner in a written word, then I’m sure you are! All of us here are I guess 😉

$ 0.00
1 year ago

After reading this article, I am truly convinced that you're a writer. I love the way you construct it. And funny how you didn't exposed your age. Lol!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha, at least I can keep a little bit to myself 😉

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also thought to be a writer, one must have published a book but I was wrong when I checked for the meaning and I see myself as one. These are interesting questions and I just saved it in case I do not have anything to write on, I will hop on this one 🥰

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Good idea Princess. I did the same. Not all questions I even know how to answer, so I’ll be picking those I can 💙

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'll save it ,a nice topic 🥰Thanks for sharing it ,if could be save my day if I can't think a good topic to write😁

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That was my thought too 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I too sometimes wonder if I am a writer, even though I've been writing since I was very young. I guess it's always easy for us to keep our expectations of ourself low so we can grow.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That is a fair point I guess :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have never thought that I would be a writer until I got the opportunity to earn with it. Nice one

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Read.cash is sure one of the most amazing places to start with a great community 💙

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When I fist learn about pocketbook and got hook on reading it, that is also where I started to dream of being a writer. I wrote some on my Notebook bht never really finish all of them. I lack of imagination when it comes to love story, huehue

$ 0.01
1 year ago

What’s pocketbook sis? I didn’t make up those love stories, they all happened to me 😉

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I never wanted to be a writer, nor expected to be one..but here I am, just an ordinary writer, but still a writer...😅 Passion can be developed..things we don't like before can be our passion once started hehe

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Sure read.cash is the most amazing place to start our writing journey with 💙

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Forgive me but that Romance part got me hahahaha... Come on now...let's fan it into flame. Take me into your loving arms and take me on a journey I've never been before as we make our footprints on stones while we create a walk to remember. Ah..Mo darling...you always inspire me...hahahaha.

I want to queue to read your diary too, Mo... I want to understand your experience in that home growing up...

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha 😂 I was in a total denial back then Ola. I didn’t understand what was happening back then and I didn’t write much about it. In my diaries I wrote about the boys I had crash on and other funny things. The first one ends when I was going back home to my parents. You wouldn’t understand the word though Ola, it was all written in Polish

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahahaha at least there was something in there about a boy hahahaha...

$ 0.00
1 year ago