Hands that Talk

77 126
Avatar for esciisc
3 years ago

It's been two years since I started learning sign language and volunteered to teach deaf and mute people. I've learned so much since then. Communicating with deaf people taught me not only how to speak using my hands, I learned how they think, how they convey ideas and basically I had an in-dept understanding of their 'culture' as well.

Normal people learns a language through listening to people around them, along with this listening and speaking enables us to communicate and convey our ideas clearly. But this is imposible for the deaf and mute. So they developed a unique way of communicating by using their hands to 'talk'.

Learning sign language has been a challenge for me at first because as people who can perfectly hear, we we're taught with correct grammar and the other language rules. A sentence that seems to have the right grammar for us may not be understandable for them. I struggled a lot with changing the order of words and verbs so that I can convey my thoughts clearly. Complex sentences doesn't work for them. The simpler the sentence, the clearer it is.

Example instead of saying "Hello. How are you feeling today?" It is easier to understand if you say "Hello" "You now how". With that they'll probably answer "Fine" or "Good".

Deaf people are very frank or direct to the point. They usually uses the 'Love Sign' which is like this 🀟 to say that they like someone as a person. If you say something offending they'll instantly tell you you're 'bad'. Most of them are also very sensitive. They easily get hurt so constant socializing with them helped me to be more vigilant with what I'm saying or signing, rather. Another way to clearly express our thoughts for them to understand is through our facial expression. I remember that two years ago, I'm always wearing a poker face. But a student taught me to make the most out of my facial expressions and emotions. The uglier your face gets, the more they can understand you easily.

Most people have the wrong perception that deaf are dummies and they don't know anything where in fact the only disability they have is being unable to hear. Most of the deaf people I've met are very talented when it comes to arts and their ability to focus in doing a task is just amazing and they are very industrious too.

Not all of us gets in contact with a deaf and mute person everyday. You may want to learn the basic so you can talk to them using your hands if ever you meet one - learn the alphabets. If you don't know how to sign a specific word just spell it to them.

Mini flash cards I've made to help a 6 year old kid learn the alphabets

If ever you meet a deaf and mute in the future you may want to initiate a conversation. Deafs appreciates it a lot when we try our best to communicate with them.

Sponsors of esciisc
empty
empty
empty

Please like, comment & consider subscribing πŸ’•

66
$ 0.09
$ 0.05 from @Myt.24
$ 0.03 from @Mictorrani
$ 0.01 from @OverThinker
Sponsors of esciisc
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for esciisc
3 years ago

Comments

Very good

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you 🧑

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice..carry on

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wc

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your a very good example to young people today. You find ways to help our cCommunity become better in teaching our deaf brothers and sisters.

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Thank you for those nice words. I am doing my best to extend help in my own little way. Most of them are born in a very poor family so they can't afford to go to school and learn but they need to learn too so they can blend in the society and for other people not to look down on them πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have a deaf cousin back in my hometown. Were very close, I can communicate with her with our own hand sign that weguide though we can understand each other.πŸ˜ƒ In our hometown there's no school exclusives for them. So she stopped attending classes in her fourth grade in primary level. Im very happy that there is someone like you doing such initiatives. Thanks for that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sad to know that she's unable to finish her studies. But it's also good that you tried your best to communicate with her even with natural signs.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

She's actually smart but because of discrimination she stopped.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's the problem! People always ridicule them and make fun of them. As I said in this article, they thought deafs are dummies but they never know that most deaf are very intelligent. They just can't express their thoughts in words, what a pity.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The sad part is, the local government do nothing to provide an exclusive school foris them. Even if there are only few of them back in our Island they shoul provide. Because education is a right for everyone.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's right. When I started to volunteer, I was inspired to be a sign language teacher in public schools and I'm really hoping to become one soon. And I hope that the government, as you said would recognize their needs as well.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah hopefully. It's a great honor to have a conversation with you and discussed the matter with a good heart and have a spirit of volunteerism like you. ☺

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm glad to have a meaningful exchange of thoughts with you as well 😊 I appreciate you for having that mindset.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Until next time we cross our path again. Good Luck and Keep safe. For sure this is not Goodbyes. πŸ˜ƒ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am subscribe YOU Please following me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow! I'll give my salute to you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hehe, thank you. I'm trying my best.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I already met a deaf person. She is my customer back then, I dont know about sign language so she just wrote want she wan to say to me. She is an English speaking. She said she is studying in the school for the deaf. Shes nice. We understand each other through writing

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Wow! Really? Writing is a good way to communicate to them as well. Back in college, I only know the alphabets so in order to talk to the guy at the school cafeteria, we use writing too. They usually have a lot to say and you'll enjoy talking to them whatever way is possible ❀️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah. It was year 2014 but I still remember that girl.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I've learned those hand sign alphabetics when I was 8 years old I guess. Until now I still remember how to do it. Hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's great then. I hope you use it more often 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yep hehe Thanks for sharing to other people hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I really want to learn how to communicate with them. Before entering college one thing i'd like to pursue is become a teacher to deaf and mute children. I studies first the alphabet and later some phrases. I would love to learn more how to talk with them through my handsπŸ€—

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Nice! That's a wonderful goal! I encourage you to do so. Just a friendly advice, if you really want to learn more try to befriend a deaf person. You'll learn so much of you learn it directly from them because the best way to learn a language is through communicating with a native speaker of that language.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, I actually looking for some school or any organization of deaf and mute near our area so i can volunteer and offer any help i can.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's hard to learn sign languages. It become a topic when i was in 2nd year college. We didn't focus thoroughly in that topic but i think these sign language will came in handy when it happens to communicate with deaf or mute people. I wish i know how to use that sign language.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

At first I also thought it's hard to learn the language. I'm even on the verge of giving up because I'm too frustrated about not improving, encouragement of people helped me continue learning. What helped me improve is learning at least 3 signs a day.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Woah that's amazing. I hope someone would teach me these.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Find a deaf friend, they can teach you that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Actually, in my opinion those who were born with impairments are much smarter than us normal people, because they tend to observe and think critically. They analyze the situation. Good idea sharing this one. I learned how the alphabet works for them and I am willing to learn more on how to start a conversatoon with them. Keep it up dear!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are absolutely right about that. Deaf people are very smart and talented. I hope you continue learning.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I want to learn this sign of languages :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm rooting for you. Try it, it may be complicated at first but learning it is very rewarding 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Cool

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice articleπŸ‘πŸ‘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thank you 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Keep sharingπŸ†πŸ†πŸ†

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hello , I experienced to talked with deaf which is my relatives, and since we are not so close and rarely see each other it's hard for me at first to talked to her, I really I dont understand what here talking even she used sign language or body language, but after I being with her for some hours I started to know what she meant for every sign that she make or show up to make me understand her. It's difficult but yes your right cherish every single. Moment that you talked a deaf people.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm happy to hear about your experience. My sister is also deaf and before I studied sign language, we can only communicate about basic things and I'm unable to truly understand her. Now that I've learned her language, I'm able to know about her feelings and inner thoughts and we started to get along really well. Before she seems to be irritated all the time and now I understand that it's because no one understands her and that she can't convey and tell us what she really want and she became less irritated too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah definitely you did a great help to her. You can now bonding with her, and understand her especially she is your sister, if I am in your situation I will definitely study too so I can get along with with my sister, and I don't let her felt alone for having that kind of situation.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

And we do heart to heart talks now hehe 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

How do hands talk

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Don't take it literally. When you do hand gestures and sign language to communicate and convey your thoughts and ideas, that's how hands talk.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice explanation. keep it up. really amazing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I really love this article. I'm proud that you're one of the fast learner signers. Keep it up. πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. Wouldn't have done it without your help ❀️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

U didn't explain what the mini cards stands for..we can also make use of it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Those are alphabets arranged from A-Z.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Tried it while reading your article. Very helpgul πŸ‘Œ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Glad you find it helpful. Thanks.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Doing this thing is quite challenging. Maybe at first it is difficult but later on we got to enjoy doing it as we understand and enter the world of the physically challenged individuals.

Keep learning!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

And aside from enjoyment you'll feel happiness when you got to truly understand them.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

How I wish me as well can communicate well using sign language☺. Very inspiring! keep it up.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have a deaf suitor before, he just used a cell phone to type his message for me when we are together with our friends.. And I cannot understand sign language so I didn't say yes to him for me he is just a friend.. They are the frank person they will tell you directly what they thought.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow! That's a nice experience. And you are right that they are very frank and tells you directly what they thought, sometimes a person will feel offended but we have to understand that's the way they are.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, people must understand them because they don't have that indirect attitude maybe because they can't speak and hear well..and salute to you for learning their language to communicate with them better and teach them. Keep it up, it's inspiring 😊

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Thank you 😊 Those commendations and encouragement helps signers, volunteers and interpreters to keep going πŸ˜‡

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The wonder that I always feel when I see people communicating with sign language never gets old.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Happy to know that 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is very nice of you to create article regarding this matter. I hope everyone could reach thisπŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

In my first time I met a cousin who has deaf, it is hard to communicate with him but I'll do my best to learn the hand gestures. That's why I understand what he sayingπŸ’ž and I enjoyed communicating with him.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Such a great attitude you have. Your experience is also legendary i like it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Me-know-little-sign, Me-talk-fingerspell... Yeah, I know some basics of it.. Usually the questions are placed on the last part rather than the first part..

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Wow! You sign learn how? It's so nice to know that someone here also knows a bit of sign language ❣️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I learned a little bit of sign language through the internet.. I was inspired to learn some of it when I encountered the Special Education class, ( In Philippines this is a class where all unfortunate kids go like deaf, mute, etc.) When I think about them, I know it is really sad that there's no one to talk to, or understands you. So I learned some of the basics of sign, I use ASL.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very well! I'm amazed with you. That's the exact reason why I learned sign language as well. But I usually use natural sign and Filipino Sign language as ASL is quite hard to understand.

$ 0.00
3 years ago