The current year in Nepal is 2079?

21 54
Avatar for dziefem
1 year ago
Topics: History, Learnings

Expect the unexpected, eh? Is there someone who knew about this? Or all of you knew and I am just late to know? Haha. I am looking back in my history classes but I can't remember if this was tackled but I'm pretty sure was not. The only thing that I remember, in Nepal, lies the highest mountain in the world which is Mount Everest.

How I found out?

I just saw an stream on Facebook, he is on OmeTv and he is talking about someone living in Nepal. I was shocked when he mentioned the current year in their place. At first, I thought he was joking but immediately my hand goes to the browser and search for it.

To my surprise, it was for real! It picked my interest so I looked for more about Nepal. I did a little research and I will put some links if ever you want to know more.

I actually like the humor that the guy has. I enjoyed the stream because of him. Haha. Just the part of him. XD

They use Bikram Sambat Calendar and they are 57 years ahead in what calendar we are using ~ Gregorian Calendar. If we have a maximum of 31 days a month, in Nepal they have 32 days. Still, 365 days and 12 months. See here: Nepali Calendar.

While listening to a Nepali guy he also shares about three(3) geographic regions in Nepal; Tarai, Himal, and Pahad.

Tarai - he says it is where the super hot climate and people live there for agriculture.

Himalaya (Mountain)- he says it is a place full of mountains and less population.

Pahad (Hilly)- according to him it is where the weather is neutral, not too hot, and not too cold. And it is the industrial sector where people do buy and sell.

You can learn more here: https://www.imnepal.com/geography

What is the reason why they are 57 years ahead? Simply, it is because they adapt the Bikram Sambat calendar instead of the Gregorian calendar which is widely used by most parts of the world. This calendar was based on their ancient ruler, Vikramaditya who defeated a certain tribe which was in 57 BC. So, it seems they just add it to the current year to symbolize victory. Haha. Later on, it was adapted by Nepal. For more information click here.

That's all! Just sharing what I have learned today before going to sleep.

How's your day?


Thank you for reading. Stay hydrated and keep safe!

11
$ 2.20
$ 2.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.03 from @Ruffa
+ 2
Sponsors of dziefem
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for dziefem
1 year ago
Topics: History, Learnings

Comments

Never knew of this one,bagong kaalaman n nman. Don't we have r.c members from Nepal?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am not sure but I think we have Nepali users here and maybe they do not feel like sharing about this. Haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oohhh ang dami talagang natututunan sa rc wiehhh. Tho alam ko madami taga Nepal na user here pero wala ako nabasa article bout this but yeah new info unlocked!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Trueee daming discoveries dito sa read cash. Kako nga bakit wala ako nababasa about dito, baka di nila bet ishare haha char

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Baka akala din nila like common knowledge na yorn but astig haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ehhh, I just learned about this Today femfem. Super advance lang ng calendar nila pero 4 sure katumbas non yong satin din or not kasi they have 32 days hmmm

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Parang katumbas lang din ate kasi marami silang 29 days din sa ibang months e satin pag February lang may chance na ganon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ohhh, baka nga, pero ang alam ko may taga nepal here ee. Why kaya di nila na eshishare no hmm

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is the first time I know thank you for sharing sis. It gives me information.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well, I discovered something from this. Thanks. Though I thought you are having a fiction story here at first. 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ay haha you're welcome po. Thanks sa napanuod ko may nashare ako dito.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

New discoveries, new knowledge ika nga...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nabasa ko na din 'to before, Ate. Kaka-amaze hano? Hihi! Pero my question still remains the same. How come na they're on Year 2079 eh halos same lang din naman tayo ng maximum days in a year? 🙈

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True. Based sa nabasa ko hindi ko pala nasama dito haha, parang paladesisyon lang yung dating ruler sa kanila haha. Dahil doon sa natalo niyang tribe noong 57 BC. Inadd niya haha tas inadapt naman na ng Nepal.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

First time ko to nalaman dzi. Na shock ako. Yan pala sa Nepal. Iba pala nuh. Salamat dzi may natutunan ako sa araw na to.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nakakashock nga talaga, Ramona. May ibang calendar pala

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo dzi. Pati ako nagulat nung nalaman ko. Kala ko lahat the same lang ng calendar.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow dagdag kaalaman to. Bakit Kaya Yun gamit nila no

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

Ayan edited na po haha hindi ko pala naadd yung reason

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Now that is truly interesting. How come they are 50+ years ahead? My phone's calendar only goes until 2050 and I thought its the last year. Welp, the time is still consistent and doesn't have any limit.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

They are using a different calendar, that's why.

$ 0.00
1 year ago