Making hallacas as a family. Taking up the Venezuelan Christmas tradition

37 92
Avatar for carolinacardoza
2 years ago
Topics: Creativity, Emotions, Blogger, Home, God, ...

A day in the kitchen

Hello to all my dear friends of Read.cash, I hope you are all well and have a good start this weekend. Today I want to tell you how mine started from Friday until today. The truth is that yesterday was a long and tiring day, but when you want to do things right and follow the family traditions there is no problem, it is just a matter of preparing yourself and doing it with the main ingredient which is LOVE.

My Friday started very early in the morning.

For a few days we had already planned to make some hallacas before leaving on our trip, hallacas are a kind of tamale made with corn flour and filled with a stew with beef and pork, chicken, all well seasoned. Here in Venezuela it is already a tradition to eat these rolls at Christmas dinner. As I understand it, this recipe was born from the slaves who lived in big haciendas and every year when their bosses made these big parties, they took everything that was left over in the kitchen and with it they made these delicious tamales.

The truth is that this hallaca is very rich and we are never satisfied with eating just one. At Christmas dinner we accompany it with a delicious chicken salad, ham bread and pernil (pork leg).

With organization everything goes well.

As I was saying, we got up very early, I dedicated myself to put together a publication on read.cash and my husband prepared us a very complete breakfast with Andean corn, arepa and avocado. While we were both doing our things we were discussing a dream I had had that night with my mom. I dreamed that I had gone to visit her and that she had given me a hug that when I woke up I could still feel it, I think I miss her very much dear daily and much more because we do not have communication as before due to the bad signal of the telephones.

After breakfast we got dressed and went shopping, I still needed some ingredients for the hallacas, such as garlic, bacon and some vegetables to make a soup for lunch.

The first thing we did was to go to the man who sells pork every weekend, then we went to Luvebras Supermarket and only I could enter because they are regulating the entry of people because of the covid-19, for some people that was causing discomfort but I think you have to follow the rules to avoid the spread of the virus.

My son Israel chopping the meat

With the things already in my hand we went to the house and I immediately distributed the tasks; my son Israel was in charge of cutting the meat in small pieces; thank God I was able to buy a little bit of each thing that it has, that is to say pork, dewlap, chicken and beef.

I assigned my son Fabian the task of cleaning the leaves, and on other occasions when we make the hallacas at my mom's house we have had to do it, so I was sure he would do it very well.

On the other hand, my husband is good at chopping seasonings, so I left him the job of chopping everything, chives, peppers, paprika, onion, garlic and other things.

The hallacas are very tasty but there is a lot of work to do and there is no better solution for this than to have a good work team to solve this situation.

A very tasty lunch

And while all this was going on I was in charge of making a delicious soup and I say delicious because it was really delicious, I think that more than seasonings and meat what gave it more flavor was the love with which I made it. I think it was about half past one in the afternoon when I served the soup to eat.

The hallacas stew

My intention was to divide the lunch and immediately start cooking the stew and so I did. Let me tell you that the smell and taste of the stew was sensational, especially because the pork gives it a very rich taste. This is the third time I have made hallacas by myself and I know very well that my mother's secret to make them very tasty is to prepare a good stew, so I did not skimp on adding a lot of garlic, adobo and oregano.

Wrapping the hallacas

It is not easy for one person to wrap almost 100 hallacas, but as I told you at the beginning it is something you have to prepare and take it easy, little by little I started wrapping; I like to do it myself because once I allowed my older sister to help me at that point and the hallacas did not turn out very well. While I was wrapping, my husband was tying.

The first thing we do is to take two banana leaves, sprinkle a spoonful of dough that is well seasoned and soft, put the stew on top and decorate with strips of paprika, raisins, olives and capers.

In my country we do not all make the hallaca in the same way, that is to say, some things change. For example in the east they put boiled eggs, towards the center of the country they make the stew cooked and then leave less cooking time to the hallaca, on the other hand towards the Andean land we like to make the stew half raw and we also add some grains of chickpeas.

It was about 5:00 in the afternoon when I got help from a neighbor who is an artist wrapping and tying the hallacas, her name is Belkis and I am very grateful to her for coming to give me a hand.

We made a lot, I didn't count them, my mom said that if you count them you can't make them, so I just make calculations and I'm sure they came out to be almost 100. I went to take a good bath and my husband finished watching the pot. For those who don't know, hallacas take 2 hours to cook, counting from the moment it starts to boil.

At my mother's house all this cooking process is done with firewood and the pot is huge; this year when I get to my mother's house and we are making the hallacas I would like to take many pictures to let you know the experience of this tradition from the countryside.

Exhausted but happy

Today I woke up a bit exhausted from the hustle and bustle of the previous day but happy. I immediately turned on the computer and mounted the pot to make coffee and if you knew the smell in the house, it was a rich smell, the smell of Christmas. As soon as I felt that smell I was transported directly to my mother's house and I thought a little bit about my childhood, about my mother and I felt a little melancholy.

As soon as I woke up I heated up 4 hallacas at once, but don't think they were for me alone!!! noooo!!!!! They were for my husband who was still in bed watching the news and I wanted to surprise him by bringing him breakfast in bed with his hot coffee just the way he likes it. I won't show you a picture because at that hour we are very ugly.

I am truly grateful to God, to my work team, to my neighbor and I am thankful for these beautiful traditions that I hope will never be lost and will be passed on from generation to generation. Today there are many people who do not have time to devote to these things, they say it is too much work and simply decide to buy them from anyone who sells them, but the truth is that I say as the song says "the best hallaca is made by my mother" how nice that all the children feel this and it remains as a memory all their lives.

Well friends, thanks for your support, I hope to continue publishing a few more days before my trip, I say see you soon, take care and have a great weekend.



Sponsors of carolinacardoza
empty
empty

22
$ 6.29
$ 5.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.11 from @soyunasantacruz
$ 0.10 from @CoquiCoin
+ 15
Avatar for carolinacardoza
2 years ago
Topics: Creativity, Emotions, Blogger, Home, God, ...

Comments

Those hallacan look delicious and taste good I assure you, hahahah how nice it is to see the pictures of your family even though the husband is missing, all united in this sharing.

Have a happy trip and find your mom very well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That husband of mine only came to eat, hahahahaha. lie, in the afternoon he came and helped me to cook them. he is the one who goes out to do the shopping and all that, it is also important his contribution besides the money, hahahahahahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh wow. Great team work you guys have. By the way you describe hallacas, I know it's delicious

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, that hallaca has been perfected and is very tasty, hopefully someday you will try it, here in Venezuela it is only eaten at Christmas.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a lovely family helping each other. I hope I can get to taste halacas 🤧❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi Mari, they are very tasty, I made them with my mother's recipe and some special touches from my sister who also cooks very well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's quite a tasking food to make. You do have a lot of patience to make this, of course, with the help of your elves. 😁 Merry Christmas.

Looks like a delicious dish that is. 😋

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, those little elves are a bit lazy, but with music we all get activated, hehehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It’s a spicy dish. Taste soothing for sure. Good to know about your family. Adorable & responsible boys.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello friend, yes you are right, we all form a great team. i think that communication has helped us a lot to know what we feel and want. when this fails, inconveniences happen.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You really made my mouth watering, you've done a good job in anticipation for Christmas

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh yes, i anticipated, the truth is that if they provoke me i make them any day or month of the year, they are so delicious that i never get bored of eating them. i also like to make them and refrigerate them without cooking them in the refrigerator and when they provoke me i take out a few and cook them. but the truth is that they don't last long.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

christmas oh christmas come immanuel.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Es bueno mantener estas tradiciones, hiciste una gran cantidad de hallacas por eso te resulta agotador. Antes no me gustaba hacerlas precisamente por el trabajo que implica, pero hace unos pocos años comencé a hacer unas 30 mas o menos en mi casa, yo si las cuento para saber la cantidad exacta que salieron con los ingredientes usados, ya he ido agarrando práctica en realidad no me parece tan cansona la tarea, es una excelente oportunidad para compartir en familia.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think that if someone lends you a hand it is easier, I once made them alone because my children were small, but now I realize that with help everything is easier.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

¡Qué ricas se ven tus hallacas! Pero lo más bonito es compartir en familia las tradiciones navideñas de nuestra Venezuela.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

that's right friend, we must fight to give Christmas the importance it deserves. not everything is shopping and partying, there are more things that inspire beautiful feelings in this season. Like the birth of the child God for example

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So nice to see the recipes that you and family made together . First time iam hearing about this recipe named Hallacas. When i saw this i remembered about what we make here in Kerala, India. Its called " Ada". We make it either with rice flour or wheat flour and filling with any non- veg or with coconut and jaggery. The wrap is same Banana leaves.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

this dish is very traditional in Colombia and Venezuela, hopefully someday you will have the opportunity to try it. happy day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sure and thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uy esas hallacas se ven buenas 😋! Y la sopa también amiga 😋!!

Yo también me estoy preparando para hacer las de mi casa, es laborioso, pero es una labor de amor y tradición, y el olor que queda luego es como tu dices, olor a Navidad.

Nosotros guardamos guiso para comer con arepas o hacer empanadas 😋

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have never heard that, that is a good tradition of your family and every time they talk about Christmas they will remember this, the taste and the family.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh how delicious. Your Christmas has already begun. It's a lot of work but it's satisfying. Everyone has their activity and it reminds me of when we were all complete here at home. Merry Christmas my friend and bon appetit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you, I hope that all households in Venezuela can make their Christmas dinner and celebrate with joy the birth of the child God. I am taking advantage of these days at home because the countdown to travel to the Andean land is beginning.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

if only I could taste one of that hehe. Because even the photos look delicious then how much more in reality hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So beautiful jinifer, how I would like to invite you one because the truth is that the hallaca is very tasty, but you live far away. 😋

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Owww that as yummy. That's how you made those and that is great Friend. We have similarities here in Philippines food that is wrapped with banana leaves that leaves is extra delicious 😋

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hello lovely faith, for a moment i thought you were from Venezuela because you are very affectionate too. whenever you want you can make them, here is the recipe and you put your special touch.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! I'm sure Hallacas is so yummy.🤤 I want to taste it ma'am. Here in our country we wrapped also a foods into leaves and it's quite similar. I missed also cooking foods and prepare some meals in our house ma'am Carolina.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Through food you can get many memories of your home, childhood and those special moments in your life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes you're right maam Carolina. Foods make memories. Food is everywhere.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't eaten the first hallaca of the year yet. I plan to make mine on the first days of December. Sure yours are delicious, my friend!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

you invite me, hehehehehej. how nice that you are one more of those who do make their own hallacas and keep the Venezuelan traditions alive.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! I'm sure all of that are delicious and yummy. The spirit of Christmas is really felt everywhere.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes, the spirit of christmas is our love for the world, for our surroundings, for our family, we are the ones who put the spirit of christmas in our lives, if you feel it at this moment and wherever you go is because you have and see things with love.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That looks yummy.. We have Filipino food wrapped with banana leaves similar to that. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry for the previous message, that day my internet was damaged and I don't know why all that was framed. Thank you very much for all your support,

$ 0.00
2 years ago