How to make a mirror with flowers made from egg carton. "Recycling is a wonderful thing" try it!

24 66
Avatar for carolinacardoza
2 years ago

Recycling is something wonderful, it seems unbelievable how many people today practice it, with plastic containers are made beneficial things for the home, with the bags today are made beautiful wallets, recently I saw that there are also companies recycling newspaper, cardboard and many more things to make paper. I love all this because it is beneficial for the conservation of our planet, I wish more people in the world would stop buying so many things and dedicate ourselves more to conservation and have a simpler and natural life to be in harmony with the environment.

"A sustainable lifestyle involves adopting habits and behaviours that allow us to live sustainably by minimising our impact, using fewer natural resources, replenishing those that have been used and reducing our waste" Wikipedia.

Well friends, everyone knows that I love to do crafts, I love knitting, embroidery, sewing, but the truth is that I am a lover of projects that are easy to do, I don't like to complicate my life too much.

Recycling is to build something new from the things we throw away at home; I have always thought that recycling is very old, that is to say that it has been practiced since always; for example rag dolls or quilts made in the patchwork technique, they remind me of my grandmothers, nowadays this type of work is very expensive because they are made more commercially and industrially than with the heart. That doesn't mean that they are no longer beautiful, here in Venezuela rapo dolls are sold a lot in parks and typical villages and tourists buy them by the bucketload.

In my childhood I remember that my grandmother Evangelina used to cut squares of fabric of all colours and join them together to make beautiful quilts, one of which is made of jean and my mother still keeps it at home. Recycling is really valuable and has been done for many years.

Recycling step by step 🌺

Today we are going to do something with those egg cartons that usually end up in the rubbish. It is a mirror decorated with flowers, very easy to make. So let's get to work my friends.

Materials:

Egg carton

Cold paint

Scissors

Mirror

Cardboard

Silicone


The first thing to do is to cut out the cardboard until you get the shape you see in the image, but do it very carefully so as not to waste the material.

Cut out the shape of the flower with 5 petals each, so that the circular shape is well cut out; bear in mind that the flower can be made up of 3 or 4 of these figures.

We make a mixture of water and cold paint in the colour we like best (watercolour type) and with the help of the brush we paint, we must not dip the brush too much in the mixture so that we do not deform the cardboard. Then we put them in the egg carton we have left so that they don't lose their shape. I put the fan on them so that they would dry more quickly and went round and round.

Then we cut a piece of cardboard a little wider than the mirror, and this is where the flowers will be glued. If we want, we can paint it to give it a base in the same colour as the flowers.

With the help of the silicone we glue the petals, and we give the curved shape with a pen or a brush, we must do it carefully so as not to break the cardboard.

When we have everything ready, we put some silicone on the back and stick it around the mirror.

To give it a little more shine I have painted it a little with gel frosting.

And what do you think of this craft? I am in love with it and I have it in a special place in my room, I love to see it and know that it was made with my own hands. I hope you liked it and that you put recycling into practice my friends.

"Because there is no planet B"


Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

 

 

Sponsors of carolinacardoza
empty
empty

 

14
$ 7.18
$ 6.73 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
$ 0.10 from @FarmGirl
+ 4
Avatar for carolinacardoza
2 years ago

Comments

Estimada @carolinacardoza, es increíble como de un cartón de huevo podemos rehacer y cambiar un simple espejo en una hermosa decoración para nuestro hogar, e incluso para regalar. Solo debemos activar la imaginación o encontrar personas como tu que nos de un empujoncito para que la dichosa imaginación salga a flote.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love how you put "there's no planet b" at the end of your article. Many people would rather look for a different planet than do their part in sustaining this one. I think that while it is not a bad idea to look for more habitable planets, it is a cruel move to spend billions for a projects while many people are struggling here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're right, that's a campaign I really like to promote on my humble blogs. This is our only spaceship and we must take care of it above all else.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you for this beautiful idea. I love making arts too especially when it comes to recycling. It really helps our nature. #SaveMotherEarth

$ 0.00
2 years ago
$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, thankyou, now I have the idea on how to make my classroom more creative. I realky love it! Great work.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks to you for visiting my humble blog. I really do things to bring a little smile to others.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! It's very creative. With your innovative idea, you were able to create something unique even though the materials are not flashy and expensive. I will try to make something like this and I'm gonna decorate it in my granny's living room. She sure will love this. She loves arts and crafts. Thank you for sharing this one :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you very much, look, on the internet there are many ideas like this, there are beautiful silver and gold flowers.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I surely will. I showed her your work and she was amazed. She said you have gifted hands which I supported also ☺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a creative idea! I love how by recycling egg cartons, you've made something beautiful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you very much, you really make beautiful flowers, there are many models and you can create wonders with them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have wonderful creativity to make beautiful things. I loved it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you very much Miriam, I try to put the maximum in my creations.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your work is really beautiful and delicate. I also love the creativity of using these materials to achieve this decoration.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your very creative 🥰. I am not so creative type of person but I would love to try this one soon if I got time. I am inspired by you hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You just have to have a good pair of scissors to resist all the cardboard you have to cut, I think my scissors were old and broke on a ring...hehehehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! I love how you made it. This is so useful that it will add aesthetic in your room. Gonna try this out.

And I agree, there is no planet B. Well said!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you, recycling encourages green thinking.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome. 💗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I congratulate you because these flowers are beautiful and hardy. My sister-in-law gave me many of these flowers and I arranged my office bulletin board with many of these flowers. Patients started taking them as souvenirs from my office.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

it sure looked beautiful. thanks for your comment dear gertu

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love it! Such a great idea and I try to recycle or upcycle as much as I can, and I love ...Because there is no planet B

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Asi es, debemos conservar nuestra única nave espacial. gracias

$ 0.00
2 years ago