How do I get my child to behave better?

22 36
Avatar for carolinacardoza
2 years ago

They say that life is very beautiful, the truth is that I have always believed in this hypothesis not only because I have lived it but also because I have experienced really good moments in this journey.

Today I would like to tell you a little of what I am feeling and who knows, maybe some of you can give me some advice.

I have two good, healthy, well-formed sons, one is serious and the other is very cheerful and fun. Israel listens to me and puts into practice the things we talk about, this makes the atmosphere more bearable at home, but with Fabian I have to repeat over and over again what he has to do.

Some time ago I decided not to argue so much with him, because it is tiring and boring. At that time I thought that arguing was in vain and that as Fabian (17) got older he would mature and things would get better.

Now Fabian has a girlfriend, a very pretty one, and he brought her home to introduce her to me, which I appreciated because it gave me a chance to get to know her a little and for her to get to know us as well. I don't know if this sudden change in Fabian's life and his routine has made him become a person I don't like. Before we could talk calmly, we discussed and reached agreements, but now it seems that he put two earplugs in his ears and does not want to listen to me.

This causes me a lot of pain and I don't know what to do. My husband is in a difficult situation because he does not want to be part of this situation and lean towards one side.

My problem is that I don't want Fabian to be glued to the phone, the computer and the girlfriend's house all day. I think there is a time for everything; or at least that's how I was raised. I know that times have changed and that we have to accept it, I think that the sooner we do it, the sooner we can avoid many arguments. But the truth is that I can't accept that the cell phone bill is high, nor can I accept that studies are on the back burner and that now I pretend to be at the girl's house every day, who I'm sure is also studying and has things to do at home.

Here in my house I have a motto and that is that we are all a team and we must help, but with Fabián it has cost me a lot for him to take this issue seriously. This year he started studying full time and I liked that a lot, but when he stayed at home he wanted to get up at 10 in the morning and immediately sat down at the computer and even worse, he didn't want to do anything to help with the chores at home.

They are so wrapped up in their world and their thinking that if you send them to make rice it burns and you can't say anything to them because they will eat you alive. Everyone tells me that it's their age and they tell me a thousand and one stories to make me understand that it's normal behavior. But it's hard for me to accept that I have to raise a selfish son in my house who just thinks he deserves everything for the simple fact of existing.

After an argument we had last week I have decided to step back for a while, keep quiet and calm down the heavy atmosphere that was forming. In truth, silence is sometimes necessary and I only hope that when we sit down to talk again we will all have clarified our ideas and thoughts and understand that we are a home, a family, a team and a society where we all have an obligation to fulfill. I don't like to say it this way, until recently the simple fact of loving each other was enough for everything to flow freely, but now it is something else that is not good and I don't know how to handle it.

I can NOT let my son do whatever he wants, I am still his mother and I have to help him, guide him in this world. A mother loves her children above anything, but there are limits.


Sponsors of carolinacardoza
empty
empty


image taken from pixabay

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

16
$ 5.47
$ 4.99 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 10
Avatar for carolinacardoza
2 years ago

Comments

Reading your article makes me think of my kids growing that age. What would be the challenges then. Have you tried talking to him calmly about your disappointments or at least expectations of him? I really hope things would be better soon for you and your son.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have been telling him for several years that life is different out there and that the best thing to do is to learn the basics at home, which is to be responsible, honest, cooperative and other things. he is a good boy, he just needs to correct some details. i hope soon to have the right words to be able to sit down and dissipate this discomfort. for now the silence has helped me a lot to keep calm at home.

I know a saying that goes "The best word is the one you don't say".

That is, before saying a word that hurts or hurts, it is better to be silent.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is the age of trying new things even challenging the authority of parents or elders.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Santa Pacha, but how terrible it is to be in this situation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Teenagers go through that phase. I think it is normal and there is nothing to worry about as he is even a man. Maybe someday, he can sense responsibility when he matures. Just don't be too hard on him friend because the more you force things, the more it bleeds.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, that's what I've been thinking about these days, in fact I've kept quiet to calm things down at home. I really appreciate your advice.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

your son Fabian and my younger brother are somewhat the same when he was at that age especially when he had a girlfriend, he's always on his phone and doesn't even listen to what my mom says. But I guess most kids especially teenagers have gone to that phase

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's right, everyone is going through it. This generation is the generation of technology and we adults are making the mistake of comparing ourselves to it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think your son is just being a teenager and teenagers go through a phase which they'll get over with time. You just need to show him that you'll always be there for him and I'm sure he come around soon enough. Loves does wonders.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How nice of you, what you tell me has touched my heart, I will try to follow your advice.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can understand your problem, my mother went through the same thing with my brother, his girlfriend can help you change some of his temperament, give him some time he will mature and understand that everything you say was for his benefit

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi Lara, I thought about talking to her and her mom, but I'm going to wait a few days for everything to calm down so we can soften our words.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think most moms with this age of sons pass through the same phase. The older son will be a little responsible while the younger one is playful. I have sons of this same age so I can understand. This age is very difficult one to give advice. Hope as time goes by they will learn from us because they are with us. But till then we have to be patient. Keep communicating even when he is in mobile. Never give up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

that has been my thought since i had my first child, to be patient, to never stop being a mother, to give them love. i will never get tired of talking to them and fulfilling my role as a mother.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mother is the best teacher in the world to her child, Hopefully you will try to be the best teacher for your child. Wishing you and your child long life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How beautiful, those words encourage me, I am really not a bad person and I don't consider myself a bad mother. I just want them to learn to value and respect,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

From your articles it is clear that you are a man of noble heart.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have to try to find the right moment so that they can talk... But let it be without fighting... people understand each other by talking.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's right, we had actually been arguing so much that I forgot my own rule, "wait until things calm down before talking".

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Following your steps, they can be a better human. Children learn most from their mother. We all know that you are a pure soul and your sons are the proof.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You don't know how much I love you for those words. I really think I just want to be a good mother and make my children good human beings. My son is good, he is just at the age where you have to talk to them a lot and be patient with them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think your son behaves like a teenager, a lazy one like most. They sleep longer and live in their world. One is more egocentric than the other. Here we all have our tasks and once they are finished they can do as they like but... who lives under my roof lives by my rules. Must admit my children do not have a boy or girlfriend plus we live on the country which makes it easier I guess?

$ 0.00
2 years ago