So, you want to be a writer?

32 114
Avatar for carisdaneym2
2 years ago

In here, we may ask ourselves sometimes if are we really a writer? Can we call ourselves that we are a writer? Aren't we?

Most of us doesn't have any background in writing, we are just fortunate to know how to read and type words or phrases and share our thoughts. Some of us started like"at least I can make an essay for a day" and so be it. I decided to write this one after reading a poem by Charles Bukowski

Source: https://pin.it/6w4KMKH

Based on my understanding, the author of the poem says that you don't have to force yourself to write, don't do it as what he says but, in my opinion, I disagree with some of the statements in this poem. Why? Let me explain my take on this one.

"If you have to sit for hours staring at your at your computer screen or hunched over your typewriter, don't do it"

I always stare at my screen and think of a topic about what should I write today? Are there some new ideas? I was just sitting and thinking until I got the idea even if it takes an hour. Why would you say don't do it? I still write because I want to.

"If you're doing it for money or fame, don't do it"

What if the writers wanted to be a well-known writer isn't incredible to achieve fame? I mean, you are famous because you write well. And what's wrong with writing for money? Isn't amazing to think that you can earn by doing what you love? Why would you stop me to write? Can't we just paraphrase this like "If you are doing it JUST for money or fame, don't do it " We write for so many reasons. We write because we are happy to express our thoughts by writing, we write because we are inspired, we write because we just want to document everything in our lives and many thousands of reasons but if we are focusing just on money and for attention not in our crafts, that's the deal. I still write even there is no money involved but writing can also help us for a living, we just don't write for nothing, we type with purpose.

"If it never does roar out of you, do something else."

So, Charles, are you saying that I should give up on writing? I just can't skip this part because you wanted to be a writer but why does it feel like this poem is trying to make me write? It feels like stopping me to do it but I keep on doing the opposite? Is this written using reverse psychology when he says don't do it, No, I will do it instead because I write and I will keep on writing because I wanted to be a writer.

"Don't be like so many writers, don't be like so many thousands of people who call themselves writers, don't be dull and boring and pretentious, don't be consumed with self-love"

Whatever you say, I will write because I want to, I write because I want to and not to be judge by you.

I remember one time, I wrote an article about my perspective as a nonsense writer. What is the writer's freedom for me?

"My only point here is no matter what they say, you and only you will be the main lead of your story, don't let them manipulate you and don't let them dictate you. You have your freedom to express and you have your freedom to write whatever you want.

It's yours, not them. It's you who brings light to the dark side of your life.

It's me saying, FREEDOM."

It's you who finish the book of your life. Let's write it up :)

My Article: Writer's Freedom

~~~~~~~~~~

This is just my opinion about Charle's poem. It's actually a great one and I enjoy reading it that it makes me want to write more. You really don't have to force yourself to write but it doesn't mean that you don't have to do it. Just take a rest, unwind, take a deep breathe and then write again. It's okay to stare on your screen but not too close, remember the radiation haha.

This is caris, gonna end my sentiment here. Ciao!


Author's Note:

Article #84 (July 29, 2021)

Hi! Thank you for reading my article today! I really appreciate your visit and if you have any violent reactions, feel free to write them down in the comment section as I wanted to improvemy craft, all constructive criticisms are always open to my humble abode. Again, Thank you for dropping by.

In case you want to be connected with my life, you can also find me in the following social media account that I have.

26
$ 12.88
$ 11.82 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @Panky
$ 0.10 from @Nyctofiles
+ 17
Sponsors of carisdaneym2
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for carisdaneym2
2 years ago

Comments

I do like the poem, and find a lot of truth there despite of course not agreeing entirely with it. I think the takeaway for me is to just write when your heart is in it, and when you do the words flow almost by themselves. I never force myself to write, and when I do I can tell, and so can my readers.

But at the same time, everyone is different. While I agree with some of the points made in the poem, I also agree with many of the points you made in your commentary on it.

I think at the end of the day anyone should do what they want and what they feel is right for them. If it's wrong, the readers will let you know.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

You certainly got what I'm trying to explain on my article. Thanks for dropping and I really appreciate this outstanding opinion of yours :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Dont do it

For a writer it's explained well, the writer or journalist must be inspired to write and create a story when there is somebody telling them not to write. All the reasons the poet mentioned will come naturally when you loved the art of words, so the author said don't because you never think of those things when your child and wrote your first story right? haha

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thankyouu ate .. Akala ko di na tlaga ako mag susulat kasi kakasimula ko lang din .. Tama ka who are they to manipulate . me . yun ang tumatak sa akin .. Thanyouu soo much! i will continue to strive ..

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Keep it up :) and thanks for dropping by

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe .. di po ako mka pasok sa telegram nyu po .. Kanina ko po sinimulan mag basa ng article nyu po ..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry for the late reply, ano ang username mo sa telegram so I can add you. Yung links, may expiration kasi iyan then revoke agad. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

PixelGuru po . hehe . ok lang

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is a great poem. It's the first time I read it and I do like it. I'd like to add one more line to ... "If you are writing for Rusty, don't do it!" Hahahaha...

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Truuueee. Personally, I write because I want to express what I feel inside and it is also my greatest way to feel better about the things around me. Writing is indeed our freedom. I am sorry, but I somehow disagree with the poem and I definitely agree to cutie 🤗.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Just like what I have said to my recent published article, I write in order to breath and express myself. A lot of times where I would stare at my laptop for how many hours thinkinh about what to write and interesting topic should I choose. But I write anyways. I agree with you. Writing is our freedom. Writing is my greatest escape.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Nong binasa ko ang daming part na di ko din sinang ayunan. Part naman na talaga ang pagiisip muna. Ay ano, basta nalang lilitaw ung topic mk aguyy. Even those famous writers need to think first, inaalisa ang mga bagay bagay bago nila isalin sa kanilang papel. Ewan ko lang talaga ha. Saka, kahit naman nahihirapang mag isip ng isusulat, after refreshing your mind tapos basa basa, nood nood ng kahit ano, basta after mo libangin ang sarili mo, mas nakakapag produce tayo ng mga topic dahil doon. Pero bat sa kanya, aguyy. Ambot kamo.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hahaha, ang funny ng comment mo pero I think, there's a hidden message on that poem :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

" If you're doing it for money or fame, don't do it"

After reading this, it makes me angry a little. HAHAHA You know charles, first of all kapangalan mo pa ex ko tapos Nakakabw. Kayong dalawa HAhahaha

Di lahat ha ginagawa ang pagsusulat para maging famous at para sa pera. Nako! 🙄 Ako ay nagsusulat lang ako kasi gusto ko magshare ng mga nonsense thoughts and noong nagstart akong magsulat sa fb sa notes, ang purpose ko talaga ay magbigay ng aral sa mga mambabasa ko yun lang gusto kong gawin at di naman ako nag eexpect ng pagiging Famous kasi aanhin mo naman ang Fame? Mas gusto ko pa ngang nasa tahimik na mundo ang scary kaya magjng Famous.🤦🏻‍♀️

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hahaha puso mo🤣maybe the poem used reverse psychology

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We also have same sentiment about this poem. If you really want to write then write even if you dont have first an idea what you will going to write just continue what makes you happy. You're right that we are the one who have control in our lives. I'll take the poem as reverse psychology, that when the author says dont do it, i will do it no matter what.

$ 0.04
2 years ago

A really contradictory and somewhat bipolar writer, however, I understand his point of view, in a few words he wants to tell future writers is to love and appreciate this art, to do it for passion, because they are born that their motivation comes from them and not for money or fame, so I understand it.

Because when we are motivated only by fame and money, we will fail, when we do something it has to be from the heart, that we are born, that we are passionate about, when we do that, the rest comes without us expecting it, now, being a writer is not only reading but also understanding that text that your hands have written, knowing to whom it is addressed, what message you want to give, what is the teaching or the reflection that will leave.

For example this great article of yours, you make us think, to doubt and reflect on being writers, but also in a few words you motivate us, you show us that we must write freely without prejudice, ignoring those who tell us that we can not or do not know, greetings my beautiful friend, another great article on your part.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

I agree on this one, I re-read the poem again and again until I got the hidden message that the author was trying to convey if we will going to understand each line and make a good conclusion on it. Thank you for reading my article and leaving a very outstanding comment, I appreciate it a lot. 🌼🌼🌼🌼

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Really contradicting though because for th first few weeks it was all for the money though...then I grew fond of writing because of the learning phase and rediscovering identity.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you for reading my article and for the sponsorship, I really appreciate it a lot🌼

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You're welcome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Honestly,I also write for money. Also, I experienced sitting for hours with my paper still empty. I've rewrote my articles again and again. So I really disagree with the writer of the poem.

Maybe the one thing I will agree with him is about not forcing ourself. Most of the time, I'm inactive because I don't want to write in the moment. When I forced myself I won't be satisfied with my work. That's why I take breaks.

I agree with your point. We're still writer even we do the things on the poem. The poet doesn't dictate whether we're writer or not(yet he still have freedom about his perspective on the poem Hahaha).

$ 0.06
2 years ago

Sa haba ng comment mo wala na ako masabi haha thank you for dropping by and leaving a comment here. I appreciate it more than on what you think :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May kanya-kanya naman tayong rason kung bakit tayo nagsusulat di ba? Nasa tao na yan. Walang basagan ng diskarte.😁

$ 0.01
2 years ago

"If you're doing it for money or fame, don't do it." This is what I always keep in my mind. To do not just focus on the the earnings. Dapat mas lamang 'yung nag-eenjoy ako.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Writing can really drain your brain power but you just have to unwind just like what you've said..take your time to think up a topic and let you imagination get wild. Goodmorning po

$ 0.02
2 years ago

There are different kinds of writer. There's always been a reason why we write, and I, myself knows that I write to earn, I won't deny for it is a fact. Well, I guess most of us do the same too.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I see myself at the beginning of the road when it comes to writing. I like to create new ideas every day. I'm new to Read.cash. For now, I'm more in the observation phase.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I also disagree with some part of the poem. Money can be the motivation at first before one discover other sources. Most of us joined readcash because of the money. It is later everyone discovered other purposes.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yep and thanks for dropping by HappyBoy :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We write for many purposes. It's our freedom as long as we can't hurt anyone's feelings, keep inspiring to everybody. Yes sometimes we need also a break, self unwind and write again..

God bless you carisdaneym...🙏❤️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

high five! let's disagree with charles! :D keep typing sis! keep going!

$ 0.02
2 years ago