My Unforgettable Jeepney Story

48 406
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Story, Experience

To all my non-Filipino readers, a Jeepney is our form of transportation in the country that can accommodate up to 20 passengers, depending on how big or small it is.

Taking a jeep is a lot better than a taxi as it is way cheaper, and I'd say safer when it comes to dealing with a pervert driver. Okay, maybe not safer, but it's more fun in a jeep than in a taxi.

Image source

This article is inspired by @aj_u2 's noise post, which I highly recommend you to read it here.

You might be able to relate this or if you had a story to share, feel free to write yours by commenting below or straight to my friend's noise post or write your own article about it. Anyway, here's my jeepney story that you might want to hear.

It was in January 2014 when this incident happened. Actually, there were so many Jeepney stories to share with you all, but I like this one better because it's quite funny and sad at the same time.

Are you ready?

It happened probably a few weeks before Sinulog, a festivity that happened every 3rd Sunday of January in honor of Santo Niño or the baby Jesus. It is like the festival of all the festivals in Cebu City.

Image source

It's really famous that many people all over the globe will come to witness the fun and tradition of the Cebuanos. (Need to emphasize this one for our non-Filipino readers)

Anyway, back to the story...

It was one fine evening when I was waiting for a jeep in a busy street of Colon. I was on my way to work at that time. Colon, by the way, is probably one of the oldest streets in Cebu. Here, you will find the motels, malls, establishments, etc.

Image source

When I finally saw an empty jeep approaching me, I immediately wave my hand as an indication that I need a ride. As soon as it stopped, I went on and sat next to the doorway. As much as possible, I want to sit there, so it would be a lot easier for me to get off the jeep.

Minutes after, the once empty jeep had already been full with passengers. I was sitting at the edge, then next to me was a girl, and then followed by a guy.

Image source

By the way, I liked wearing a headset every time I go to work to listen to music. That was also my way of ignoring people and making myself comfortable in a crowded place. At that time, I was also wearing my newly bought purple sling bag, which I placed on my lap.

Then I noticed that the guy next to the girl who was sitting next to me was glancing at me. I just ignored it and thought, "man, I must be that cute coz he's been glancing at me like that." LOL.

Then a few minutes later, the jeep stopped and the girl next to me got off, which means it was now me and the guy this time. Since he was sitting next to me, my attention was everywhere: the street, the passengers in front of me, and my music.

My eyes were busy looking around as there were already great sights to look around. I was too busy that I forgot to secure my bag though it was still on my lap.

Then a few minutes later, another set of passengers got off, and that included him. When I arrived at my destination, I went straight to my locker, where I put my bag inside. Then I realized I needed to get my wallet and other stuff.

I got nervous when I couldn't find it. I started shaking when I realized the wallet was nowhere to be found. I still checked it again, hoping that it was there somewhere. I checked it again and again to be sure and saw a big hole on the side.

That's when I realized that the guy sitting next to me was a thief. He was glancing at me from time to time not because he thought I was cute but because he was making sure I got distracted while he was trying to get my wallet.

I was sad coz I had 300 pesos and my IDs were all there. But I was relieved when I realized I made a good decision not to put my 10k cash in that wallet or inside my bag. I placed it in my secret hideout. Not in my bra, of course, but in my artificial leg.

It was a clever move, I know.

One week later, someone messaged me on Facebook and told me they found my wallet with the IDs. So we set up a date to meet up, and that's how I got back my stuff.

Here's a photo of me when I finally got my wallet.

Selfie the next day I finally got my wallet on the 23rd of January 2014

Closing thoughts

What I learned in this incident is to never assume and never trust a stranger. They may not look like bad guys, but sometimes, they are when you least expect it.


21
$ 0.65
$ 0.20 from @Crackers
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.06 from @meitanteikudo
+ 7
Sponsors of bmjc98
empty
empty
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Story, Experience

Comments

The jeep seems to me like good transport with lots of drama. Been careful with your luggage on such transport is one of the lessons...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Marami talagang kalokohan nga pinoy kapwa pinoy kinukupal kaya wala tayong asenso ei hayssss

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maraming ganyang mudos sa Cebu sis. Nakakita ako mismo. Sa dyip din. Binalewala ko na lang baka mapahamak pa ako. Yan din kasi turo ng kapatid ko.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oo. Dami talagang modus. Ang iba pasimpleng taga pasa ng pamasahe pero di naman pala binibigay sa driver. At tama din yan suggest ng kapatid mo. Wag na lang talaga mag react, mahirap na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Too bad you were stolen and as you say we shouldn't trust strangers. But at least you got your documents and the wallet back. If that happens to you here in Venezuela, you can give up your wallet forever.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I was just so lucky that was the only experience I had. Some of my friends told me there were more worst cases than mine. Some would just point either a knife or gun and take your belongings, which is far worse than mine.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya di talaga ako masyadong nagtitiwala sa mga strangers ..kung nakilala ko lang sa labas..mas better na nag iingat kaysa mawalan ka ng walang kamalay malay.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Tama. Hindi naman ako nagtiwala dun. Nagkataon lang na mag katabi kami.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Here I was enjoying the idea of you ignoring others with ya headphones cause sometimes I like to do that myself and then I read that ahole did what he did. I’m glad you outsmarted him with the secret place tho, that was brilliant MJ. 👍

$ 0.02
User's avatar aw
2 years ago

Thank you. I had to secure the money first coz that amount was no joke. Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As I tend to fall asleep in a jeepney ride, I always sit behind the driver. I always bought two bags with me, one with my wallets and the other one is for my lunch box and other stuff. My bag with wallet is placed at the driver side and the other bag at the passenger side, so as not to be a victim of pickpocket or laslas bag.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Brilliant idea. Never thought about it before.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Buti nlng po at wallet nyo lang po kinuha niya at hindi kayo sinaktan.

Gusto ko ma witness yung sinulog festival 🤗

$ 0.02
2 years ago

One day, pag okay na ang pandemic, visit ka sa Cebu. Maraming taga cebu sa noise kaya I'm sure me tour guide ka agad agad. Hehe. And yes, glad that dude was only after with my wallet.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga po eh, I am looking forward for it ❤❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Never pa ako nakuhaan sa jeep and thank god😊 mahirap talaga mag tiwala sa panahon ngayon

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Tama ka. Pero buti na lang talaga hindi siya ganun ka kriminal. Di ako tinakot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love Filipinos, my little time of knowing you all, I see the love and the fear of God in all you do. I wish to one day visit your country, board jeepney and attend sinulog in cebu city. I believe it a colourful festivals

$ 0.02
2 years ago

One day, you will. You will love Sinulog and enjoy the jeep. Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really want to witness sinulog festival maybe someday. Whay happened to yours will serve as an awareness to everyone that we should be mindful and secure our belongings while commuting. When im riding in a jeep or mrt i always see to it to put my bag infront of me and always check it. Niyayakap ko pa nga minsan e hehez kahit na wala namang cash na malaki dun still importante parin yung mga nakalagay. Buti nalang po di natangay 10k mo malaking halaga yun sobra.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oo, ganun din naman ako. Nasa lap ko. Pag backpack naman, nasa harap din. Kahit naglalakad ako, nasa harap talaga. Kaya lang, ewan ko ba. Parang need ko talaga ma experience yun para lang matoto.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lesson? Wag assuming 🤣🤣 Admirer na sna naging kawatan pa 🤣 Anyway, that was really a lesson to learn.. Ako sa front tlga nilalagay ang bag kpg pumupunta sa city or sumasakay sa jeep.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Na busy ako kakatingin sa paligid. Feel na feel ang music kasi. Tas gandang ganda ako that night. Hahaha. Ikaw, ano experience mo sa jeep?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha.. Haba ng hair. Mali pla 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I nearly got victimized in a jeepney, too. But before he could do the deed, I realized what he was up to and moved away. It was a dead giveaway what the thief was trying to do because there were only a few passengers but he kept sidling up against me and pushing my arm trying to get really close to me. He did manage to open my bag slightly, but never got the wallet out because it was buried way under.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lucky you. Well, I'm still grateful nothing serious happened to me at that time. He only took my 300 pesos and waste a small fraction of my time as I had to visit my bank to report the loss of my ATM. But other than, I'm totally fine.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, you are indeed fortunate that no harm came to you. The money and the inconvenience is far better than being hurt.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right. Don't assume at all when you meet a stranger, find out who the person is first, before being comfortable around them. And we should always be watchful generally, anyone could have done it.

And thanks for explaining what a Jeepney is, it looks like what we call lorry here in Nigeria.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True. But glad I was no longer in the city. I don't have to deal with those kinds of passengers anymore. Here, where I'm at, we rarely experience that kind of incident but of course, we still have to be cautious wherever we may be.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

everytime na aalis ako sa bahay I always make sure na yung mga IDs at wallet ko nasa pinakadulo at loob ng bag ko. then yung pamasahe ko lang or enough money ko lang andun sa pitaka ko na maliit coz i always think na baka mangyari yung ganyan sa akin. hirap pa naman magpareplace ng mga IDs buti at naibalik pa din yung wallet mo. hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oo. Dahil sa incident na yun, company ID na lang dinadala ko. Unless if need ko magdala ng valid ID. Ayoko irisk yun. Pero yun nga, lesson learned talaga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

mabuti nalang walang masamang nangyari at saka safety yung mas malaking pera. marami nga jan sa colon kahit naglalakad ka lang di mo namamalayan may kinuha na sayo.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oo, ang iba, aakbayan ka lang, yun na. Kaya ako, di talaga ako nag susuot ng mga accessories. Buti na lang di ko rin feel talaga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayyyy... grabeha pud atung lakiha, ka wa ba'y puangod.. tsk tsk.. Maajo ra jud Ma'am nakahuna.huna ka'ng dili didto ibutang imong milyones haha..(milyones jud, bitaw daghan na nang 10k uie) ..

Pero, Thanks God nakit.an ra sija, naa ba ang kwarta didto tuod Ma'am?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wala na ang kwarta. Ang mga ID ra. Pasalamat ra sad ko na wa niya giPang labay akong nga ID. Unya ang nakakita kay iya pud ko gi contact.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sagde nalang to'ng kwarta Ma'am uie.. Bawing-bawi na bitaw to karun.. Hmm importante nga naa na imong mga ID..😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's kinda rough that you had your wallet stolen, but at least it came back after a week. I'd probably get so pissed if any of m things get stolen. I guess lessoned learned we must be vigilant at all times.

That's something that I really hate in this world, people tend to take shortcuts instead of working hard.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, I was so blessed that someone so kind to DM me and gave me back my wallet. And yeah, they could have just work decently, but they chose to do opposite. Oh well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana all ng nananakaw, naibabalik. Huhu. Yjng phone ko na kakatapos ko lang bayaran last year, nanakaw at wala nang bumalik sa akin. Nakakatrauma po talaga mga magnanakaw.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sayang naman. Sa jeep din ba? Sakin tinapon lang kasi bigla at buti sa jeep lang iniwan.. kung hindi, wala talaga yung ID ko. Yun pa naman pinaka importante.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naku, sa Mall po. Nasalisihan. Nalingat lang ako mg konti, nakuha agad pagkalapag ko , kasi nagtitingin pa nman ako ng earphones. Kitang kita sa CCTV eh. :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dami talagang mabibilis ang kamay. Parang flash lang ang dating nila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True po.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Our foreigner allowed to attend Sinulog festival, I wish to attend one day. Thank God you find your wallet when next you are boarding a jeepney be extra careful with your things

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, I've been very careful since that incident. I also avoid bringing all my IDs, just 1. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Akala ko naman love story na hehe. Galing din ng technique nya ha. Try ko sana kaso di naman kaaya aya ang pagmukmukha ko. Baka pa pulis nila ako agad haha!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahahaha. Yun nga e. Akala ko me jojowain na ako nun. Hahaha. Pucha pitaka lang pala habol niya. 😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha! Need siguro pang maintenance sa mukha hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago