An Article About Dad

33 118
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
3 years ago

I was talking to my friend last night when suddenly we ended up talking about our parents, especially about our dads. As we shared stuff, I suddenly felt sad because my dad has been traveling out of this world for over 12 years already, and I missed him so bad.

So today's article, I'm going to dedicate this to my dad. I hope I won't cry though.

Long story ahead, so watch out or just go.

My dad was 11 years older than my mom. My mom was only 16 when they got married. Yes, they got married even if mom was still a minor because they had my grandparents' consent.

Fast forward, and they brought 5 of us in this planet world. My dad wasn't the perfect dad (well, there is no such thing as perfect anyway). He was a drinker and a smoker. Luckily, he was only a slight gambler, meaning he liked lotto once in a while and would occasionally bet for cockfights. Overall, he was a good husband, a good father, an excellent provider, a good son and son-in-law to my grandparents, a good leader, a good friend, and a good neighbor.

How did I know that he was a good friend, a good neighbor, a good leader, and other stuff?

Well, you know someone has done well when people praised about that person even if he/she has been dead for years.ย 

As I've mentioned, my dad was a drinker, but the only downside about him was, he wanted us all to sleep when he had to sleep. Yes, that was quite annoying, especially if it was only 6 pm. Good thing mom would manage to convince him to sleep and let us continue our thing. That was the only downside about him when he got drunk.

My dad and I were very closed. Well, I'm the youngest and was a daddy's girl too. Our usual bonding moment was talking stuff like him sharing his past or us talking about the possibilities in the future. He liked singing, too, even if he was quite out of tune. LOL. And oh, he was quite a dancer as well. We also liked sitting outside at night while enjoying the beauty of the stars and moon. Not to mention, I was the one who used to pluck his white hair before.

Another thing about my dad was that he was fond of children. In fact, most of the kids in the neighborhood loved him. I guess because he was a giver. He liked to share what we have with the other kids. Every time there were kids at home to watch cartoons with us, my dad would always let them in and have them sit in the chair instead of sitting on the floor.

To our non-Filipino readers, in my country, especially back in the days, some households won't welcome other kids inside their house. Probably because more kids mean more mess and more noise. But my dad was different because he let them stay inside, sit on the chair (unless if we are too crowded, so some kids had to sit on the floor), and gave some snacks if we have any.

Actually, there was so much good stuff that I could write about him here but I won't discuss any further as I don't want to bore you with my long story. But the point is, he was really a good man, not just to us, his children, but to other people as well.

Dad taught me the value of saving money, and why education is so important. He showed me how to be kind to people, to animals, and to nature. He was kind, humble, and selfless.

When he died, a part of me died too. I lost the only man who ever loved me so dearly, and I really miss him so much. Sometimes, I would still see him in my dreams as if he was still alive. He looked so happy though.ย 

So to all of you who's dad is still alive, always find time to show him how you truly love and appreciate him before it's too late.

**All photos are mine.

You may also want to read my other posts here:

LIKE, COMMENT, and SUBSCRIBE

17
$ 3.94
$ 3.82 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.11 from @Telesfor
$ 0.01 from @leejhen
Sponsors of bmjc98
empty
empty
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

you can post more content about your dad but the title it can be more attractive

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I know. Unfortunately, I'm not good at writing catchy titles.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

good article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yeah some neighbor's won't allow kids inside I remember this before haha so we managed to peek at the window only.. As for talking about Father. You are lucky to experience all of that, you have memories to Treasure in your Mind and heart. I don't know if my Dad is still alive. I don't have a memories and even forgot his face the only left in my memory bank is just he gave me before a two peso coin the coconut one๐Ÿ˜† . wherever he may be hope he will okay.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Aww, sorry to hear about your dad. I hope he is okay though, and you guys will meet again. As for peeking in the window to watch TV, I experienced that one too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

i love my dad more than anyone in this world. your article is speecless my dear. Subscribe me read my articles and comments on them.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for appreciating my article.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You welcome. Subscribe me comments on my article, stay connected โค๏ธ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're lucky to have had a good father though. I can see that you guys were really cared for even until before his passing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. And yes, I was his little princess Kaya super close kami.. Advantage din cgro pag bunso.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sana all bunso. I'm the eldest and i have the worst relationship with my father. Kind of jealous about it too but there's nothing i can do with my relationship with my dad

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Dad is very loving person.it's a nice article.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much. And yes, he was a loving father to me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Dad has this special kind of bonding with their kids. I miss my father too:)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, sis. Iba din kasi level nila magmahal. Minsan hindi showy but you can really feel it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, minsan lang pero damang-dama at impactful sis

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So true. By the way, kung wala kang idea ano susulat mo for your next article, pde mo gawin yung latest post ko. Sisiw sayo yun.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Check ko๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sige sis.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I feel so bad about your loss, but my eyes are full of tears when someone speak about family, parents. ๐Ÿ’œ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well, when it comes to family, most of us are easily get teary-eyed, especially for those who are so closed with them.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I miss my dad too. You describe your dad really well I can see him giving snacks to the kiddos while watching television on your home.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Where is your dad?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

He's already in heaven 2 years ago.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Aw, sorry for your loss. Well, just think of him as having a long vacation. One day, we will see our loved ones once again.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You miss your father a lot. Is your mother still alive?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, she is and very much well. Thank you for asking, Telesfor.

Thank you for the upvote, though, you don't have to. But thank you so much.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Can you see your mother often? Do you have a good relationship with her?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, we live together. We are also closed. I didn't mention her here that much coz this article is for my dad. :) But we are totally okay. :) Thank you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, I know that the article is about your father. I remember you wrote about him before. I don't remember you writing about your mother, so I asked.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ohh, well, I am about to write about my mom actually. The plan was to write about dad first and then mom.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your article makes me appreciate my dad all the more. I don't know what I'll do if I were to lose him. You're so strong and I know your dad will be proud of youโค๏ธ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you, Kommie. Well, I really do hope that he is proud of me, and I am proud to be his daughter.

$ 0.00
3 years ago