Spooky Sunday

10 35
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago

It's October 31 and that means it is halloween. In other countries, they do celebrate halloween by dressing up, having parties, doing trick or treat and they also carve pumpkins. Honestly, I really do not know the meaning behind halloween. I just know about All Saints' Day and All Souls' Day. LOL. Do you know why they celebrate this day?

I researched about it and this is what I have learned about halloween according to Country Living site.


You already know that Halloween takes place on the last day of October, but here's something you might not know: The word itself literally means "hallowed evening," and was previously known to early European celebrators as All Hallows' Eve. All Hallows' Eve (October 31) and All Saints' Day (November 1) both paid homage to saints ("hallows" = saints). The name was eventually shortened to "Halloween," which we know and love to this day.


You can read more about it here in case you wanted to know more about halloween. However, I am not going to talk about halloween today but rather I am going to share about some spooky and hilarious ghost stories that I have experienced before. This article is inspired by @BreadChamp's WFH creepy experience and Who's inside the coffin. She published it a month ago and I only got to read it recently. And speaking of recently, I also got to read @Bjorn's Faith healer: santigwar article; which he have published months ago. It just means that I still have a lot of articles to read from each and everyone of you. LOL. In case you want to read some other spooky stories, you can check them out.

As a kid, I was really fond of watching some documentaries about ghosts and other folklores. When we would visit my late grandfather from my mother's side in the province, my mom, my brother and I would go to our relative's house on halloween and we would go to the cemetery the following day. Then my cousins and I would always watch Magandang Gabi Bayan Halloween Specials, a TV program here in the Philippines, with lights off. LOL. We just wanted to scare ourselves even more by turning off the lights and we would have popcorn while watching. The elders would laugh at us everytime we would scream.

Do you also enjoy watching or reading some ghost stories? But have you experienced anything creepy or scary? Because I do. There was a time when there was a city wide power interruption for hours decades ago. That time my aunt and our other relatives went out after they had breakfast and went to the mall to buy their last minute shopping so they can pqck it in their boxes as they were scheduled to go back to America the following day. My brother and I stayed at home with 2 of our cousins and their parents to watch over house. So we were only 6 in the house, 4 kids and 2 adults. It was only me and my aunt who were female. I cannot remember how long the power interruption was but I know there was still power when our relatives left our house. Back then there was still no mobile devices and we cannot contact our relatices where they were. My aunt has been very worried because it was getting late and they were not yet home. I think there was also a typhoon that time.

When it was bedtime, our aunt was telling us to sleep already and it will just be here who would wait for our relatives. So I was calling my aunt who was sitting in our living room. It was dark but I know that she was there because of the white silhoutte until my aunt tap me on my right shoulder and wondering why I was looking at the living room. I was actually about to step towards her when my aunt tapped me. Our house is a bungalow and we just have a 2 step stair and a few steps away from the living room.

My aunt asked me who I was calling in the living room and told her that I was calling her. She thought I was just making stories and was trying to scare her but I didn't. After half an hour, our relatives have arrived and there was still no power.

The following day while my relatives were busy weighing their luggages, we got a domestic call and we were informed that my late grandfather's sister already passed away. Our relatives were saddened about the news that they have decided to rebook their flights so that they can visit her remains. My aunt who was with us during thr night remembered the silhoutte that I was calling and she told it to our other relatives and they have confirmed that the silhoutte that I saw was their aunt or my grandmother. They had goosebumps after hearing about the story. Their guess was maybe the soul of their aunt went here to our house to bid goodbye to her relatives but sadly, some of them were not home and it was only I who saw her. A little scary right? I think I was around 8 or 9 years old that time.

Do you still want to hear some other stories? Will continue about some of scary and creepy also stories on my next article.

I have already drafted this article this morning and just as I was about to publish it, I read first @Murakamii.7's my fam and friend's scary experiences article to add to your reading list for tonight.

Enjoy. Happy halloween.

P.S. lead image is a photo that I took when I went to the supermarket days before my birthday.

5
$ 2.45
$ 2.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Bjorn
$ 0.05 from @Ellehcim
+ 1
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago

Comments

I would not want to live that kind of experience, it is very scary, I would not sleep all night.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your family might be envious of you because you were the only one who saw your grandmother. It is a nice feeling for me. I would feel special and sentimental especially if we were close or we had troubles back then. It would seem that she wants to reconcile.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I only had a few memories with my grandmother as she was always in the province where they grew up. It was my mom and her siblings who had a lot of memories with her as she was their aunt and she was like their second mother.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naku naman. Puro creepy stories nababasa ko sa gantong panahon ahuhu.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wala pa ako nababasa ngayon maliban yung kay Murakamii.7 kahapon. Pero si Lycalyke alam ko meron siya 2 part story. Bababsahin ko na maya-maya. Hehe. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe, bakit puro nakakstakot πŸ˜…ganun ba talsga dapat.😁😁 kapag katapusan ng octubre

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha. Sayang din kasi ang topic na scary πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

SabagayπŸ˜…πŸ˜…ako nga rin may entry eh.😁😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kakatapos ko lang po manuod ng KMJS gabi ng lagim ngayonn hahahaha. And that dople ganger po nakakita na po ako niyan and I even had my own dople ganger. Every time I remember it it creeps me out

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ang gusto kong doppelganger yung sa Vampire Diaries. Pero ang scary nun. As in nakita mo sarili mo? Nagsasalita? Paano? Ano nangyari?

$ 0.00
2 years ago