Products of hardwork

6 34

Now that we have travelled (or simply talked about. LOL) my dream destinations, let us go back to the reality. LOL. Yesterday was 11.11 or November 11 and that only means that a lot of great deals were up for grabs on popular ecommerce platforms. I cannot remember the last time that I have ordered from Shopee but it was probably last May when I published a 2 part article about the things that I/we bought during that month. It was not 5.5 or May 05 sale as it was probably around payday sale. You can read more of that here.

So after almost 6 months, I bought some things from Shopee again not only because it was 11.11 sale but also due to the fact that my dad had been wanting to buy some Kirkland and Nature's Blend medicines. We have been talking about it since last week but it was only last Tuesday night when he gave me the go signal to order it. I did not order it yet because I was planning that I would also order the Christmas decors that were already on my cart. It was September wheΒ  I started looking for Christmas decors. We do have an existing Christmas garlands but I was planning to accessorize it more and also to buy a Santa hat for all of us to wear (if my parents are up for it. LOL). I want our Christmas to be merry and bright this year.

It was Wednesday morning when I have transferred a small amount of my earnings here to my Coins.ph wallet. I have to buy those Christmas decors now because we might not be able to put up our garland if I were to order it later this month or early next month considering that it is going to be Christmas season already and there may be a lot of bulk orders and delays on the deliveries. I know that it was very unwise for me to order it just now but somehow I really have to do it. I know I have not yet reach my desired amount for my payables but here I am buying a lot of things. LOL.

Other than the Christmas decors, I saw one of the smartwatch that I was eyeing since early this year was on sale. The discount was almost Php1000 (around $20) and that is really a good deal. I even posted about it on my noise.cash account and even raised my concern to some of my virtual friends @bbghitte and @Firenze. They told me to buy it and because I am a very easy person to talk with, I instantly purchased it. LOL. The former said to go for it as an early gift and the latter said that I should reward myself and so I did. (Sorry girls if I have uploaded your messages for me without notifying you about this.)

I may not have those items yet on my hand but the things that I have bought yesterday and in the past, I consider it all as fruits of my labor.Β 

It has been a long time since I made a writing prompt from @JonicaBradley. I stopped at labelling. Since her first prompt on freedom, I was consistent with it. I just wanted to have my prompt in order. LOL. I found out months ago that her twelfth writing prompt was about fruits of labor and that time I was still not in the mood to talk about mine.

Though the very first thing that comes to my mind with regards to the fruits of my labor was the very first iPhone that I have purchased out of my own salary. It is something that I am proud to say that was a product of my hardwork. That time I applied for a postpaid plan so I only have to pay for the cashout balance. My cashout balance before for the phone was around Php30,000 ($600). It was actually a little lighter than to pay twice as much just for a phone. Then my monthly postpaid bill was around Php2,000 ($40) which is locked in for 2 years. When I was counting my money, my heart was beating so fast. That feeling that I was going to spend thousands of money for a phone. The money that I have worked hard for being a restaurant manager will be out of my hands after a few seconds. Those were my thoughts during that time. I actually wanted to backout but I just told myself that the phone will be a product of my hardwork from the 4th company that I have worked with.

With my previous jobs, I really did not buy anything for myself as my salary went to food, drinking and partying. I may have bought a few items during those times but nothing so remarkable nor sentimental. So the iPhone was the very first thing that I have bought. From the 5th company that I have worked with still as a restaurant manager, it was the Adidas shoes. It might not be as expensive as the iPhone but I love looking at it whenever I am using it. I would smile because it was my first time to buy a pair of shoes from Adidas. I have bought some Adidas items before but the money that I have used were from my parents. Other than the Adidas shoes, I also bought myself an Adidas phone armband for running, a branded phone case cover and lastly an Adidas shoes for my past flirtationship. Those were some of the memorable items that I consider as fruits of my labor from working in a ramen restaurant. A lot of material things that has little value now but I have no regrets of buying those things.

Adidas shoes. So comfy and stylish
Adidas phone armband. Downside ia I can only use this for iPhone 6s and 8. Not sure if this will fit newer iPhones (except XR, XS, XS Max, Pro and Pro Max)

I may have spent most of my salary on a lot of things but I was also able to treat my mom before. We would eat, watch a movie and pamper ourselves once a week. But if I were to have a stable income in the future, I would want to buy a condominium, a life and health insurance and I would also want to travel. These are the fruits that I would most certainly be proud of especially in the future. I am not saying that I am not proud of the material things that I bought before but I think it would be a lot better to invest in the future and to collect memories rather than things. It was a famous saying that I have heard when I was still in high school but it is only now that I have gave some thought about it.

Do you also value the material things that you bought from your own hardwork? Do you also feel sad when you lose it or if it got a dirt or a scratch? Count me in. LOL. Well who would be happy if you lose something right?

We can reward ourselves from time to time but for me it should be something that is worth our hardwork and is something that is within our budget. I hope we can also get to acknowledge the fruits of our labor no matter how small or grand it is and most especially if it was from our own sweat.


This is myΒ  article for JonicaBradley's writing prompt #12 Fruits of Labor

The rules are simple:

1. Write anything about The Fruits of Labor
2. Write 100% original content
3. Write at least 600 words so Rusty will come to reward you
4. Submit your story to Promptly Jonica here
5. Tag JonicaBradley
6. HAVE FUN!

P.S. lead image is a paper bag from when I bought another iPhone.

8
$ 5.82
$ 5.51 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Bjorn
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 5
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Bakit kayo kaya nyo na gastusan self nyo I mean yong as a reward nga for yourself diba. Pero bakit ako ang tipid ko kay self ahahahaha. Alam mo un gusto ko nito pero pag andun na at nakita na talaga ung actual price biglang aatras wahahaha. Sa foods lang talaga ako di tipid aigooo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako din, want ng life insurance. About to have the next fruit of labor this yearend! Bibili na ako mg new phone eh. πŸ˜„

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Deserve na deserve mo yan, bbs! Bet ko din yung shoes na nabili mo. πŸ’—πŸ˜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations on all that you have been able to buy thanks to the fruits of your labor. I hope you continue to grow your profits and continue to grow.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe yung six months na hindi nakapag shopee sis. Roommate ko nuon kada linggo may darating huehhe. Hindi na talaga nakakatuwa

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nung nabagsak ko ung unang tablet na nabili ko para sa sarili ko, sobrang iyak ko kc nag crack xia at wla pa siyang two months sakin..πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜… grabeh ung sakit ng makita ko ung crack, mas masakit pa sa break up eh..πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago