Love or family

15 44
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago

When I was drafting the introduction on It's complicated article, I got an idea to talk about today's article when I asked,

Have you ever fought for someone before? What happened? Are you still together or not anymore? Did you choose love over family or vice versa?

Was there ever a time that you fought for someone because you loved that person so much however, your parents were not in favor of your love story? Seems like a love story of Romeo and Juliet or that typical drama that we watch right? As much as I want to say that it only happens in books and TVs, I cannot because it happens in real life and I did not imagine that I would also experience that situation.

I have already shared with you the story about my first love. He was a pump attendant or a gas boy where our coffee shop was located and we were just under one company. I was so young and very much in love. We even talked about living together and starting a life just the 2 of us. He introduced me to his brother and sisters while I only introduced him to aome of my friends. He was not able to introduce me to his parents because when I went to their province, his parents were not home. I on the other hand, I cannot introduce him to my parents especially to my mom because I know that my mom would disapprove of him and our relationship.

Our parents have high expectations on us. They only want what's best for us that the first thing that they told us when we started to hit puberty is to focus and finish our studies. We can fall in love but it should not be a distraction to our studies. Well that did not happen to me when I was in college as no one courted me back then. LOL. I was in all girls school from elementary to college. That is why it when I lost a lot of weight after college and started working, it was when my world had changed. I experience falling in love and having my heart broken.

Working in the restaurant industry has a higher chance of falling in love with their workmates and slight percentage to their guests. With the guests, it depends on how persistent they are. I did experienced having guests as admirers. Most of them would bring food to the store but I did not go out with them because I was afraid that maybe something bad will happen. At first I was hesitant to accept the foods that they gave me thinking that there might be a love potion but I still ended up taking it and sharing it with my other workmates. Sadly, I did not like those guests because I would only see them once a week unlike with the pump attendant who I always see for 5-6 times in a week and I was more into looks. LOL.

With all the years that I have worked in the restaurant industry, there was not one guy that I know who would pass my mom's standards. But that doea not mean that I did not tried my best to fight for mt first love. I did slowly told my mom about my first love. That even if he was a pump attendant, he also was a college graduate. If I remember it correctly I think he was a mechanical engineering graduate. He onky ended up being as a pump attendant because he needed to start working after he graduated and one of the gas stations of our boss was near their province so he grabbed that opportunity. He was only transferred in Metro Manila so he would be part of the opening team and that is where we met.

No matter how many times I tried to build him up to my mom, she was not really interested. But I only told my.mom before that he was courting me. Little did she knew that we have already exchanged I love you. My mom said a lot of things to me and she even wanted me to resign right away from my job but of course I never made any resignation letter. Because my mom knew that there was someone from work that was courting me, she became even more stricter. She would drive me to work just few minutes before clock in and she would be on our store half an hour before my duty ends. That means, I do not have any more time to spend with him but we still did tried to glance at each other and exchange sweet smiles even if we were on duty as the coffee shop was just in front of the gas station.

It was.with my firdlst love that I lied a lot of times to my parents just to be with him. I would sometimes tell my mom that I have straight duty even if I only had 1 shift. I chose love over my family but not to the point that I would run away from home. However, if he did not have a girlfriend that time, maybe there's a chance that I would choose him over my family.

Would you choose love over your family or your family over love? I always say that things happen for a reason and I believe that he just came into my life for me to learn something out of it. I do not know what would have happen if I chose him or if my parents would still welcome me with open arms even after I betrayed them buf I hope that we all can meet someone that our parents would give their blessings to us and the person that we love. Choosing between love and family is difficult. I am not going to say to you that you choose love over your family or vice versa but I hope that before you would choose one, you should have to think about it a lot of times. If you are going to choose love, ask yourself if it is worth it. Remember that our parents only want what's best for us. We can meet and fall in love many times but we only have one mother and father who loves us unconditionally. But I know that God will give us the love of our life that our parents would approve of and we do not need to choose anymore. We just have to faith for that person to come.

P.S. lead image is a photo of me and my parents.

9
$ 7.10
$ 6.19 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @bbghitte
$ 0.10 from @JLoberiza
+ 8
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago

Comments

Ciao, dear! This is me @AnnaMarie24 from noise. I just have time today to read your article -as a lot of work to be done for the last couple of days and together with the vaccine. Anyways, I could relate. I recalled my first love -I often made excuses just to see him or have a date with him. I even prioritize love over my family. But it never come to a point that I didn't come home. Yet we ended the relationship badly because he asked something more -more than kiss and hug! haha and I'm not ready to give it though.

You know, dear -this makes me emotional when you write: "We can meet and fall in love many times but we only have one mother and father who loves us unconditionally." I may fail many times in my past relationship but I never have regrets that I never leave home and my family. When my father passed away -I understand how much he loves me. My parents stay to love me more each day. They are the most beautiful treasure we could ever have in this world.

Lastly, I wanted to congratulate you on an eye-opener experience. You write well, dear! I love it. Keep pushing and writing. ^_^ Stay safe, my dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nasabi mo na, parents only wants the best for their children. Kaya lang kung sobrang strict naman, yung gagawin ng mga anak, magtatago hangang kakayanin. Or kung minsan, ayun magtatanan.

Pero... Sa pagdating naman sa pag desisyon sa buhay, hindi dapat palaging emosyon ang pagbasehan kung ano ang tama at mali.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't been in that kind of situation where I had to choose love over family. I chose both :D My family knows all about my love :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There's no way I will choose love over family. Naisip kong maglayas pero ang magtanan never. Di manlang ako natemp kahit paba kihum mga relasyon ko. I mean, di ganon kalalim ang love para gumora. Yeah not worth it. And if ever iI decided to run away with someone, magkakaroon ba ako ng magandang buhay sa kanya? I mean, food iz life kasi ahahahaga. Awan mas mahalaga ang sarili ko noon kesa love. Masaya magka juwa pero madali kasi ako mag sawa kaya hmmm hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My parents were never against any of my past relationships tho so I don't have enough say for it. But the situation of yours is hard. Does that mean he has a gf while he's pushing you through

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You mean he has a girlfriend while you both are also in a relationship? 😮 Anyway, I don't think I'd go as far as fighting my family for love. I always asked them for important decisions.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

No one knew that he had a girlfriend. The first that he courted back then was our accountant. Then he only focused his attention on me when he found out that I like him and our accountant turned him down. I found out about his girlfriend when our relationship was getying deeper. He said that he never knew that he would love me more than his girlfriend. That when he was going to break up with her, he found out that she was 2 months pregnant. My first love was so remarkable because it was after we broke up that I did a lot of crazy things even hurting myself by burning my forearm with cigarettes or slashing my wrist with my nameplate and many other stuffs. #darkestpast 😥

I do hope that you won't experience fighting your family over love.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Reading this one late, and your story is so sad it could pass as a movie. :(( That's really tragic. I hope you'd fully overcome that part of your life already. It was surely hard because you both love each other. :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These are difficult decisions to make, if you choose love the parents must finally accept even if they do not agree, if the relationship is good, then calm returns. I think parents should guide, but not make your decisions.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It was really a tough decision. They do not know that the more that they are hard on their children, the more that they will break their parents' trust.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

when i was younger, I had done the same thing... don't worry, you are not alone... I am just glad that even if my parents disapproved of that person, they'd still allowed him to visit me at home...but they'd always remind me once the guy leaves the house about why they don't like him and etc...hahaha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahahaha. Ang kulit. Sa akin hindi alam ng nanay ko kung ano itsura or sino. So kung may pupunta noon sa bahay na workmates tapos may lalaki, grabe sama ng mukha ng nanay ko tapos magdadabog. Parang nagpaparamdam na umalis yung mga workmates ko sa bahay. 😁 tapos saka ako papagalitan sa bahay sasabihin na ayaw niyang may mga lalaki na pupunta sa amin. Buti nung sa last 2 companies na napasukan ko ok na sa kanya mag-inom mga workmates ko sa amin. Siguro kasi ramdam niya na wala naman akong pinagkakainteresan sa mga yun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is true, I had experienced it before but in my case, my father is the only one against it. I had to choose my father over my love, coz I know no parents would not make a wrong decision for their child's sake. But we do have something at that time when my father knows about it, I don't hesitate to break up with him.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I was the opposite. The more that my mom was against us, the more that I fought for it. 😅 love can really make us do the silliest things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha 😅true we can do the things na Hindi naman natin Nakagawa noon, but dahil sa pagibig nagagawa natin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago