Godmother

8 20
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago

Have you ever been chosen as a godmotger or godfather to your sibling, cousin, friend or workmate's child? There is a saying that it is not nice to reject when someone had ask you to be a godparent to their child. I do not know why but I have heard about it a lot of times when someone would get me as godmother of their child.

Would you know how many are your godson and goddaughter if I someone is to ask you on the spot? Honestly, I do not really know who are my official godchildren. Some of my workmates would say that they would get me as the godmother of their child but I do not know if it was really true. But if I were to list down my godchildren that I can think of right now I would say that I have 12 though I know it is more than as I may have forgotten some of my godchildren. LOL. Sorry kids, your godmother is now forgetful not because I wanted to forget about my obligations to all of you but it is due to my last surgery. LOL.

There are some people that would only want to make you a godparent of their child because you have some money. Then there arw also those who would make you a godparent because you have been close friends ever since. There are also those that think you would be a perfect second parent for their child or combination of the given reasons. My cousins got me as the godmother to their child because I was close with them then with my workmates it was because they think I was a generous godmother. LOL. That is what I just think of as it was what they will tell me when they would say that they would make me godmother. Thinking of godparents as someone who would give expensive gifts or money to their godchild if they are chosen as one is a toxic culture. Most people neglect the real purpose of a godparent. For me a godparent is something that should be connected with their godchildren especially when they are growing up. They would act as a second parent if the parents of the child passes away. I cannot remember where I have read it but there was a story about a baby (or a child) who was saved and the parents died in the accident. One of the godparents, stood up as the baby's second parent. Even if the baby was been taken cared of by family of the deceased parents as the baby's guardian, the godparent would still visit the baby until it grew up to be a successful person. I do not know where I have read it but most probably in Facebook but it was really sad yet very touching don't you think?

If you have been reading my past articles, you would know that I attended a Christening recently. I was not a godmother though I feel slightly saddened about it to think that it was already my friend's second baby. I was not also a godmother to her first child as she chose 1 from our circle of friends. I do not know if she also someone in our circle of friends but honestly I feel mixed emotions whenever my friends and cousins would not get me as godmother to their child. I am happy because at least my list of godchildren will not be long as I feel that I am already quota with the number of godchildren that I have. I feel like I am "ninang ng bayan" (godmother of the town) with the number of godchildren that I have. That maybe I think is the reason why I still do not have my mini me because I already have a lot of godchildren. Just like how I have not yet been a bride because I was always the bridesmaid. Those are just some of my personal thoughts but I know that those will come at the right time. I do feel sad because I feel like they did not chose me because they feel like I am not the best choice or I was not a good role model to their children given that I always resign in my past jobs and still currently unemployed as if I am a person with no ambition. Then my friends also know who I am as a person with all the bad decisions that I have made in the past. That is actually how I felt last Sunday but I was more into the sudden changes in my schedule that is why I talked about it first that night. You would know what I am talking about if you have also read one of my previous articles. LOL. And now I get to talk about this now. 

Most of my cousins living abroad who already have family never chose me as a godmother to their children the same with my other high school friends. I know that they have the right to choose their child's godparents wisely just like in choosing who our candidate would be in any election but I cannot help but to really think that way. I do get flattered and honoured when someone would get me as godmother eventhough I know that they are already thinking how much I would give to my godchild but at the back of my mind I was already saying that I am not the type of godmother who would always give yearly gifts to my godchildren. Though I do act as the child's second mother when I am with them. I cared and protected them just how I would to any child. I also taught them good values even if I was only with them for a short period of time. About monetary and material gifts, I must say that I rarely give any to my godchildren. Why? Because I do not have money. LOL. Even if I did, I would have given them toys or something that I know that the child can use like diaper or milk. But if I have money now and I am to give them gifts, I think I would just give them money because the mother or father of the child would know what the child really wants if they are really going to spend the gift for their child.

How do you feel when somwone would choose you as a godparent to their child? How would you feel if they don't? If ever you will be chosen as a godparent, I hope that you will be able to see them as they grow up and not only during Christmas. Giving monetary gift is not really necessary as a godparent should act as a role model and help the parents in guiding their child.

March 15, 2022

P.S. lead image is a photo of me with my cousin's family together with my gift for my godson years ago. I cannot find a photo on Facebook of the actual baptism.

9
$ 3.49
$ 3.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.03 from @TheGuy
+ 3
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago

Comments

I haven't really got around the concept of being a godparent. All I know growing up is that I have godparents. I get to see them when I was younger but then they moved and that's about it. I haven't had any contact with them since. There were rare occasions though but they feel like stranger to me.

I have been chosen as godparent to some of my friend's kids. All I know is that I was just a name that needs to be registered in a list just for formalities' sake. I really have no idea about the whole godparenting things for we don't do that in church.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Here it is also said that you should not refuse when they name you godfather or godmother. You are correct, many times they look for you for money, for closeness or because you can be a good father or mother.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel very honored when they choose me as a godparent of someone. Though there is a culture here in the Philippines that when you are a ninang or ninong, you are obliged to giive money which is the least liked part of being a ninang for me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've only been a godparent to a few kids lately, and I don't really accept it unless we are close friends with the parents of my soon to be godchild. It's a lot of responsibility rather, you are also there to help the kid grow up with support and wisdom, not just material things

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's really a nice culture which will support and help the children to grow more. Also they will have another one other than parents whom they can share their issues. We don't have like this culture. I just now got to know about it. I personally find this a great one as, as if I'm a parent I would be happy to know that there's someone other than my relatives whom I can count of for my children.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I become a God mother of my friends, however, they are now living too far. When I can't give them something, her mother understand co'z they know that I'm still studying. It's okay to be a god mother as long as the parents won't keep asking me too much. If not, then it's okay as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am the godmother of most of my classmates' babies hihi. Me too is sometimes confused about who are my official godsons and goddaughters. And if I were to add up all of them, I have atleast more than 5 but less than 10 hihi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True sis. Mga ninang at ninong ng anak ko puro professional kasi ka workmate ni partner ko tas mga friends ko yung iba. Pero never ko sila inobliga na bigyan anak ko or magparinig tuwing pasko. Kasi di naman mandatory. Di naman yun ang dahilan para kunin ko sa godparents.

Ako din naman ninang din ng bayan haha meron na ko 10 inaanak. Tapos dalawa na deckined. Oo , naririnig ko na masama daw mag reject kapag kinuha kang ninang. Pero kasi may reasons ako. Like nung inalok ako ni Yzza na mag ninang sa anak nya, di ako pwede nun kasi buntis ako. Bale sinabihan ako ng lola ng partner ko wag daw kasi both na anak namin magiging sakitin. Kaya ayun di ako naging ninang ng friend ko pero naging ninang siya ng anak ko haha. Tapos yung sa kapatid ko. Ni reject ko din kasi ayoko sa thought na maging ninang pamangkin ko kasi di lang naman isa magiging pamangkin ko eh. Ayoko lumaki sila na may isa na parang matas ang tingin sa sarili kasi ganun minsan nangyayari eh. Iniexplain ko naman sa kanya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago