When to let go of a relationship?

41 43
Blog 73-2nd
Date :May 03,2022
Time :2:10pm

Letting go of someone you love the most is the most painful thing to do. But sometimes we have to let go of them so we can have peace of mind and stop the pain we're feeling.

Changed

When that person you love tried to change you to be someone. They want you to be the person they want. I believe that if you really love that person you have to accept him/her.

Controlling

If that person will try to control everything you do, everything you said, what you eat, whom to talk to or mingle with, what to wear and where you go. I think being in a relationship should not be controlling as no one owns a person even if you are in a relationship or even a husband and wife. We have our freedom as long as we are not disrespecting the person we love.

I experience this kind of controlling person from my late ex-live-in partner. He use to control what to wear. I end up wearing his clothes. I don't really wear revealing clothes. He doesn't want me to talk to the opposite sex, I am not even allowed to tell my best friend about my problems. He wants me to eat more, I don't know what's his reason, I just guess that he wants me to get fat so no one will like me except him.

No trust

Trust is important in every relationship. When you don't trust your loved one then there's no peace in it.

When I was with my late live-in partner, he used to have trust issues with me. He always doubted my love for him. I tend to question myself if do I still need to prove my love for him? I choose him. I make him stay with me, I am the one who works for us. If I wanted to cheat on him then why I will waste my time and money on spending with him? He doesn't see all the effort that I've made. Unbearable jealousy is the main reason why I decided to end up my relationship with him. And also one of the reasons why he ends up his life.

Stress

When we are in a relationship we are supposed to be happy and enjoy every moment with our loved one but if that person is already toxic and causing so much stress then I guess it's time to let go. When I was with Michael (a late live-in partner) our relationship was a disaster. We always had fights. Every fight and misunderstandings end up hurting each other emotionally and physically. Yes, it was my first time being in a relationship where my limit was tested. He was the person who let my bad side out. Like I didn't know I was that bad when someone provoke me. I even hit him physically. I know I was wrong but due to too much anger, I can't control myself.

I came up with this topic after my sister-in-law messaged me yesterday afternoon. She's still young (20) but she ends up living with her boyfriend while studying. They've been in a relationship for 3 years I guess. Honestly, I don't like her boyfriend. He is a bad influence on my husband. He is a drug user. Their relationship was on and off due to her boyfriend's vices like drinking and using illegal drugs. He even hurt my sister-in-law physically. My sister-in-law told me that she's in pain right now because she broke up with her boyfriend. She wanted to help her boyfriend to change so they can be okay but the guy is not doing any effort to change. I am happy that she finally ended up her relationship with that guy. There's no point in staying in a toxic relationship. She's not happy anymore. She's been stressed throughout their relationship. I told her, yes she loves the guy but did she ever ask herself if is it worth it to fight? Is it all worth it for the sacrifices that she has made? I think she made the right decision, it's time for her to focus on her studies and give herself time to herself. She needs self-love. I just really hope that her ex won't pester her anymore, just like the last time when she initiated a break-up. He even let his parents talk to my father and mother-in-law. Honestly, in my own opinion and based on my observation, it was his parent's fault that their son grow up like that because they were too busy with their business.

Ending thoughts

All written above are just my opinions and based on my personal experience. If we are with the right person we can feel secure, we always have peace of mind, and we always feel love and care. We don't have to pretend. We just have to be ourselves.

Photos used in this article are all owned by yours truly unless it is stated.

Lead Image edited using Canva

To my ever-dearest daily readers, upvoters, and likers. thank you for your precious time and for your efforts. I love you all.

To my amazing and generous sponsors who have been supporting me since from the start thank you so much for inspiring me to do better each day

Sponsors of alicecalope
empty
empty
empty

Related article: Until we meet again

16
$ 2.66
$ 2.48 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.03 from @Pachuchay
+ 6

Comments

You have made the right decision to let him go. As long as you were happy with your decision, you have nothing to worry. And besides, you're not married in the church. You can separate him.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I once had a female friend that was into a relationship where her boyfriend was controlling every bit of her. She has her social media password and access them always to know who she's talking to. To me, once a relationship has gotten to the level, it's no longer healthy because of untrust and should be let go.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes trust is very important in every relationship

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Good for her. I hope she will not get into toxic relationship again.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah that's my wish for her too sir

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kapag sobrang toxic at feeling mo unti-unti mo nang di nakikilala sarili because of love, bitaw na haha. And I believe ate hindi deserve nung sister in law mo yung ganung klase lalake. May vices na mga tapos user pa tsk.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Tama sis ganun ang nafeel ko dati di ko na kilala self ko buti nga eh nalet go ko din Yung taong Yun. Anyway about my sister in law Sana nga talaga eh wag na niyang balikan ang taong Yun. Wala talaga siyang future dun.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tama ka friend once na may hinala tayo lgi sa partner. At tama naman tlga. Bkit hindi palayain n lng ba

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Walang peace pag walang trust

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ay naku, if yan talagang mga yan eh nararamdamn mo na sa karelasyon mo, let go na.. toxic na ang ganyan and you'll suffer lang

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Sana eh di na talaga balikan ng sister in law ko ang bf niya

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako basta wala ng love, wala ng reason talaga mag stay pa.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Tama sis

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Controlling and no trust are major red flags in a relationship, glad you mentioend them here

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes since I experience it in my past relationship

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It was said that love conquers all, it will bring out the best in you. But if thats love will bring out the worst in you it is better to let go.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes sakto ka sis. Unta marealize pud na sa akong sis in law

$ 0.00
1 year ago

May anak na sila sis? if wala nya di pud sila kasal... bulagan nya oi..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wala pa sis. Di pa pud sila kasal. Mao gani ako giadvice niya. Diha pa gyud ang laki ganinang mga 12am niari diri nga nkainom. Ambot nindot najud sultian tawhana bah nga dili na magsamok ug tagaan na ug peace of mind akong sis in law

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kaluoy pud sa imu sis in law oi.. bata pa kaayo sya para maka experience ug mga ing ana

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mao lagi. Choice pud niya nga mubalik sa laki.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Those are major red flags already my friend. If there comes a time when those things starting to show up,the best thing to do is to reflect and think of what's best in the relationship.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes my friend I hope my sister will reflect and think about it too and never go back to his boyfriend

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, let's go. We must know when is enough, enough. To strong independent women! Cheers.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

cheers!!di na uso ang martir

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In short leave when their is toxic relationship

$ 0.01
1 year ago

yes I just did it before

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's good, Have a good day and take care

$ 0.00
1 year ago

have a good day too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kung talagang stress na siya sa buhay tapos puro tamang hinala sayo, for sure may ginagawa pa yan na kalokohan. Haha. Kung dina masaya tapos super toxic na, dapat ginigive up na yung relationship.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

siya lang kasi ang gustong mgbago ang bf niya ,di naman worth it ung lalaki hay naku,nakakabulag nga ang pag ibig ,pag ibig pa ba tawag dun

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True sis, kasi kung gusto ka talaga nyan siya kukusang magbago.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

tama di yung ibang tao pa ang mgsasabi

$ 0.00
1 year ago

May bisyo, tapos user pa, for me di Siya kawalan need na Iwan kung ayaw magbago, kasi delikado kapag user siya, alam Naman natin kung anong epekto ng drugs sa isang tao.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

tama sana nga eh di na talaga sila mgbalikan pa

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hindi talaga maganda makipag relasyon sa isang tao na parang kinukulong ka nalang talaga sis. Yung siya nalang nasusunod palagi. Daming bawal. Lahat pakikialaman na. Wala kanang freedom. Ayaw na ayaw ko yung ganun sis tas yung toxic na talaga yung relasyon kasi hindi na healthy.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

yan ang naging relasyon sa ex live in partner ko sis yung nag suicide

$ 0.00
1 year ago

kung ganyan nalang din po ang isang lalaki ate, kailangan napo talagang mag let go, I a m also a man but I did not see myself doing that in my wife in the future

$ 0.01
1 year ago

salamat naman at iba ka sa mga ganung lalaki

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo naman po ate may kapatid din naman po akong babae at ayaw ko din na mangyari sa kanya ang ganon

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tama.. Di natin hangad na mapunta sa ganung lalaki ang mga ka pamilya natin

$ 0.00
1 year ago