What are my reasons why I never tried to look for a higher-paid job?

38 66
Blog:203-9th
Date :November 11,2022
Time :03:13pm

This question I've encountered how many times already. It just so happens when a co-writer here asks me that question. That leads me to write an article to explain or share my reasons why I never tried to look for a higher-paid job.

I've written already an article about my job. If you are interested to read it just click meeeh. So anyway to people who still don't know about my job, I am an internet Cafe attendant. I work here since September 07, 2012. I was a single mom back then. My daughter was just 4 years old when I started working here. I had to bring her with me to work. So here are some of my reasons why I never tried to look for a higher-paid job.

Being single mom

I can't just leave my daughter with my parents as I don't live with them. So wherever I go my daughter is with me even at work. So when the time she started studying I have to send her and fitch from school which is a few minute's walk from where I work. It wasn't easy coz I have to take care of my daughter while working when she was home from school I have to help her with schoolwork at my workplace. But I don't have any choice I was a single mom. She only had me. If they will have any events in school or school meetings I can just easily ask my boss if I can close the computer shop for a while so I can attend the meeting.

Flexible working hours

I have fixed working hours but my boss understands that I am a single mom. I have to do some household chores before going to work. So she understands if I work a bit late or if I close the computer shop early if I have to attend some events.

I can rest

When the time my daughter already knows how to operate in my workplace whenever I am not feeling well, I can sleep at work and I just let her do the work. Not always but it's a big help that she can help me at work coz there are times that I had terrible headaches due to excessively facing the computer monitor. Especially those days when I still entertain the taxpayers in our town. I had to finish all the paper works on that day so it won't pile up the next day. It really causes me a headache facing the computer monitor for long hours. I even experienced that my eyes will just suddenly close on their own especially when I face the computer monitor.

Distance from my where I live

When I was a single mom I live near the public market where my workplace is located. It is just a few minutes walks from where I live. Now that I am married and now living in the place of my husband, still convenient for me to work since it is just a few minutes' drive from home. At least I can see my family every day. I don't have to rent a place to stay. I can be with them every day.

Easier to take a leave or be absent

As a mom of a toddler, we can't deny the fact that there are times when our kids get sick. So whenever I had to bring my kid to the doctor it is easier for me to take a leave. I just have to chat with my boss a day before so she will know that I can't operate the computer shop.

Fewer expenses

Since I am just living in a small town away from the city so basically if you want to have a better job, you have to go to the city to find one. So if I work in a mall or any company I have to spend money on the requirements not only when I apply but also after my contract ends. I also have to spend more on transportation and also make-up, sandals o shoes, stockings, etc.

I am free

I am free coz my boss is not around, I am free meaning I can do side hustles while working without compromising my duties. Just like if I am not busy I can go read and write articles here in readcash.I can access a free internet connection. I am free to wear any clothes I want. I can eat anytime I want. I can watch free movies, vlogs, etc. I am also free to bring my family or they can visit me at my workplace. They can spend the whole day here at my workplace.

Ending thoughts

For me, it's not that I don't want a higher-paid job but for me, it is convenience. The expenses going to work. The distance from home to my workplace. If I work in the city maybe I will get a higher salary yet I will spend more too for my fare, food, uniforms, make-up, etc. Where you can find a workplace where you can rest if you want, you can watch movies, browse the internet, and do side hustles? A workplace where you can bring your kid with you?A workplace where you can take a leave easier.

Now tell me. If you are in my part will you still want to find another job in the city?

Now let me tell you the minimum wage here in my place is almost just the same as my salary. I can find side hustles online at least I have another source of income aside from my salary.

Photos used in this article are all owned by yours truly unless it is stated.

Lead Image and thumbnail edited using Canva

To my ever-dearest daily readers, upvoters, and likers. thank you for your precious time and for your efforts. I love you all.

To my amazing and generous sponsors who have been supporting me since from the start thank you so much for inspiring me to do better each day.

15
$ 2.43
$ 2.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.03 from @Jane
+ 7

Comments

Well said and explained Alice. I have had the opportunity to get higher pay through management. I turned it done for some of the reasons you listed above. Mostly it comes down to flexibility. Becoming a boss means more responsibility, more hours, and less flexibility. The extra pay will just take away more than what its worth.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

So true Bob

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mao man sad ko sis,dele ko mang apply ug job na adlawan ang sweldo kay naa pakoy time para sa balay ug syempre ako sad anak maka guide pako sa iyang lessons

$ 0.01
1 year ago

tama kanang job nga sakto natong mga Nanay na ba

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mas maganda pa rin talaga te yung flexible na trabaho no haha. Sana talaga soon makahanap ako ng client sa freelancing haha feel ko mas magandang opportunity siya eh kaysa sa maghahanap ka ng work haha. Baka tanggapin ko rin yung offer na work sa Australia kapag gipit na gipit na ako haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Msy point ka nga dun, ok na din ganyan nature of work kadi nakakalabas ka anyyime.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Indeed we choose the peaceful, accessible, and lightness. They said to settle for more if you received what you deserved. You were a loving mother and that was for sure, this time might not have been the highest as you received but at least you could watch down for your child and you could still have the comfort of time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

wow, actually maganda naman tlga set up mo, kumikita ka na, kumikita ka pa din. Ang bait din ng boss mo ate,

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Dati nga binibigyan ako ni boss ng extra freelance job na malaki ang sahod kahit di naman ganun ka hirap ang dpat gawin like copy paste Lang

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Murag same sa akoa sis gusto unta ko og mobalhin og hongkong kay dako og sweldo compared dire sa middle east pero sayangan ko sa akong amo og sa trabaho kay okay ra jud kaayu walay bata nga bantayan whereas kung mangita kog dako nga sweldo dayun wala pako kahibaw og unsa unya akong amo mao nga daghan pud ni ingon mag unsa man dako og sweldo unya grabe pud og trabaho unya mao ra hurota.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Sakto jud sis wa jud ka kahibaw sa mahimo nimong work and sa batasan sa mahimo nimong amo

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree. Hindi dahil sa comfort lang, mababa sahod pero yun benefits sa mental health at tulong sa adjustment sa pamilya at personal na buhay kaya rin ako nag stick sa company ko. Hindi mataas sweldo pero okay lang. Hindi mahigpit at kasundo ko ang mga ka trabaho, I mean inside my department.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

tama yan sis maraming factors talaga why we stick to our job,

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The reason are good reason but there still need tryiy to look for

$ 0.00
1 year ago

well, I am okay with my work.that's it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Totoo sis. Yung mga moms hirap talaga sila iwan yung mga anak nila kaya kahit malaki yung sahod na inofer. Tanggihan usahay for the sake sa mga bata.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ako as a single mom dati I can't really leave my daughter

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang hirap pag ganyan talaga sis kaya naintindihan kita.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks sis

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Okay na din yan lods kesa naman nasa malayo, tas malayo din sa pamilya, tsaka ang best part pa nyan, wala kang ibang tao na pakikismahan everyday. Dika mag aadjust!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

wala lagi koy workmates lods pero I already meet a lot of different kinds of attitudes of the years already..Make stress man pd ni akong work lods samot na ug mga badlongon ang mga customers

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Okay padin yan lods, mas nakakairita kung may kasama tas panay cellphone lang din sa gilid lods, normal namn kasi talaga sa trabaho lalo na pag customer kaharap natin lods.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

aw lahi napud ng ing ana nga kauban sa work

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mas mataas ang swldo..mas madami tasks haha

$ 0.01
1 year ago

oo nga .Dito nalang ako sa mas convenient na work pwede pa ako manuod ng movies while working hehehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Single mom ka pala ate? Ayos na rin ung ganyan atleast controlado mo parin at naiintjndihan ka ng boss mo, kesa sa higher pay na kelangan bawal late at di marunong magconsiderate yung boss minsan

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I was a single mom for 13 years sis bago ako nakahanap ng mapangasawa.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Importante dun ate nakahanap ka ng taong di ka iniwan, ang hirap pamandin maghanap ng asawa na matino

$ 0.00
1 year ago

kaso I regret na nagpakasal ako sis..sana eh single mom nalang ako mas masaya and less stress pa sana buhay ko ngayon

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wala bang parang something na annulment dito sa pinas ate? Or pagsasawalang bahala ng bisa ng kasal? Minsan kasi mas maganda rin ung single mom ka nalang jesa may asawa kasi dagdag zya sa stress lalo na kaoag ikaw yung nakilos tas magaaway pa kayo

$ 0.00
1 year ago

wala din naman akong grounds para makipag annul sis tas ang mahal mahal nun tas super mahabang proseso yun

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Minsan akala ng iba higher pay higher savings, depende sa lahat talaga yun. May mga bagay na kailangan mo din ma consider before thinking about sa pay. Buti malapit lang ang shop jan sa inyoooo sobrang convenient at anytime pwede ka puntahan, pwede ka dalan ng pagkain din

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Mas maganda sana kung dun kami nagpatayo ng bahay sa lugar ng parents ko kasi mga 5 minutes lang ata by vehicle to my workplace.mas less sana expenses ko sa gas at mas okay for me na kahit gabi na umuwi mas safer din .anyway okay na din kahit medyo malayo ang bahay namin at least same town lang.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Bitaw sis kaysa adto kas dako og sahod niya layo ,ang expenses ,kapoy pa kayu haguy ,aguy..😅 Bitaw oy ,okay rana kay way pressure maka sideline pka .

$ 0.01
1 year ago

gani maoy point jud ky layoan na gani ko sa distance sa akong workplace sa lugar sa akong bana nga same town ra gani samot na ug adto sa city ..kakapoy ba mag byahe2x ug layo unya sayo ug mata mag apas sa time in ahahay

$ 0.00
1 year ago

many of us are thinking when we are hired in a job we always look in a better compensation like salary, but taking a get a higher wage it took time and take a lot of efforts to make on that, but because of the inflation thats why we always keep to find a wage salary

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's true sir.Not only efforts but expenses too on finding a job.Okay na talaga ako sa work ko ngayon regular naman ako dito at my benefits

$ 0.00
1 year ago