Need vs Wants

19 42
Avatar for alicecalope
2 years ago
Blog 36
Date :March 9,2022 
Time :4:49pm

As we grow up we came to realize the difference between needs and wants.

When I became a mom I came to know the difference between needs and wants. To be honest I am not a materialistic kind of person. Whenever I have money before I always prioritize the needs of my daughter.

Especially that I was raising her alone. Being a single mom is never been easy.

Whenever Nick sent me money for my birthday or my daughter's birthday I don't usually buy my personal stuff like new bags, shoes, or clothes. I rather buy stuff that we can use at home. I like to have comfortable stuff at home. Just like when I can't still afford to buy a closet. We used to put our clothes in a box. I started to buy a single closet (drawer) that cost $12 to $14 for 5 layers. Then I got enough money to buy the bigger one that cost $30-$60.I felt happy that I was able to buy the stuff that we needed at home.

I love to buy kitchen utensils, such as plates, spoons and forks, plastic wares. I think I get that hobby from my mom. My mom also loves to buy stuff for our house.

That's why when I got married, we didn't start from scratch. When we decided to live on our own I had to get all my things at my parent's place. Since I have quite a lot of stuff, we rented a Bongo type of vehicle. We'll not brag but my husband was so lucky to marry a woman like me because I almost have everything we need for our house. Just too late that I sold some of my stuff before like my fridge but we still have a small fridge at home given by my cousin/lady boss, my air-conditioner, my table set, my one folded table with 4 arm plastic chairs, my queen size mattress my table fan, my foldable mattress, my one stand fan, my 5 layers single drawer and two small electric fans and my dish cabinet. Whoah! That's quite a lot of stuff I sold. If you might wonder why I sold them, I've written an article about it, and feel free to read it here.

However, I didn't expect to be married 4 years after selling all those stuff. Well, who would have thought that I will end up marrying Elmo?

Anyway, after being married for more than 2 years, I realized that Elmo still doesn't know what to prioritize. I am not really thrifty but I just know what to prioritize whether my wants or my needs. I am even to branded clothes. Ukay2x clothes are enough for me. I've been an Ukay2x lover since I was in high school. I get to realize that Elmo loves to buy branded clothes like one T-shirt that would cost $10 each or more. If I remember it right I don't remember buying clothes that would cost more than $4 each. For me buying branded clothes is a waste of money.

Now, speaking about my husband, as I have mentioned in my previous article he is a barkadista, His best friend is a single man from a wealthy family who loves to decorate and style his motorcycle and my husband loves to decorate and style our motorcycle too. Oh,! Not to brag again but I have that motorcycle already before I got married.

So my husband follows the trends of his best friend buying stuff for the motorcycle. I was disappointed and pissed off what he did. I even wrote an article about my frustrations with his actions. Just click me if you want to read it. It was our 2nd wedding anniversary when he first bought the Thai bolts for the motorcycle. He spent $6 for that cute little stuff for the motorcycle. We suppose to celebrate our wedding anniversary but He chooses to spend money on those Thai bolts. Out of my frustration I told him that 'dili ka pwede musabay sa uso sa imong barkada Kay imong barkada wala pa siyay responsibility unya kwartahan pud na sila. Ikaw daginuton pa Gani ng kwarta egasto pa gyud sa walay hinungdan. (He can't follow the trends of his best friend because his friend still didn't have any responsibility and they are rich too, and he has a little amount of money and been spent on useless stuff).

After that, I thought he already learned from it and realize the difference between needs and wants but then just recently I just knew that he spent another $6 for those Thai bolts for the motorcycle. He never learned from what I've said. I just got back to work that time and we were still struggling financially, he doesn't have a regular job, I am just the one who works six times a week just to provide for our family, and what my husband doing is not really helping. He is causing me stress. Do you know what he said why he bought that Thai bolts again? As he said 'Maayo nalang naay remembrance sa iyang hinagoan nga kwarta (he got a remembrance from his hard-earned money) and I was like, so I didn't work hard for the money I got? He even told me glad he just spend his money on those kinds of stuff not wasting it on drinking and other vices. Honestly, my husband's answer is ridiculous. It always causes me stress. I can't even buy some of my personal stuff, I have to sacrifice what I need because I only had enough to provide for our family.

I honestly have wants to, that sometimes I wanted to buy it as a treat for myself but then I have other more important things to prioritize first that what I want.

Speaking about Needs, I just ordered a Mimiflo Wide Neck Silicone Nipple and a Mimiflo Baby Bottle Brush with Nipple Brush at Shopee. I have more than hundreds of items in my cart but of course, I had to buy what's on the top priority list.

Ending thoughts

Because of trying to make living so I can provide for the needs of my family, I tend to forget myself and my happiness. I think I deserve to be pampered too. Even just a treat for myself in a salon? What do you think? I look so haggard now LOL. I was honestly teary-eyed while writing this paragraph. I feel pity for myself.

Thank you for your precious time.

Photos used in this article are all owned by yours truly unless it is stated.

Recent articles

Now let's talk about my job

For my ultimate goal - Update

To my sponsors old and new thank you for your unending support on my readcash journey.May God will shower you all blessings in life.

Sponsors of alicecalope
empty
empty
empty

8
$ 0.95
$ 0.79 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @LeticiaFelize
$ 0.03 from @UsagiGallardo215
+ 4
Avatar for alicecalope
2 years ago

Comments

Ang ganda namn ng motor sis yan ang gusto ni hubby ko ehh sabi ko nga palitan na mio nya pero ayaw nya talaga yun ang karibal ko ehh hehhee. Si hubby naman na proprovide nya yung mga needs namen at tlagang sinumpa nya sakin n hndi dadanasin ng anak namen mga naranasan nya. Kaya after nya namili ehh hinahyaan ko na lang sya sa mga gstu nyang bilin o gastusin hindi rin sya materialistic sis butas na brief ayaw pa bumili hahaha pero sympre may mga wants na needs na din n hindi ko na mapabili skanya

$ 0.02
2 years ago

salamat sis.wala naman kasing problema sa akin na pagandahin niya ang aming motor kaso eh di naman tama na mas unahin niya ang motor kasya sa daily needs namin.Maswerte ka sa hubby mo sis,.ako dito eh sariling sikap nalang dahil ayaw kong iasa sa kanya yung mga needs namin .

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Marami na nga pong nagsabi sakin sis pero kaya mo po yan alam kopong malakas kapo at lahat namn po my mga ups and down sa buhay. Naligaw Din po mister ko hindi nga babaero nagsugal naman po

$ 0.00
2 years ago

buti nga si hubby ko eh tumigil na sa sugal.baka yun lang makakasira sa amin

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naku sis sa isang article ko mkikita mopo kung bkit ako nagsumikap tas damating sa point na khit matalo sya wala nalang sakin I made him realize his mistakes kasi Pigilan po eh magagalit lang

$ 0.00
2 years ago

buti nalang at natigil na ang bisyo niya sa sugal sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In my part, i wasn't also a materialistic person too, but when it comes on how my partner spend his money, I don't have anything to say as my partner can also provide our needs, specially the needs of our son. And I also understand you, it's really hard to rise a family, it's really hard if you have a husband who only thinks about the trends, and I wish he could also think about his family's needs. Anyway sis you truly deserve to have a treat, pamper yourself.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

well, you are lucky to have that kind of husband. I hope one day he will realize that he is the head of the family and he should be the one to provide what we need. about pampering myself I hope I can do that. I am trully stressed and exhausted

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haay unsa kaha mahitabo if kato pinoy ex akong nakadayon? Bisyo ato kay cigar ug inom. Mangutang pa gani para lang naay ikalaklak. That time dako na kog sweldo. Sige pod pangutang hantod wa na mabayri intawn ga buwag mi.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ing Ana saona akong Bana palautang ug inom ug cigar pagmenyo namo akong giingnan nga dli ko gusto nga ing Ana Lang siya gihapon. Okay ra mangutang ug Para kaon sa balay. Anyway maayo ra pud gabuwag mo sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dako to utang nako 20k haha ahak kaayo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My mind is in constant battle my friend. Whenever something is on sale and I want it, I then convince my mind that it's a need haha. In the end, I will not buy it because I know it's not a need. I likely buy my needs over wants hehe.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's good because you still choose not to buy it. Yeah needs is our top priority

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kadalasan sa mga lalaki lalo na pag may motor, ganyan talaga yung mindset. Inuuna pa yung bisyo kaysa pamilya. Hays, sana magtino na sya sis.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sana nga sis kasi ayaw ko ng mastress pa. Stress na nga financially dadagdag pa siya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May ganyan talagang tao Nah subrang hilig mag decorate sah motor nila, pero subra napud kai unahon man gyud ug palit sah dli unta importance.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lagi oi ang ending wa siyay ikapalit tambal iyang anak that time

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You deserved to be in a salon and feel relax ate.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aww. Kung my extra money Lang talaga ako eh. Hayyyst

$ 0.00
2 years ago