6 Reasons why NOT to get a rabbit pet

14 52
Avatar for adoniis
2 years ago
Topics: Pets, Animals, Experience, Life, Nature, ...

The majority of the users that follow me on noise.cash probably know that I’ve got a rabbit (or a bunny) pet quite recently. And because it became a huge part of my everyday life now, I decided to write an article about it.

First photo of Amálka.

I think it´s necessary to say that all the information you will read below is based on my own experience, on my observations and on things I read or watched videos about (on YouTube). So, I´m no bunny expert in any case, so don´t take this as a serious advice. 😅

My boyfriend´s mum breads rabbits and she has a lot of different breeds. She brought our rabbit to us. I´m not familiar with what breed my rabbit is, I just know that she belongs to the small “kind”. She´s just a little bunny lady.

Please... Don´t get this article wrong, I really love my new rabbit and I will take care of her no matter what, but as always with any animal as a pet there are some things that are complicated and not so easy.

Now let´s get to the 6 reasons why I think it´s difficult to have a rabbit as a pet:

1. Not a pet for beginner’s

To be completely honest with you the only pet I ever had was a hamster and that was easy – you just needed a cage, food, and bedding from a pet store and that's it.

I´d say that a hamster is a beginner´s pet because they are relatively easy to care of and they also don´t need a lot of space because how small they are. On the other hand, rabbits are not so easy to take care about, because they need more attention from you, more space, and more supplies.

Also (this is completely my experience) – my hamsters were always friendly and straightforward which means that I immediately knew what´s good and what´s bad… with rabbits it´s complicated, because they are so different!

Which brings me to another reason:

2. Their behaviour is confusing

When we first got Amálka (that´s my rabbits name btw) and we let her out of her cage, after a while she started to jump around like crazy and I was so confused! 😅 I didn´t know a thing about rabbit´s behaviour back then and I was afraid that something scared her... because to be honest, rabbits look scared all the time (they are always alert because they are prey animals).

She's a model now.

Later I found out that yes, this behaviour can mean that something scared them for death, but it can also mean that your rabbit is really happy, especially when they shake their head while in the jump. Tell me this isn´t super confusing! 😂 Like... How am I supposed to know the difference?

3. They require a lot of time and regular schedule

Rabbits are social animals, so you need to spend a lot of time with them as a pet owner, and they also like to have a regular schedule and hate changes, which means you should feed them at the same time very day, have a specific time period when you give them attention etc. This can be difficult when you go to work, to school or when you want to go for a vacation.

They need interaction and I read that they can even die from loneliness when they are left alone for a very long time. This can be partly solved by getting 2 rabbits, but that´s not possible every time – at least not in our case.

4. They are (mostly) not cuddly

Although rabbits don´t like to be kept alone for a long time, they usually don´t like to be touched and held, which means you can´t treat them like a dog or a cat.

Of course, it depends on the rabbit´s personality (and maybe breed) – some rabbits love petting, and they even require it, but I learned that most rabbits don´t.

My rabbit will run away from you as soon as you try to pet her. And don´t ever try to grab her to hold her – you will be scratched badly! 😀 The only exception is when she´s eating or laying down in a “superman” position – only then you are allowed pet the queen! 👑 😂

"Superman" position.

5. Hay is everywhere

Another reason for not getting a rabbit is – it's messy.

When you decide to get a rabbit, be prepared to have hay everywhere – on the floor, on the carpet, on your bed and on your clothes.

Rabbits need a lot of hay – it should be 80% of their diet so they consume a lot of it (average rabbit eats a pile of hay bigger than his size in a day!). Well, and they also pee on it, so you need to place it into their litter box.

For these reasons, you can´t avoid it getting everywhere around your house.

6. Space reguirements

Rabbits are usually smaller than an average cat or dog, but they still require a lot of space.

You should NOT, in any case, keep your rabbit in a cage! Rabbit cages are too small, and the rabbit needs to hop and run around to spent energy and to be healthy.

This means that you need to create a safe place for your rabbit to be in. It means to get rid of any danger - heights, predators, electric cables etc. – in some places this is difficult to achieve, but it´s necessary.

Don´t forget: This article is purely for entertainment purposes… as I said – I love my rabbit.

I hope you enjoyed the article. I will look forward to your comments about your experiences with pets. 😊

Take care. 💖

11
$ 3.52
$ 3.43 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Ling01
$ 0.03 from @Kristofferquincy
+ 2
Sponsors of adoniis
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for adoniis
2 years ago
Topics: Pets, Animals, Experience, Life, Nature, ...

Comments

I wanted to buy Rabbit before cause they looks like a cuddly bear right? But then my husband don't want to because as per him, they smell reeked

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The smell is there, but it's nothing horrible. You just need to clean the cage and the litter box frequently and it will be good :) cats and dogs also smell

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah.. Makes sense

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We have a pet rabbit before but sadly he drowned. He was not like the other rabbit that always jump around i dont know why he's attitude like that, when we feed him thats the time he jumped, he's not that playful but he really love to cuddle and take a bath that's the reason he drowned because my son left him unattended in a washbasin. 😥

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, I'm sorry that this happened to you. Rabbits should not be bathed though :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My friend says that an ant's bite is lethal for a rabbit. And you've given more than enough reasons to not have one as a pet. Though I really really like them because they're so fluffy and cute.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah. The cuteness is making me forget all the hard things when taking care of the rabbit, so it's all good. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now I'm torn in between having them or not having them at all. I wanna experience them atleast once in my life haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm beginning to see this article as the opposite. hahaha...now i hav more reasons to get myself a rabbit lol. I want some form of adventure, something that will keep me busy all the time. Just kidding.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's definitely fun in the end, just like with any pet 😃

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amalka is adorable in superman pose!))) Lies almost humanly Probably not easy to deal with such a fidget...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I want to have a rabbit as my pet, until my bestfriend told me that it is not easy to take care of rabbits, especially in providing the foods they need. So maybe I'll just try to have some soon when I can:D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Try it. You just need to educate yourself before getting the rabbit and you will be good :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago