Status: Love

22 59
Avatar for aaskelter
2 years ago

When I first came upon some blogposts here about a challenge or a questionnaire of sorts regarding their love life I was like, “Ah, should I try this too?” I even told one in the comments area of her blog that I might come up with a boring piece because what is there to share, anyway? I am a part of the NBSB (No Boyfriend Since Birth) community.

But love comes in many forms and I for sure have so much love to give so yes, I am giving this one a try.

A photo of the corkboard bulletin at an Airbnb that we’ve stayed in while visiting Taiwan; Photo taken by the writer (me)

#1 QUESTION: Who are you dating these days?

Ah, there’s this guy who always waits for me after work so he can walk me home. He is the sweetest lad.

Just kidding, that’s Kim Namjoon of BTS. (photo credits to their Twitter account, colorized by one ARMY)

All jokes aside, as I have mentioned earlier, I have no boyfriend at the moment and never have been in a relationship (I just turned 30 this year)

#2 QUESTION: Are you Opening yourself up to love?

I guess I am always open to love but I have never really made a move to do something about the situation, if you know what I mean? It’s like I have been adventurous, trying out everything that there is with life, traveling and living life to the fullest except for the love department. It feels like I am content with being a strong, independent woman who doesn’t need to be taken care of because I can do it on my own. Say, I won’t need anyone to carry my bags or open the doors for me. Or someone who would check if I’m okay because my friends are caring like that.

Although at the back of my mind, I am also curious on what it would feel like to be loved. I mean, I am loved by my family and friends for sure but you know, a love that is non-platonic.

#3rd QUESTION: Are you afraid of Love?

It’s more on being afraid of being hurt. Also, the belief that I would not be given something that I am deemed not ready yet. I am a firm believer of things happening in its right time so I am guessing I am not ready to handle said emotion that is why it is not occuring with me yet. The same way how I’ve learned of crypto as early as 2015 but only been actively perusing its capabilities this year.

#4th QUESTION: Have you Considered Online Dating?

To be honest, I have considered that? But at the same time I don’t have accounts on any online dating app so that’s pretty contradicting. I still feel so old school that I’d like it to get to know someone naturally and not interact with someone with the purpose of you know, dating.

I do have crushes here and there but I’ve never really made a move. My self-esteem despite being confident* back in college is pretty low when it comes to putting myself out there.

*confident in a sense that I can and will speak my mind when I need to; I can lead my group and take initiative for a task to be done; You know how people born with the Aries zodiac sign can be intimidating when they want to? I can be a perfect embodiment of that. Despite that though, my self-esteem is pretty low because I am not that pretty or at least pretty in society’s standard as I am quite fat (still is) but what matters is that I accept myself as who I am and I couldn’t care less about what they are thinking of me for as long as I am not inducing hurt to anyone.


#5th QUESTION: When was the last time you went out on a date?

I used to go on friendly dates but it doesn’t count in here, I think. Hehe.

#6th QUESTION: Are you giving guys enough Chances?

Yes and it’s not even because I am too choosy or that I have a high standard but when someone would say they have a crush on me I’d chase them away back when I was still studying because my focus then is obviously to finish my studies.

My friends and I used to joke about finding more fishes in the sea when we graduate, but after graduating our life became just as hectic if not more because of our day jobs and so we were like, “Should I have known, I would have dated and entertained men when I was younger” but that’s not to say that we are regretting the choice, because it has helped us build our personality and be the strong women that we are now.


#7th QUESTION: Are you and your Ex still Friends?

Because I don’t have an ex, this doesn’t apply to me.

However, I am not opposed to being friends with an Ex because I assume that we would be friends prior to being in a relationship and perhaps we are better to be just friends that’s why the intimate relationship has to end UNLESS they did something bad and unforgivable. I may forgive, but that’s all that I can give. Trust is something that’s hard to give back when it is broken and that applies to all relationship (including platonic friendships).

#8th QUESTION: What do your parents thinks about your situation?

They are not really vocal about pressuring me to get married even though my younger sister is already married because I don’t think there is a need to rush anyway. There’s no race to building your own family. Another thing would be because most of my friends are not married too (not even in a relationship) and they are like two years older than me so there’s no pressure (yet)

Do I want to be married and have kids? I do. But all in the right time. There’s proper time for everything, like I said, and as we prepare for that time, may we be able to experience more of what life is to offer. I don’t want to bring kids in the world and not be able to give them the best life so we got to be responsible.

I’ll welcome the biggest change in my life and status when it comes but for now, I am living each day with contentment and pure joy. I try to give back to the family for I wouldn’t be in the position to even provide if not for their constant support. Give the love to the world that you also would love to receive and the world will love you back. At the same time, I try to live my life, my way and that’s what’s important, I guess.

Me; Taken in a Flower Garden in Taichung, Taiwan

Relationships and labels are just a social construct. In the end, I guess The Beatles is right when they say that love is all you need to exist.


With lots of love,

A

Sponsors of aaskelter
empty
empty
empty

Huge shoutout to my lovely sponsors! Sending all my love to you x

Here are some of my previous writings if you are up for some short read:

6
$ 2.20
$ 2.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.03 from @ARTicLEE
+ 1
Sponsors of aaskelter
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for aaskelter
2 years ago

Comments

The puriest love is the love of GOD, also you need to love yourself first. It's hard to be in a relationship that you are not loving even yourself. and enjoy what you have now. all things will come in a right time at right place.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Enjoy what you have now while it lasts. At the right time, things will fall in their proper places. Believe. For now, enjoy and have fun.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

True! Right now I am contented with what I have, and continuously trying to make myself better and whole :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great sharing about your feelings, in a relationship or not, just enjoy every moment and let God gave the man that's best for you. God bless you.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That’s true. Praying for guidance until that day comes ☺️ Thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're so powerful. Maybe you're still single because you're destined to be with Nam Joon 😁💗

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Namjoon cutie 🥰 hahaha

I wish. But maybe our own version of Namjoon :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Malay natin , puhon 💗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Before get into relationship need to make sure next person is not playing with your emotions. He is not passing time with you. Never let anyone to play with your emotions. Never let anyone to drive you. Make rigid and perfect dession if you fail then you should learn from them. Actually you have to spend life with that person so make sure he is perfect for you.
Mutual understanding is more important then everything in a successful relationship.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Wow those are actually great points to ponder! Thank you so much for sharing. Will keep those in mind when I did get to have a relationship with someone :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good. Be careful espically from social media relationship

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That’s true! It’s risky sometimes

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awee Thats the power of loving yourself deeply and its your choice anyway. All I can say enjoy the moment of being single 😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, true! Enjoy every moment and hopeful for the days to come :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Trueee😊😇

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi Sis, thank you for sharing your feelings about love. What to say? It's a very difficult question because it's a matter of life not a matter of try. My feelings God made the couples in heaven and they find each other in millions on this earth. So your best one is still like you NGSB. Good luck! Many things to say but just want that you make your own decision.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe thank you! Yes, putting my trust in Him :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Interesting getting to know this side of you :)

I think you are quite young so no pressure. But when you are 40 and still not getting anywhere, go chase somebody na lol!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahaha true 🤣 there’s still more to explore and learn. Si meteorite (mr right) darating din yan sa takdang panahon 😆 thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's true! Enjoy life and do all the things you want while you're still single para pag tamaan ka ni meteorite, at least nagawa mo na halos. And of course, you will do more with him when he comes :D

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ready na sa life, siya na lang kulang. Charing haha yes. Looking forward to that ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm sure you won't be waiting for long :D All the best!

$ 0.00
2 years ago