Things I like about crochet

17 47
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago

This pandemic really opened a lot of everyone's eyes to what is important to them. For some, they realized that they would rather spend the day home with their kids and watch them grow up than be so focused in the careers.

Others realized the importance of having savings. Some decided to do the things they have been wanting to do but were too afraid to do so.

As for me, it allowed me to explore hobbies I did not give time to before. One of these hobbies is crochet.

In this article, I would like to explore three topics namely:

  • My favorite projects

  • My reasons for starting

  • Top 10 things I like about crochet

  • My crochet accounts

I wanted to share this because I have been seeing more people who say that they want to learn how to crochet too. I am hoping that this article will be that last push to get them into the direction of being part of crocheters.

Before we start I would like to give a heartfelt appreciation to my sponsors who have continued supporting me. Please do check out their amazing articles when you have the time. I assure you that they will not disappoint.

Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty

My favorite projects so far

I decided to keep this part short because if I shared everything that I deemed my favorite, it would take a few minutes of me rambling about why I liked that projects.

This is the frog bucket hat that I made. It is the second bucket hat I made and I feel so proud of it since I did not follow any pattern online. So this whole frog hat is my own twist to the famous designs online.

I made an article about the creation of this bucket and you can read it here: https://read.cash/@ZehraSky/frog-bucket-hat-6033bf4e

This is a halter top inspired by Twice's Momo's top in their Alcohol-free MV. I followed a tutorial and did some adjustments to the pattern shared to fit my own preferences.

I really love how it looked. This is the first time I used fine cotton for a wearable project and I must say that I absolutely adore the texture it has. It is just so soft that I cannot stop myself from touching it every row I finished. But it did take me some time to get used to the yarn since it has a tendency to be left behind the hook.

I also wrote an article about the detailed process of the making of this top in this article: https://read.cash/@ZehraSky/making-a-twices-momo-inspired-crochet-halter-top-4f111086

My reasons for starting

The first reason would be that I was bored. It is not like I was not thankful for the downtime. It is just that I do not know how to relax. So the free time that I suddenly have felt more like an examination with no clear instructions and deadline. It was nerve wracking.

To be honest, I actually wanted to learn how to knit first not crochet. I have studied the basic stitches of knitting but somewehere along the way, I got hooked with tbe idea of learnif how to crochet. And I boughts crochet hooks instead of hooks.

Next reason would be that I wamted something to call as my own. All the other hobbies I have are ones that my friends all do. And that specific hobbies will be their main focus so they are of course better than me.

I am not envious of them for that as I really love seeing how they improve over time. But it did make me feel the urge to find something that is my expertise as well.

And that is when I found crochet. So far, another friend also took up crochet as a hobby but they do not focus on it as much as I do. She likes watching k-dramas and series more than crocheting.

The last, but definitely not the least, reason I took up crochet is that the repetitive motions calm my mind. It helped me stay focused in the present instead of wallowing over the past or worrying at what might happen in the future.

Top 5 things I like about crochet

  1. The community itself. If you are unfamiliar with crochet, you might think that the community is a small one. That is what I used to think too until I found myself becoming part of a big community. Everyone is so nice and appreciative. They also encourage beginners to learn more by helping them out when they are stuck. It feels incredibly nice to friends with them.

  2. The yarns that I can hoard. Yes, yarns are not exclusive to crochet only but it is still crochet related so I am counting it in. I reaply love the variety of yarns that I can collect and I am so excited for the projects that I can make with them.

  3. Basic stitches goes a long way. If you want to learn crochet but does not want to remember a lot of stitches, you do not need to worry because just the single crochet stitch is guaranteed to help you make a lot of projects come to life like (but not limited to) bucket hats, scarf, tops, earrings, bracelets, headbands and more.

  4. It stimulates the mind. One might think that because of its repetitive motions, crocheting is bound to get boring. But to be honest, there are a lot of ways to innovate ypur projects whih helps exercise the creative and technical side of the brain. Why the technical side? Well, if you are planning to make your own patterns, you wull encounter math (a lot). So you don't have to ever worry about your math skills deteriorating once you take up crochet.

  5. Lastly, I love how flexible this projects can be. Don't have a gift for someone special? Crochet them something. Need another top but cannot afford one? Crochet yourself something. Need some extra money? Corchet something trendy and sell it. There are a lot of ways that crochet can help in your daily life. So don't hesitate to stock up on yarns and hooks because you will surely find something to use them for in the future.

My crochet accounts

If you enjoy the idea of starting your crochet journey, feel free to get in touch with me in my crochet social media accounts.

Facebook:

https://www.facebook.com/zehrasky.yarns/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/zehrasky.yarns/

If you are interested in supporting my crochet journey, consider buying some crochet projects I am selling. I might also include sime yarns and beginner crochet kits in the future. (Fingers crossed but don't expect too much.)

Shopee:

https://shopee.ph/zehrasky.yarns



Thank you so much for reading this article of mine!

If you want to be friends with me, you can also find me here:

Telegram: @zehrasky

noise.cash: ZehraSky

Tumblr: Zehrasky

9
$ 7.11
$ 6.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @OfficialGamboaLikeUs
$ 0.10 from @Meyzee
+ 6
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago

Comments

Wow! This is just so awesome. I love the yellow top inspired by Momo. 😍 Gonna make a visit on your shopee account.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I am glad you loved that Momo crochet top. I had difficulties in making it as it was my first time making a halter top but I think it turned out well in the end. Thank you so much!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love crochet work. My cousin use to do this.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Wow this is nice! 😳😊❤ I wish I have the same patience as you have hehe

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you! To be honest I ran out of patience fairly quickly with toher things than crochet haha. This is the only exception.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are very talented. I tried that before and because lof lack of patience, I stop, but you are right, it is relaxing when you learn to do it. I love both of what you did.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you for your kind words! I usually do not have a lot of patience for things but I found that it is different with crochet since I mostly look forward to what I can make instead of the process itself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think I'm going to try that the soonest. Where did you buy your things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi, I made a list of my trusted shops online. I bought some supplies from them and they deliver great quality products.

Favorite yarn shop (very affordable but limited stocks): https://shopee.ph/shawienavera?smtt=0.0.9

Branded hooks (frequently have flash sales): https://shopee.ph/anekabenang.ph?smtt=0.0.9

Beginner set with 3 branded hooks: https://shopee.ph/product/304215973/6754975420?smtt=0.368263673-1627569390.9

Love knots acrylic and mercerized cotton shop: https://shopee.ph/rselle?smtt=0.0.9

Yarn shop (affordable, fast delivery + variety of colors): https://shopee.ph/tindahannialengesti?smtt=0.0.9

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh you have a lot. I'll start ordering now. Many thanks for this sis. ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A while ago, I crocheted, and I remember it was quite relaxing. I love frogs, so I love your bucket hat. Maybe one of these days, I will try to do it myself. :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Please do share your crocheted frog trinkets as I definitely find them cute.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ang ganda talagaa huhu. ang hira sumunod sayt mas gusto ko talaga in person huhu

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Try ko hanapin yung tutorials na pinanood ko nung nagsstart ako. Kasi mukhang matagal pa ung day na makakapag record akong videos.

Hirap din ako nung una eh, simpleng rectangle di ko pa magawang maayos, may pabend siya kasi nadodoble ko pala yung stitches or may nasskip ako. Practice lang talaga katapat.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You did great, sis! I love the frog bucket hat :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you sis! I also love that bucket hat. It is my favorite out of all the 4 bucket hats I made so far.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome, sis. Make more :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago