Making a Twice's Momo-inspired Crochet Halter Top

1 328

I would like to start this article by saying that I am not a ONCE. I fear that there will be hardcore fans out there who will call me a fake fan for not being able to answer a quiz bee type of questions and answers.

I do, however, casually listen to them. I always like how upbeat the music I hear from them and I stream their MVs too from time to time.

That being said, when I saw their Alcohol-Free MV, I keep on repeating it because it just sounds so good.

Mojito with lime
Sweet mimosa, piña colada
I'm drunk in you (I'm drunk in you)
I'm drunk in you (I'm drunk in you)

Then at one point, I realized that Momo is wearing a crochet top so I repeated the MV again and again until I confirmed it.

This is a screenshot from their MV, showing Momo wearing her pretty top. And I wanted to make one too.

So today, I want to share with you how I made my own version of Momo's crochet halter top. By the way, I watched this video too so I know where to start. Feel free to check it out as well.

Materials:

For the materials, I used 3 hooks. The 3.00mm hook was used mostly for the whole body of the project. I used a 4.00mm hook for the front lace strap and a 2.00mm for the back strap.

For the yarn, I used an 8-ply fine cotton yarn which is thin so I had to double-pull to make it thicker. However, it is still thinner than what Momo wore on the MV.

You can use a tape measure as well to get your measurements, but I just winged it because I was lazy.

Last but not the least is a darning needle. I used a small metallic one to weave the ends of the project.

Steps of making the top:

I made my foundation chain first. Its length is a just a little bit smaller than my waist. Then I made a row of double crochet, making sure to leave one at every stitch.

At the next rows, I made an invisible decrease after the first double crochet and at the 2 stitches before the last stitch.

If you do not know how to make an invisible decrease, it is quite easy. All you have to do to make a double crochet invisible decrease is to yarn over, push through the front loop of the first stitch then pull through, push through the front loop of the second stitch, pull through. You now have 4 loops on your hook, pull though the first 3 loops, then pull through the last 2.

If you are still confused, there are videosabout this topic that I am sure will help you master this technique in no time.

I keep doing that pattern until I reach my bust part. Here, I started to decrease twice instead of just once.

I repeated it until I reached the length I want my top to be. After that, I made a single crochet all around for edging.

Then I made some straps. For the straps, I made 5 double crochet for the width. I repeated this until I reached the length I want.

Almost done with the top! I just need to do the back and front straps. I eyeballed the length of these 2. They are roughly more than 4 times the length of my top.

I made them by making simple chains. I simple attached the front and back straps then weaved the ends. I finally made mt crochet top.

Final Product

This is the front part of the top. You can also see the remaining yarn I have as well as the hooks I used.

This is the back part. The strap means that this topnis adjustable if I ever decided to not keep it for myself since I do not wear sexy clothes as lot.

My thoughts:

I really enjoyed making this top. There are moments when I am distracted and could not make a lot of progress but I am still proud of the outcome. I look forward to making more.

The thing that I liked best about this top is the strap in front. It is simple but it made the top more beautiful.

What challenge me the most in this project is attaching the adjustable back strap. I tried wearing it on my own but the fit is not great so I will have to try it again sometime.


If you enjoy reading this article. Feel free to browse through some more of my crochet projects from before.

Frog bucket hat:

https://read.cash/@ZehraSky/frog-bucket-hat-6033bf4e

June crochet projects:

https://read.cash/@ZehraSky/june-crochet-projects-12f6cc62

Shooky (BT21) bucket hat:

https://read.cash/@ZehraSky/crochet-making-a-shooky-bt21-bucket-hat-for-my-sisters-birthday-ed2058d4

Thank you for reading my article, everyone!

2
$ 0.44
$ 0.44 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Galing talaga bhe 👏

$ 0.00
2 years ago