The Friend in Me

Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago

As I was thinking of more articles to write, I thought about what would be a good topic. I have never been a writer of long articles so I was stuck on what subject I should write on. Then, I was hit with a bright idea. I would always use poetry prompts before when I have a writer's block so I thought maybe I should also use one for this article and the next few ones until I find the niche of what I want to focus on.

For this article, I used the prompt: "None of your friends remember you, describe yourself to them" from this writing prompt list. So here's what I came up with using this amazing prompt.

One day, it felt like I woke up in a different world. My friends, my anchor in this chaotic world, look at me as if they have no idea who I am. My heart clenched, I had to stop myself from screaming in frustration when they asked me who I am. Instead of screaming, I counted to 10, breathe in and breathe out, thinking of a way to describe who I was (am!) to them.

I am the person you run into when the world felt like it is against you. I am the one who held you when you were crying your heart out. Whether it is because of relationship problems or academic problems, I was there to hold your hands.

I am the almost always quiet one in our group. The one who knows you the most yet you knew almost nothing of. I am the secret keeper, the one who listens when everyone else seems like a bad choice of listener. I am the advisor, the one who you dubbed as the life expert for you always felt better when you talk with me.

I am the girl who has always been there for others. The one who will stay with you as you tie your shoelaces while the others went on ahead. The one who celebrated your successes with you and the one who cheered you on when you stumble on your path.

I am the shield you use when we encounter stray dogs on the road, because you guys are afraid and you thought I was not. I am afraid of the dog but still, I let you hide behind me or beside me. I let you take comfort in the knowledge that you are safe as long as I am by your side.

I am the one who will stay by your side even when the world turns against you. I will support you silently or loudly, depending on what you need. And if even after all this description, you still can not remember me, it's okay we can get to know each other again if you want. I can be your friend again, should you wish it.

The only thing I can say about this prompt is wow. That is an incredibly hard situation to imagine. Just imagining the faces of my friends looking at me without recognition is enough to make me feel like crying. I feel that if it ever comes down to it, I will be crying a bucket of tears before I could even tell them who I am.

This prompt reminded me of how much my friends mean to me. Sometimes, I would feel unappreciated for it almost seems like no one is there for me when I need it but I would always be there for them when they need me. However, the truth is I could have set my boundaries better and not sacrificed my well-being for them. Friendship is give-and-take, yes, but I do not have to keep track of what they give back to my efforts. I am sure that all of us have our own lives.

Now, I am living my own life while they live theirs, I have missed out on supporting them on their problems and them mine. Still, I know deep in my heart that we are still friends. I know that the understanding we have of each other will never fade.

What if the prompt really happened in this life? Well, that just means that we get to know each other again for the first time. I am sure it will be as magical as the last time.

2
$ 0.52
$ 0.52 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments